Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Dark Hero & Dark Rock Pro 3 ?

    Hi all

    I want to buy the Dark Hero with a Ryzen 5900X and 2X16G Gskill trident Z neo
    i want to still use my Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 3 (i have already reaceived his AM4 adaptation Kit)

    My question is :
    Is there any space for the RAM with the Dark Rock Pro 3
    (on my dead formula Z it was very limit with the Trident X )

    thanks for your help

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    Since you are only using 2xRam and first slot will have nothing in it. Fairly Safe to say yes, although not personally used a Dark Rock Pro 3 (moved away from big ass coolers) and I've never had issue with any Asus motherboards and bigger CPU coolers even m-atx asus boards. The RAM neo is fairly low profile, even at say 4xRAM, I envision that it will fit but you might need to remove the fan on that side to get first one out, worst case (just based on prior exp with other asus boards, though I have only ever run AIO's on CH8 wifi and DH).

    Hope you find this helpful, maybe someone will 100% confirm.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-19-2021 at 01:39 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    thanks for your answer ... each advice are good to take

    As you said on the crosshaire V formula Z i have to take off the fan to put or take of the ram. But even without fan the dark pro 3 was just upper of slot 2 .
    If Slots of ram are more on the right side on the Dark Hero (0,5 cm or 1cm) i will be 100% shure that i will have enought free space

    Neo looks 0,5cm taller than trident X ..4,3 cm against 3,8 cm

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,254

    Quote Originally Posted by waffou View Post
    Neo looks 0,5cm taller than trident X ..4,3 cm against 3,8 cm
    Installed, I actually got slight lower measurement 40.5mm but I round up.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2-1080.6ddd230b.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	149.2 KB 
ID:	90298
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-20-2021 at 02:44 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Installed, I actually got slight lower measurement 40.5mm but I round up.
    I just check on the Dark Pro 3 : i have only 3,9 free space between the socket contact part and the first refresh part.

    it will really depends of the design of the dark hero ... or i will have to choose another ram with a lower profil

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Here are the dimensions of Dark Pro 3... Is anybody from Asus Rog can tell me if I will have enought free space without the right fan on the Formula VIII Dark Hero

    ?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tc4q.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	126.6 KB 
ID:	90340

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •