Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Exclamation B550-E w/ 5900X delivering more voltage than it should - why?

    This build is only a few weeks old. Loading the optimised defaults in the BIOS (latest version as of writing) makes the VID higher, which makes the Vcore go above 1.5v, according to HWINFO64. Even with an undervolt and power limits on stock (PBO -> disabled -> curve optimiser -> -20 on 'low cores' and -7 on four 'high cores' results in slightly less voltage being delivered, but it's still too much.

    Again, with optimised defaults loaded, AMP/XMP/DOCP enabled, and everything else on stock, the VID goes to 1.55v and the SVI2 TFN goes to 1.52v-1.53v. This is absolutely outside of the stated specification for the CPU.

    The first screenshot is from a 15 hour run with CoreCycler - a SSE single-threaded workload. Vcore (SVI2 TFN) is normal. Vcore is abnormal. VID is abnormal.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (3-1).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	666.8 KB 
ID:	90693

    The second screenshot is from playing Civilisation VI with the values reset during the game (I played for 3 hours). Vcore (SVI2 TFN) is abnormal. Vcore is normal. VID is abnormal.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (4).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	675.6 KB 
ID:	90694

    The final screenshot is from running Cinebench R23 single core on a loop. Vcore (SVI2 TFN) is abnormal. Vcore is normal. VID is abnormal.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (5).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	670.5 KB 
ID:	90695

    Could this be an LLC issue (it's set on auto)?
    Is this simply a defective motherboard (apart from the still-defective I225-V_REV03)?
    Could there be another cause?

    Any help is appreciated. I've never regretted any purchase more than this motherboard...
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,783

    Hi Piers,

    I don't have an AMD motherboard but I agree 1.50v is way too high, especially at stock settings.

    LLC is a good setting to start with, I use LLC to help keep the voltage (Vcore) close to the voltage I set in the bios. A lower value should help get the maximum Vcore to a lower voltage.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Piers,

    I don't have an AMD motherboard but I agree 1.50v is way too high, especially at stock settings.

    LLC is a good setting to start with, I use LLC to help keep the voltage (Vcore) close to the voltage I set in the bios. A lower value should help get the maximum Vcore to a lower voltage.
    Hello Nate, and thank you for replying.

    After spending nearly a week with this issue, I've reset the BIOS again using the optimised defaults in case something went wrong (the BIOS is buggy - an example is that disabling LN2 mode changes voltages and doesn't appear to do anything else. Another example is that Chinese characters show when going to save or load a profile. A third example is the I225-V only sometimes appearing in the BIOS under Advanced, but it seems that's a joint Asus and Intel problem). It's certainly odd coming from a Z170 Maximus Hero (6700K) with its rock-solid and well-programmed BIOS to this..... mess.

    As of typing, 30 mins of CB R23 single core shows the expected AMD values - a VID of up to 1.5000v is considered acceptable, and brief SVI2 TFN spikes of up to ~1.5000v - with stock settings (unlike last time), although it's only been 30 minutes. I wish CB R23 didn't have the 30 minute limit so I could leave it running to complete a long test.
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,783

    Stock values are usually set pretty high to cope with underwhelming cpu's.

    Try manually setting a lower cpu voltage and playing with LLC, you may have to try adaptive or offset mode.

    This is about all I'm going to have as I am not familiar with your bios.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Stock values are usually set pretty high to cope with underwhelming cpu's.

    Try manually setting a lower cpu voltage and playing with LLC, you may have to try adaptive or offset mode.

    This is about all I'm going to have as I am not familiar with your bios.
    Again, thank you for replying. The problem is that the images above show the CPU with Curve Optimiser set to negative per-core values.

    In case you're not aware (that sounds patronising - that's certainly not my intent and I apologise if it comes across that way), negative values can be set per-core (and all-core) within AMD's Curve Optimiser in the BIOS. This can go from 0-30, with each value representing 3mV-5mV (-30 all-core would equal a maximum undervolt of 150mV). The best my CPU is able to handle is a negative value of ~8 for the fastest cores (cores 0,5,7,8), with the remaining eight lower-performing cores being stable with a negative value of ~20. This translates to the fastest four cores having voltage reduced by 24mV-40mV, and the remaining eight cores having voltage reduced by 60mV-100mV.
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    190
    Posts
    2,417

    Hello,

    1.5v is normal for this platform and is intrinsically related to how Zen handles idle voltage and parks cores. Many Intel users fall trap to these levels when crossing over to team red.

    What's important is the sustained voltage when the CPU is under high current loads. Around 1.325v is a good ceiling to keep for these types of workloads.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    1.5v is normal for this platform and is intrinsically related to how Zen handles idle voltage and parks cores. Many Intel users fall trap to these levels when crossing over to team red.

    What's important is the sustained voltage when the CPU is under high current loads. Around 1.325v is a good ceiling to keep for these types of workloads.
    After speaking with The Stilt, whose name is featured in most ROG motherboard BIOSes, he disagrees that 1.5500V is acceptable VID. He's manually confirmed that my CPU is factory set to 1.50000V and the Asus B550-E is doing something to force that to 1.5500V, which in turn causes higher Core SVI2 TFN readings. I imagine he's registered here and can confirm the public and private conversation I've had with him.

    The Stilt spent an entire day looking through 9 BIOS version over two Asus motherboards and couldn't work out what you've done to violate AMD's factory limit. Can you, or someone from Asus, please explain? I don't mind showing proof of this conversation with The Stilt privately with an Asus employee and providing more information.

    tldr; At entirely stock settings in the BIOS, Asus is doing something to force vmax over 1.50000V to 1.55000V. This does not meet AMD's stock specifications. BIOS version is 2423 "AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C".
    Last edited by Piers; 12-10-2021 at 04:29 AM.
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    190
    Posts
    2,417

    Quote Originally Posted by Piers View Post
    After speaking with The Stilt, whose name is featured in most ROG motherboard BIOSes, he disagrees that 1.5500V is acceptable VID. He's manually confirmed that my CPU is factory set to 1.50000V and the Asus B550-E is doing something to force that to 1.5500V, which in turn causes higher Core SVI2 TFN readings. I imagine he's registered here and can confirm the public and private conversation I've had with him.

    The Stilt spent an entire day looking through 9 BIOS version over two Asus motherboards and couldn't work out what you've done to violate AMD's factory limit. Can you, or someone from Asus, please explain? I don't mind showing proof of this conversation with The Stilt privately with an Asus employee and providing more information.

    tldr; At entirely stock settings in the BIOS, Asus is doing something to force vmax over 1.50000V to 1.55000V. This does not meet AMD's stock specifications. BIOS version is 2423 "AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C".

    Hello,

    How are you measuring the core voltage? Are you solely basing all this on the SVI2 TFN readout?

    Can you forward me any information you have, please.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 12-10-2021 at 09:37 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    How are you measuring the core voltage? Are you solely basing all this on the SVI2 TFN readout?

    Can you forward me any information you have, please.
    It's more VID, which The Stilt pointed out is going against AMD's specification and the CPU's factory-set vmax. I'll send you a private message with how The Stilt confirmed the voltage and with a couple of threads explaining his testing.
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    190
    Posts
    2,417

    Quote Originally Posted by Piers View Post
    It's more VID, which The Stilt pointed out is going against AMD's specification and the CPU's factory-set vmax. I'll send you a private message with how The Stilt confirmed the voltage and with a couple of threads explaining his testing.

    Right, so this isn't indicative of what the CPU is receiving. If you could, please!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •