Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Asus Rog Strix x570 E Freeze Problem

    I assembled the computer in December 2020 without encountering any problems. This until two months ago, when the PC started to have some freezes (I don't remember if after some drive or Bios update)

    Symptoms: It happens more often when I'm not using the PC, or when I use google chrome, but it also happened during gaming. The PC freezes. The keyboard, mouse and microphone turn off (if I press a key on them they turn on again, but they do not give input) the monitor remains frozen on the image. If I press or hold down the computer's shutdown key, nothing happens. I can only restart it by removing power from the power supply. During this freeze on the motherboard the Qcode remains 00 and the DRAM LED remains illuminated in yellow. When I restart everything goes back to normal.

    What I tried:
    the only error reported after reboot is windows kernel 41 generic.
    no DUMP file is created

    I updated all the drivers on the system to no avail
    i replaced the ram, to no avail.
    i reset the cmos to no avail.
    I have tried all the versions of the bios from 3000 to 4021 to no avail (now I'm stopped at 4021);
    i disabled C state, tried putting power supply idle, enabled or disabled DOCP to no avail.
    I did stress test of each component, ram, cpu, gpu, memories, without finding any errors (I used aida64, memtest)
    I have tried disabling the TPM to no avail.


    if you have other evidence for me to do I gladly accept them .. I really can not understand where the problem may be. Sry for my bad english


    EDIT: today i have replace my AMD Chipset Driver V2.11.26.106 (download from asus motherboard site) with AMD Chipset Driver 3.09.01.140 (download from AMD drivers & support for x570 motherboard), another one crash..

    EDIT2: i have try clear cmos, reinstall last bios version, and move ram from a2 b2 at a1 b1 without DOCP... this is last test i think


    My build:
    Windows 10
    PSU: rog thor
    MOBO: asus rog strix x570 E
    CPU: Ryze 9 5900x
    GPU: gigabyte 3080ti
    RAM: gskill 3600 cl17 (and now corsair 3200 cl16)
    SSD: samsung 970evo nvme
    Last edited by Lucciola2; 09-23-2021 at 09:04 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array AS185 PC Specs
    AS185 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Y700-17ISK
    MotherboardZenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD 1950X
    Memory (part number)8 x G Skill F4-3200C16D-32GTZKW @ 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan RTX
    Sound CardIntegrated SupremeFX
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey G5 C34
    Storage #16 x PNY 2TB XLR8 CS3030
    Storage #23 x 1TB Crucial MX500
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water3.0 Ultimate
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyCooler Master MasterWatt Maker 1200W
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse Razer Mambe TE / Logitech USB TrackMan Wheel
    Mouse Pad steelseries Cyberpunk 2077 edition
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5300e
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card V2
    Accessory #2 Asus DIMM.2 card in slot
    Accessory #3 KingMod Corsair 900D Silencing Kit
    AS185's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    112

    Hey,

    I'm thinking this a issue with your random access memory. First of, make sure every power connecter is attached to the motherboard.
    In the BIOS, set the memory frequency to 3200MHz. It's better not to leave it on Auto settings. Make sure CSM is enabled. Check your HDMI or Display Port cable if sufficient bandwidth is going through the video output. As to this, if the monitor has a maximum of HDMI 2.0 or higher, get a cable to that output. The same applies to Display Port.
    Test the PC with default settings. Refrain from overclocking the RAM. Another thought coming to my mind, is that if you downloaded some type of helping program, such as a driver application to update your drivers or anything related, it could be causing an issue now. What I would do is, save all the necessary data on an external hard drive and re-install Windows on stock settings with nothing overclocked.
    Let us know

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,256

    Personally I would be aiming for using DOCP 3600 successfully, put the RAM in A2, B2 (which from CPU is slot 2 & 4) and Auto for everything else.

    What CPU cooler are you using ?
    If you can try 1/4 turn back off the screws and also make sure none of the motherboard standoff screws are overtight, just snug is all that is needed. monitor CPU temps but should not make any real difference and if does you can put 1/4 turn back.
    Retest and see the error is present.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-25-2021 at 12:11 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    II have similar problems.
    After 3 weeks of holiday, I installed the Bios 4021 and the pending Windows September Updates. Then the problems started.
    At first I thought it was the bios because the 3603 and 3604 versions did not work for me in the past.
    But the problems continued when I downgraded to 3602 or 4002, which had previously worked without any problems.
    Luckily I have a system image from the end of July, so I was able to find out a few things.
    It's not the bios that's causing the problems on my PC, but the problems came after I installed the pending updates KB4023057 and KB5005565.
    Which of the two is the trigger, I can't say. Each reset of my system takes an hour, and I've done it about 20 times in the last two weeks and now I don't have the nerve any more.
    I have now deactivated the Windows updates and no longer have any freezes. I am currently on Bios version 4021.
    Hoping for the October update or 21H2.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Even after the Windows October patch i have the freezes.
    Back to the status at the end of August and Windows Updates deactivated.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer66 View Post
    Even after the Windows October patch i have the freezes.
    Back to the status at the end of August and Windows Updates deactivated.
    Hi i have a similar build with 5900x and x570-e, i had some dram issues as well but because i'm completely a novice at this i had to bring it to a repair shop. The only thing they did to the extent of my knowledge is update bios to 4021, cleaned gold contacts on ram, and tested the different parts on different builds. Like trying my 5900x on a different x570-e for example and so on and so forth.

    My pc was running with no issues prior to that morning when it did not display anything and dram light was on on mobo with 0d q-code. That's is why I also suspect that it might have been a windows update that caused it because i believe i had it on auto.

    My pc is running now but they said it would be best to reformat and reinstall windows so i followed their instructions. I'm only using a single drive though for now so unfortunately i lost the games i had installed on my m.2 where the windows OS was installed as well. Fortunately nothing important was there.

    I wanted to ask how you suspend your windows on that current version and preventing it to auto update by itself, because i keep reading that windows updates are unavoidable and will happen eventually even if you don't want it.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Since I did a fresh install, I no longer have any problems.
    How to disable the automatic update is a bit difficult for me to explain in English.
    You will find it with a search engine, or maybe someone else will explain it...
    But disabling the update is not a permanent solution.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •