Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H (310)
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse ROG Strix Carry Wireless-BT mouse
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One Bluetooth gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 4K Blu-Ray UHD USB Archgon Star
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    674

    GL703GS with 1070 and XiaoMi Mi 34" (3440x1440) issues at 144Hz

    I have a XiaoMi Mi 34" 3440x1440 connected through a VESA certified 8K DP1.4 cable (DPmini--DP), but found that running at 120Hz or 144Hz causes random "blackouts" (aka black screen flickering) like this:

    It NEVER happens if I set 100Hz. Is this normal? I already swapped 3 different 8K DP1.4 cables but nothing changed.
    I thought it could be a faulty monitor but I've found the same on another monitor with the same specs... So at this point I wonder: maybe the GTX 1070 8GB (Max-P, 10DE 1BE1 - 1043 1011, GP104 A1, vbios 86.04.7c.00.24, Samsung VRAM) in this laptop is not fully DisplayPort 1.4 compatible and 3440x1440 @ 120/144Hz are too much?
    Last edited by hexaae; 11-13-2021 at 12:08 AM.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,194

    I would try changing color modes to see if that makes any difference. Try ycbcr444 instead of RGB. If that doesn't help try 422. It won't be as accurate but you'll have to decide if it bothers you after you adjust the picture settings.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H (310)
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse ROG Strix Carry Wireless-BT mouse
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One Bluetooth gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 4K Blu-Ray UHD USB Archgon Star
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    674

    Already tried 4:2:2 too, and didn't change
    I think this laptop's gfx card has an old DP firmware: I've found this for example but was only for desktop gfx cards NVIDIA Graphics Firmware Update Tool for DisplayPort 1.3 and 1.4 Displays that's why I start to think is actually the laptop and not the monitor.
    Only ASUS could help with a gfx card fw update in this case...
    Last edited by hexaae; 11-13-2021 at 08:54 AM.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,194

    Even if the laptop is already on 1.4 or gets updated, if the hardware isn't up to 1.4 spec it won't work well at higher bitrates. Since it's allowing you to select the mode I think all of the hardware is already version compatible but it sounds like you are experiencing enough signal loss/noise to cause problems. You could try different drivers to see if that makes a difference but I'm not optimistic.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H (310)
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse ROG Strix Carry Wireless-BT mouse
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One Bluetooth gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 4K Blu-Ray UHD USB Archgon Star
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    674

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    t it sounds like you are experiencing enough signal loss/noise to cause problems. You could try different drivers to see if that makes a difference but I'm not optimistic.
    I can exclude signal loss/noise since I tested 3 different 8K expensive VESA certified cables. Already tried different drivers but no changes. I'm afraid this laptop with 1070 has an old DP firmaware in the vbios, causing issues at very high throughput. 100Hz is stable, so the monitor seems ok I guess and can be excluded or I should see the same temporary blackouts at any freq.
    I must be the only one with GL703GS + a UWQHD 144Hz monitor

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,194

    I'm not saying your cable is the issue necessarily. The output port has its own noise floor and signal characteristics before your cable is even connected to it. I'm saying that hardware inside the notebook may not be up to the task even with a firmware update, but one can always hope.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H (310)
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse ROG Strix Carry Wireless-BT mouse
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One Bluetooth gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 4K Blu-Ray UHD USB Archgon Star
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    674

    Other interesting facts and clues...
    GPUz says bandwidth at 120Hz is already saturated (8.1Gbps, which looks like HDMI limt even if is DP connected (???) ), but at 100Hz (which is stable and never gives "blackouts") is ok under max limit reporting 5.4Gbps:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DP.gif 
Views:	0 
Size:	17.1 KB 
ID:	90598
    Or maybe GPUz is unreliable here... or is just reporting xLane speed (in this case x4)...
    Last edited by hexaae; 11-15-2021 at 07:42 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •