Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I got a new Z690-E the other day and memory wouldn't work in A1 or A2, only B1 and B2. Tried both a Corsair pair and Kingston. I set up a replacement with Amazon and got a new one today and all 4 slots are working. I have Corsair 5200 in slots A1 and B1 and Kingston 5200 in A2 and B2 and the machine posts. Running memtest now. When I booted they were running at 4000MHZ. I turned on XMP 1 and now it is at 5200MHZ.
    Last edited by birdjungle; 02-28-2022 at 12:50 AM.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    319

    If you need 64GB system memory, I recommend going with 2x32GB vs 4x16GB.

    Check your motherboard QVL for 2x32GB compatibility, the Dell 4800MHz 2x32GB sticks are listed in my QVL: https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...=04&l=en&s=bsd

    The Dell 2x32GB sticks will run fine in XMP 4800, or manual settings up to 6000MHz on my board.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4800 Hynix 2x32 XMP.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	377.4 KB 
ID:	92314

    Also the Corsair 2x32GB 5200MHz kit works on my board in XMP 5200, or manual settings up to 5600MHz: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...coupon=Content

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair 5200 CL40 2x32 @ 5400 CL36.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	146.5 KB 
ID:	92315

    My advice would be the Dell kit, and run in enhanced mode @ 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V and you will be fine.

    You need a CPU with a vary strong IMC to run 2x32GB @ 6000MHz 1.43V,.. and performance is not much better than 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V.

    Good luck
    Last edited by Braegnok; 03-01-2022 at 12:38 AM.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    319

    If you need 64GB system memory, I recommend going with 2x32GB vs 4x16GB.

    Check your motherboard GVL for 2x32GB compatibility, the Dell 4800MHz 2x32GB sticks are listed in my GVL: https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...=04&l=en&s=bsd

    The Dell 2x32GB sticks will run fine in XMP 4800, or manual settings up to 6000MHz on my board.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4800 Hynix 2x32 XMP.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	377.4 KB 
ID:	92314

    Also the Corsair 2x32GB 5200MHz kit works on my board in XMP 5200, or manual settings up to 5600MHz: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...coupon=Content

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair 5200 CL40 2x32 @ 5400 CL36.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	146.5 KB 
ID:	92315

    My advice would be the Dell 2x32GB modules, and run in enhanced mode @ 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V and you will be fine.

    You need a CPU with a vary strong IMC to run 2x32GB above 5200MHz CL40, CR2 up to 6000MHz,.. and performance is not much better than 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V.

    Good luck, YMMV depending on your CPU IMC.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 02-28-2022 at 01:08 PM.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by birdjungle View Post
    I got a new Z690-E the other day and memory wouldn't work in A1 or A2, only B1 and B2. Tried both a Corsair pair and Kingston. I set up a replacement with Amazon and got a new one today and all 4 slots are working.
    Exactly the same happened in my case. A1 and A2 would not work, only B1 and B2. Vendor changed the board, and then it worked. I have seen many similar reports about Z690 STRIX boards. It's like a lottery. I think we have to assume that there is a hardware /design issue.

  5. #25
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    If you need 64GB system memory, I recommend going with 2x32GB vs 4x16GB.

    Check your motherboard GVL for 2x32GB compatibility, the Dell 4800MHz 2x32GB sticks are listed in my GVL: https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...=04&l=en&s=bsd

    The Dell 2x32GB sticks will run fine in XMP 4800, or manual settings up to 6000MHz on my board.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4800 Hynix 2x32 XMP.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	377.4 KB 
ID:	92314

    Also the Corsair 2x32GB 5200MHz kit works on my board in XMP 5200, or manual settings up to 5600MHz: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...coupon=Content

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	corsair 5200 CL40 2x32 @ 5400 CL36.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	146.5 KB 
ID:	92315

    My advice would be the Dell 2x32GB modules, and run in enhanced mode @ 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V and you will be fine.

    You need a CPU with a vary strong IMC to run 2x32GB above 5200MHz CL40, CR2 up to 6000MHz,.. and performance is not much better than 4800MHz CL32, CR1, 1.10V.

    Good luck, YMMV depending on your CPU IMC.
    If that is your system you are far ahead of me. I can't spend that kind of money anymore. Wife would kill me. I have a 12700K with a Samsung 980 pro and no discrete graphics yet. I'm looking for a 3080 but I'm just not paying those prices so until they come down to more reasonable prices I'll do without. I'm not gaming so the need isn't there.

