Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Asus 3090 Strix OC - Relative Low Power Limit with Ray Tracing ON

    Good morning!

    Made a short "unlisted" video showing my 3090 Strix OC on Fortnite (Save the World) and whenever Ray Tracing is ON, the card is being held back due to the relative low 390W power limit.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dsh3wXCfzS4

    Notice the "LIM power" on the top left corner of the screen showing that the card won't clock any further than 1770MHz because power limit is exceeded. Whenever I try to push it above 1800MHz it would be a matter of time for it to crash, regardless the game.

    Please, consider releasing a VBIOS with a higher power target, because restricting a Strix OC 3090 to clock any higher than 1770MHz on Ray Tracing with graphic settings at medium/low makes no sense, specially when the temperatures are still fairly low and refresh rate is not even reaching 60 FPS.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    341
    Posts
    17,053

    Hi koben,

    Yep, that's the way it works, hit the power limit or temp gets too warm and clock speeds will drop.

    I'm sure you know if you take some load off your ROG Strix 3090 clock speeds will raise. But actually, 57 FPS is pretty good at 4k resolution with ray tracing on. You could leave it there or if you want ray tracing on, lower the resolution a step or two, this should help raise clock speeds and FPS.

    You're not the first one to ask for a new Vbios. If enough people ask, they usually listen.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hello, Nate!

    Thanks for being supportive!

    The whole issue can be pinned down to a very simple point... turn Ray Tracing ON and sadly, the current power limit of 390W, will hold back this awesome videocard... and it won't matter how low we set other graphics settings.

    Funny thing is that Ray Tracing is one of the most advertised features for the 3090 and the Strix OC model was supposed to provide extra power for it to clock higher... this is all falling short due an empirical limit... it is not even a technical restriciton because on the video mentioned above, temps and graphics settings are fairly low, even DLSS is set to performance but still it won't clock beyond 1770MHz and I'm being refrained from achieving the magical 60FPS (which is the refresh rate of my 4K monitor).

    Hopefully ASUS will release a new power-buffed VBIOS soon enough so I won't need to shunt-mod the whole card.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    341
    Posts
    17,053

    I know you have a 4k monitor, but I would try the resolution at 1920 x 1080 with ray tracing on and see what this gives me, then work it up a step at a time. With ray tracing on, you may have to settle for a happy medium with the resolution to achieve full 60 FPS.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I know you have a 4k monitor, but I would try the resolution at 1920 x 1080 with ray tracing on and see what this gives me, then work it up a step at a time. With ray tracing on, you may have to settle for a happy medium with the resolution to achieve full 60 FPS.
    That's exactly what I'm showing in the video... DLSS at "Performance" = running 1080p, then upscaled to 4K.

    Once again... graphics settings are already at medium/low and I can't even lower any further without making the game look like it was made in 1990.

    Besides, this is not how a STRIX OC card is supposed to behave... it should be on par with the EVGA Kingpin and Galax HOF. This is why people are flashing these cards VBIOSes onto the 3090 Strix, shunting modding it and so on...
    Last edited by Koben; 11-16-2021 at 07:15 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    341
    Posts
    17,053

    You're only 3 FPS shy of 60 FPS, let's see if we can get you there and then some.

    Are you able to lower the resolution in the game settings to 2560 x 1440? I see it's set to 3840 x 2160.

    I know not as pretty, but should improve performance.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You're only 3 FPS shy of 60 FPS, let's see if we can get you there and then some.

    Are you able to lower the resolution in the game settings to 2560 x 1440? I see it's set to 3840 x 2160.

    I know not as pretty, but should improve performance.
    The video is only 54 seconds long... you'll find that at 40 seconds it shows that DLSS is set to "Performance" which means that the game is actually being rendered at 1080P and then DLSS feature is upscalling the result image to 4K with maximum possible performance.

    If ASUS would only release a power-buffed VBIOS for this card, nobody would be complaining about it....

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    341
    Posts
    17,053

    I can tell you want it bad.

    A quick overclock on your ROG Strix 3090 might get you there.

    What I was asking is if you're able to select a lower resolution here.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4k.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	119.2 KB 
ID:	90609

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Mate, if I select a lower resolution where you mentioned, then the "Performance" option on DLSS will be disabled.
    What you are asking me to do is already being done... the game is being rendered at 1080p because I'm using the DLSS feature in "Performance" mode!

    All of this is even besides the point because this is not how a STRIX OC card is supposed to behave... it should be on par with the EVGA Kingpin and Galax HOF. This is why people are flashing these cards VBIOSes onto the 3090 Strix, shunting modding it and so on...

    Please, pass this request to an ASUS representative to be properly evaluated.

    Thanks once again!

    PS. If I overclock the card any further it will crash due to the power limit is already being exceeded!!

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    341
    Posts
    17,053

    All right,

    Was trying to see if we could squeeze a few more frames to get you to 60 FPS.

    I'll chalk you up for a Vbios request.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •