Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Walter white PC Specs
    Walter white PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus z270 code
    ProcessorI7 7700k
    Memory (part number)Evga 3000 mhz ddr4 16 gb
    Graphics Card #1Rog gtx 980 matrix
    Graphics Card #2Evga gtx 980 ti classified
    MonitorSamsung uhd
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250gb
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb
    CPU CoolerNzxt kraken x61
    CaseCorsair air 540
    Power SupplyEvga 750w
    Headset Turtle beach
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Asus ROG Maximus Formula…..problems

    So the other day I took my pc apart to clean my loop and ever since my pc hasn’t boot up. I have an i7-7700k and a Maximus formula ix. So far what I have done is….. pretty much everything. I just unplugged literally everything and it still doesn’t work. Tried a new asus rog thor power supply and nothing. Error code on the board is 00. No cpu, dram, vga, or boot lights on. I’m stumped. Is it my board or cpu? Nothing is plugged into the motherboard besides cpu power and 24 pin. I’ve tried everything. All the fans and lights come on but it doesn’t post at all. I’ve been having this issue for a week. Cleared cmos, took battery out. Any suggestions? I just ordered a new board just in case.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,401

    Any liquid get on the board? Was the CPU removed? If so double check no pins were bent.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Walter white PC Specs
    Walter white PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus z270 code
    ProcessorI7 7700k
    Memory (part number)Evga 3000 mhz ddr4 16 gb
    Graphics Card #1Rog gtx 980 matrix
    Graphics Card #2Evga gtx 980 ti classified
    MonitorSamsung uhd
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250gb
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb
    CPU CoolerNzxt kraken x61
    CaseCorsair air 540
    Power SupplyEvga 750w
    Headset Turtle beach
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Any liquid get on the board? Was the CPU removed? If so double check no pins were bent.
    cpu never came out of the board. No liquid went on to the board either. Totally stumped. Been doing this for years and years and I’ve never had a failure like this.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    372
    Posts
    17,220

    Hi Walter white

    Code 00 can be a tough one to track down.

    1) Have you tried flashing/updating the bios with the bios flashback feature?
    2) Double check the 8-pin cpu power cable is fully connected to the board and psu.
    3) You have a good power supply but if you have a spare to test with you could give that a try.
    4) A short can cause code 00
    5) A dead cpu will cause code 00, but if it worked before the tear down it's likely not dead.
    6) A faulty motherboard can cause code 00

    It's about all I can think of at the moment that can cause code 00, any of these suggestions help?

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,401

    Did some looking around, probably found the same threads you did but here it goes: Some folks got that code from a poorly seated or malfunctioning CPU cooler fan so you might want to try hooking something different into that header so it gets a signal. Also, when you popped the battery out did you leave it out for a minute or more to allow caps to discharge?

    Finally, some people have used a hairdryer to warm the area around the q-code display. Strange.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Walter white PC Specs
    Walter white PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus z270 code
    ProcessorI7 7700k
    Memory (part number)Evga 3000 mhz ddr4 16 gb
    Graphics Card #1Rog gtx 980 matrix
    Graphics Card #2Evga gtx 980 ti classified
    MonitorSamsung uhd
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250gb
    Storage #2Seagate 1tb
    CPU CoolerNzxt kraken x61
    CaseCorsair air 540
    Power SupplyEvga 750w
    Headset Turtle beach
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Walter white

    Code 00 can be a tough one to track down.

    1) Have you tried flashing/updating the bios with the bios flashback feature?
    2) Double check the 8-pin cpu power cable is fully connected to the board and psu.
    3) You have a good power supply but if you have a spare to test with you could give that a try.
    4) A short can cause code 00
    5) A dead cpu will cause code 00, but if it worked before the tear down it's likely not dead.
    6) A faulty motherboard can cause code 00

    It's about all I can think of at the moment that can cause code 00, any of these suggestions help?
    hey thank you for the reply. I ended up just ordering a Maximus formula xii. I had a spare cpu sitting around so I said might as well use it. New motherboard should be here today sometime. My issue has to be motherboard or cpu because I took the board out of the pc and took out the cmos battery for a day and I took the ram out as well. Nothing plugged into the board except 24 pin and cpu power and I still get the same thing.Â*

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    372
    Posts
    17,220

    Well, it seems you took the step to alleviate all pain by upgrading to a new motherboard.

    Just know you will need a 10th gen cpu for the ROG Maximus XII Formula.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •