Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    217

    Are the 8 pin and 6 pin power plugs required?

    I'm using the Dimm .2 slot with one nvme drive, overclocking a 64 core cpu, a low power graphics card, and overclocking the ram. I just have 1 SATA disk attached.

    Is EATX12V_1, EATX12V_2, and EATX12V_3 all required? Is it possible to get away with not plugging them in?

  2. #2
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Hello, What motherboard? Usually, most boards recommend, for 850W and above, ensure to connect both 8pin and 4 pin power plugs or 2 8pin power plugs or above (more) to ensure system stability under heavy loading.
    Sincerely,
    TY

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    217

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas_yiu@ROG View Post
    Hello, What motherboard? Usually, most boards recommend, for 850W and above, ensure to connect both 8pin and 4 pin power plugs or 2 8pin power plugs or above (more) to ensure system stability under heavy loading.
    Zenith Extreme Alpha II. I have one of those 64 core AMD processors. I'm just using it for cpu mining, and trying to save on power draw.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    678

    I use all of mine. It wont stop power draw but overload those connected if you don't run what you need being all of them especially on a 64 core.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    217

    Thanks. I'll just plug them all in other than the one needed for multiple graphics cards.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    678

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarathustraa View Post
    Thanks. I'll just plug them all in other than the one needed for multiple graphics cards.
    You talking about the EZ plug thats a molex at the bottom? I plug that in too. Its not for the GPUs but everything else on the PCIE slots that draw their power directly from the PCIE. I have two Intel Optane AIC drives in there so I use it. Whats One more molex connector. Like I said I literally plug in EVERYTHING!! At least that way I know I wont be chasing an issue thats really due to lack of power delivery.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    217

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    You talking about the EZ plug thats a molex at the bottom? I plug that in too. Its not for the GPUs but everything else on the PCIE slots that draw their power directly from the PCIE. I have two Intel Optane AIC drives in there so I use it. Whats One more molex connector. Like I said I literally plug in EVERYTHING!! At least that way I know I wont be chasing an issue thats really due to lack of power delivery.
    Yeah, I shouldn't need the molex connector.

    For the 6 pin motherboard connector, EATX12V_3 in the manual, is a PCI-E 6 pin the right cable?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    678

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarathustraa View Post
    Yeah, I shouldn't need the molex connector.

    For the 6 pin motherboard connector, EATX12V_3 in the manual, is a PCI-E 6 pin the right cable?
    You dont really need the EX plug if you dont have any CPIE devices other than GPUs. I plug mine in just because its there and Id rather have everything to have enough power than to starve it.

    Yes the 6 pin GPU connector is what you use there however I noted on my R6EE the pins dont match up. Gave me a a headache for awhile. Cant remember exactly which pin ASUS played a cruel joke on but one of them is square in the socket but rounded on one side on the plug......in this instance a round peg WILL fit in a square hole. I looked everywhere for a 6 pin EPS connector and they dont exist. Contacted ASUS support and got crickets. Finally after waiting longer than I wanted to I decided to just plug the 6 pin in and it works pefectly. Its all 12V and ground anyway. If something dreadful would have happened I had a paper trail with support ticket being filed and no response.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •