Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Wink Amazon Alexa, Asus My Router Skill

    I had my Amazon Alexa connected to my DSL-AX82U-AX5400. But had problems and did a soft reset. I can not resync my Alexa with the Router. I've removed the Router from the Alexa devices, uninstalled the skill but get a linking error?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    I managed to get it working, I had restricted wan access on, switch off and it synced. Question is just putting my alexa as remove access safe, always think remote access was bad, any way to make more secure?

  3. #3
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,256

    Hi TrebleTA,
    May I know how you sync Amazon Alexa and DSL-AX82U?
    What is the firmware version of your Amazon Alexa?
    Why do you think remote access is not secure? May I have a screenshot about it?
    Thank you.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Remote access is letting anyone from the web access my router, or try too. its a known security rick for year's even in the router AiProtection it says its a risk, so if its needs to be open for Alexa to use the skill its needs to be made more secure.

    Not sure what you mean how do i sync them, i use the Asus my router Alexa skill and the Asus My router app as it tells you????

    All devices are running the latest version.
    Also the Alexa reports the router security as disabled when I ask her yet its fully enabled.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,256

    Hi TrebleTA,
    Which security settings you have enabled but the Alexa reports the router security as disabled?
    May I have a screenshot about "the Alexa reports the router security as disabled"?
    Is the model name and firmware version of your Alexa devices same as below?
    Amazon Echo (1st Generation)
    Latest Software Version: 669700220
    Thank you.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Hi and thanks
    Since posting about the skill not reporting security, it is now reporting that it is enabled so the problem has been fixed.

    The only problem or concern I have now, is that to use the Alexa skill I need to allow remote access to the router, So anyone can try to connect to my router from the web.
    I have tried adding 1 of my Alexa devices to the Access Restrictions but doing so the skill will now fail to work.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,256

    Hi TrebleTA,
    After enabled remote access, although who knows the HTTPS port, DDNS or WAN IP can access the router setting page, they also need the user name and password to sign in.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1000926/
    Please strengthen the password to more complicated.
    Thank you.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Say I am using my PC for FTP, so tell people my IP.

    Is there not a way to make a rule for Alexa so I can enable restricted access or even better, that the router set's up its self like amazon IP range etc if Alexa is used.
    Last edited by TrebleTA; 10-22-2021 at 08:51 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,256

    Hi TrebleTA,
    You can add an account name and password for FTP.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1011280/
    Thank you.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Your not getting what I mean. But allowing wan access to the router is a security risk, and fact useing alexa make you enable it is a big risk. Can not say more than that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •