cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zephyrus s17 gx703 awful noise coming from the left side of the keyboard

skellie
Level 7
Hi all
I'm new to gaming on a laptop and just bought the zephyrus s17 gx703.
The laptop is a very nice piece of kit but whenever i play a game i get this awful noise coming from the left side of the keyboard.
It sounds like a bumble bee,i think it maybe coil whine but i'm not sure.
What i would like to know would asus change the unit because of coil whine.
Iv'e only had the laptop for less than a month, and at the cost of three and a half grand i find this noise unacceptable.

Thanks in advance for any help
5 REPLIES 5

AllanM88
Level 8
You can return it for coilwhine, at least I could do that at my retail store.

Just return it to your retail store, and they might check if its coilwhine or something else, and then they should declare it DOA (Dead on Arrival) and give you either money back or a new unit (which hopefully won't have coilwhine).

However, from my experience with ASUS laptops, it seems their recent models have big issue with coilwhine on Intel processors (idk about AMD ones). I went through 6(!) units with coilwhine, before going to a totally new model, which didn't have coilwhine - but lots of other issues, that I still struggle with.

AllanM88 wrote:
You can return it for coilwhine, at least I could do that at my retail store.

Just return it to your retail store, and they might check if its coilwhine or something else, and then they should declare it DOA (Dead on Arrival) and give you either money back or a new unit (which hopefully won't have coilwhine).

However, from my experience with ASUS laptops, it seems their recent models have big issue with coilwhine on Intel processors (idk about AMD ones). I went through 6(!) units with coilwhine, before going to a totally new model, which didn't have coilwhine - but lots of other issues, that I still struggle with.