    Any reason why I shouldn't go with 4x16s? I can't drop over a grand on memory. These 2 kits cost me about $600 and honestly, I'm not sure I want to tempt fate and mess around with the MB again. Originally I was only gonna 2 32GB but I just don't feel like returning the memory. Already had to send the bad board back.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    319

    Quote Originally Posted by birdjungle View Post
    If that is your system you are far ahead of me. I can't spend that kind of money anymore. Wife would kill me. I have a 12700K with a Samsung 980 pro and no discrete graphics yet. I'm looking for a 3080 but I'm just not paying those prices so until they come down to more reasonable prices I'll do without. I'm not gaming so the need isn't there.

    Any reason why I shouldn't go with 4x16s? I can't drop over a grand on memory. These 2 kits cost me about $600 and honestly, I'm not sure I want to tempt fate and mess around with the MB again. Originally I was only gonna 2 32GB but I just don't feel like returning the memory. Already had to send the bad board back.
    Best reason why not to go with 4x16GB DDR5,.. would be currently there is no solid BIOS/Microcode for running 4x16GB DDR5 on your motherboard past 4000MHz.

    Perhaps down the road when DDR5 4x16GB kits are more mainstream, testing will be done and new BIOS/Microcode will be released.

    As of today I have only seen one DDR5 4x16GB kit for sale : https://www.newegg.com/zvvn-64gb-288...quicklink=true

    ,.. and that kit today would most likely run at 4000MHz on your motherboard.

    Current DDR5 Memory Support: "If the motherboard has two slots total, than the maximum support is DDR5-4800 in any configuration. If the motherboard has four memory slots total, than the maximum support is DDR5-4400 when two slots are filled with any memory.
    If all four memory slots are filled, single rank memory will support up to DDR5-4000.
    If all four memory slots are filled, dual-rank memory will support up to DDR5-3600."

    DDR5 Memory Varies with Number of Modules: https://www.anandtech.com/show/16959...november-4th/4
    Last edited by Braegnok; 03-01-2022 at 12:58 PM.

  7. #27
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    Best reason why not to go with 4x16GB DDR5,.. would be currently there is no solid BIOS/Microcode for running 4x16GB DDR5 on your motherboard past 4000MHz.

    Perhaps down the road when DDR5 4x16GB kits are more mainstream, testing will be done and new BIOS/Microcode will be released.

    As of today I have only seen one DDR5 4x16GB kit for sale : https://www.newegg.com/zvvn-64gb-288...quicklink=true

    ,.. and that kit today would most likely run at 4000MHz on your motherboard.

    Current DDR5 Memory Support: "If the motherboard has two slots total, than the maximum support is DDR5-4800 in any configuration. If the motherboard has four memory slots total, than the maximum support is DDR5-4400 when two slots are filled with any memory.
    If all four memory slots are filled, single rank memory will support up to DDR5-4000.
    If all four memory slots are filled, dual-rank memory will support up to DDR5-3600."

    DDR5 Memory Varies with Number of Modules: https://www.anandtech.com/show/16959...november-4th/4
    Ok. Still not sure I want to mess with anything. Also, I am running 2 different 2X16GB kits. One is the Corsair and one is the Kingston. The Kingston is on the board compatibility list. Both are 5200MHz and look like they have the same timing. I ordered the Kingston because at first I thought the Corsair kit was bad. In the end, it was the MB. I decided to keep both and as I said before I don't really want to tempt fate with messing with memory again. I did manually set the memory to 5200MHz in the bios but didn't change anything else and it passed the memtest and so far hasn't given me any bluescreens or any other issues. I did look at the 2x32GB kit you mentioned but I don't see it for sale anywhere
    Last edited by birdjungle; 03-01-2022 at 05:27 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    319

    The Dell Hynix modules are sold per module, direct from Dell: https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...=04&l=en&s=bsd

    The Corsair Micron modules are sold in a kit of two modules, direct from Corsair: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...coupon=Content

  9. #29
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    The Dell Hynix modules are sold per module, direct from Dell: https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop...=04&l=en&s=bsd

    The Corsair Micron modules are sold in a kit of two modules, direct from Corsair: https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...coupon=Content
    Looking at the memory support page for my board the only 2x32GB kits that are listed are CMT64GX5M2X5200C38 and CMK64GX5M2A4400C36. The CMT64GX5M2X5200C38 looks like it isn't available.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    319

    Quote Originally Posted by birdjungle View Post
    Looking at the memory support page for my board the only 2x32GB kits that are listed are CMT64GX5M2X5200C38 and CMK64GX5M2A4400C36. The CMT64GX5M2X5200C38 looks like it isn't available.
    Page 8 of your motherboard memory QVL shows all three 8GB, 16GB, and 32GB Dell 4800 modules, they are listed as Venders: SK Hynix.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	z690 e qvl.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	256.6 KB 
ID:	92331

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sk hynix A081N 2x32.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	214.6 KB 
ID:	92332

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dell SK Hynix 2x32GB modules.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	148.4 KB 
ID:	92333
    Last edited by Braegnok; 03-02-2022 at 11:20 AM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •