Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Trouble overclocking

    I'm new to overclocking so some help would be much appreciated. I'm using a TUF Z590 Plus motherboard and i9-11900KF I watched this video to learn https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTb-KmUa6rI&t=1811s
    In the video his Core Speed in CPUZ stays at whatever he sets it too in the bios even while idle. When I do the same mine drops down to 3500mhz unless there is a load, then it increases to the overclock speeds I've set. When I tried to disable Intel Speed Shift it won't even budge past 3500 mhz even under load. I'm mainly using the computer for music production so I don't want the core speed fluctuating.
    Last edited by cheeftain; 11-30-2021 at 03:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,783

    Hi cheeftain,

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    When overclocking the cpu, you need more voltage which generates more heat. Your cooling and cpu temps will determine how far you can overclock.


    I'm on an older z270 motherboard and unles it's changed, you should be able to get the cpu to run at a constant speed by setting the windows power plan to high performance.

    Here's a video to show how clock speeds hold steady at the maximum boost clock of 4.5GHz (4500MHz). You'll have to unhide the windows high performance power plan.


  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi cheeftain,

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    When overclocking the cpu, you need more voltage which generates more heat. Your cooling and cpu temps will determine how far you can overclock.


    I'm on an older z270 motherboard and unles it's changed, you should be able to get the cpu to run at a constant speed by setting the windows power plan to high performance.

    Here's a video to show how clock speeds hold steady at the maximum boost clock of 4.5GHz (4500MHz). You'll have to unhide the windows high performance power plan.

    Throttle Stop fixed the issue! Thanks

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,783

    Awesome,

    Since your title mentions overclocking, I was wondering about your cooler and how temps are.

    I used to use CPU-Z and real temp until I found Hwinfo. It monitors pretty much every thing in your pc, even the life left of your drives. It's what I used above and it's free.

    It makes it a little easier as it's one program to monitor everything. Clock speeds, voltages, temps and more.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I'm using a 360mm Pureloop AIO from Be Quiet. Stress tested with AIDA64 for about an hour. CPU overclocked to 5ghz with 1.325 core voltage. My temp average was 80°C with 2 cores sitting around 82°C. The other cores temps ranged from 73° to 79°. Thats probably as much as I can push it because I'm also using a Be Quiet case which has a bunch of sound dampening pads that reduce air flow by quite a bit.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,783

    That's not bad at all for an AIDA64 stress test, anything you do won't hit your cpu that hard, which in turn means cooler temps.

    Looking good cheeftain !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •