Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Omen 15-en1037nf
    MotherboardMaximus VII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)2x8Go
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 (Founders Edition)
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQR
    Storage #1HyperX Fury 240Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4Tb
    CPU CoolerThermaltake water riing 360
    CaseThermaltake core x71
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 gold
    Keyboard Corsair strafe mk.2
    Mouse Corsair dark core SE
    Headset Corsair Void pro
    Mouse Pad Cooler master RGB HARD GAMING MOUSEPAD
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Corsair ST100 RGB

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    M.2 Issue with my asus maximus VII Ranger

    Hello everyone , I'm new here
    i bought a few weeks ago a very nice M.2 SSD , i checked everything and all appeared like it is compatible,
    like it's PCIE (the only protocol M.2 SSD supported on this motherboard ) .
    But the thing is i pluged it like 3 times but each time my Disk manager or even my BIOS don't see my SSD , i updated BIOS checked what forums tells about that but i didn't find anything that solved the problem .
    So as i said i have a Maximus VII ranger as motherboard , and the M.2 is pretty next gen compared to the motherboard , its a Western Digital WD_Black SN850 1TB , so is it normal that my motherboard don't see it? (like it's juste incompatible and i messed up while checking compatibility ) or it is not normal and there is really a problem ?
    Cordially,
    IFleeXyZz.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    347
    Posts
    17,080

    Hi IFLeeXyZz,

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Have you enabled M.2 PCIe mode in the bios?

    It's found on the Advanced tab, Onboard Devices Configuration.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	m.2.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	69.8 KB 
ID:	90916

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Omen 15-en1037nf
    MotherboardMaximus VII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)2x8Go
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 (Founders Edition)
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQR
    Storage #1HyperX Fury 240Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4Tb
    CPU CoolerThermaltake water riing 360
    CaseThermaltake core x71
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 gold
    Keyboard Corsair strafe mk.2
    Mouse Corsair dark core SE
    Headset Corsair Void pro
    Mouse Pad Cooler master RGB HARD GAMING MOUSEPAD
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Corsair ST100 RGB

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi IFLeeXyZz,

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Have you enabled M.2 PCIe mode in the bios?

    It's found on the Advanced tab, Onboard Devices Configuration.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	m.2.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	69.8 KB 
ID:	90916
    PCIE X4_3 slot is in M.2 mode but i still dont see the SSD ..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	M_2-1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	153.4 KB 
ID:	90933

    Here we can see that nothing appear above SATA in disk configuration .

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	M_2-2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	151.5 KB 
ID:	90934

    And Here in EZ mode we only see my olds SATA disk .

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	M_2-3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	150.4 KB 
ID:	90935

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    347
    Posts
    17,080

    Thank you for the screenshots, they can be helpful.

    It could be your configuration.

    It says this for the ROG Maximus VII Ranger.

    The PCIe 2.0 x 16 slot (PCIEX4_3) shares bandwidth with PCIe 2.0 x1 and M.2 slot. The default setting is Auto Mode, which automatically optimizes the system bandwidth. If you install a PCIe 2.0 x4 device, the system will automatically detect and disable the PCIe 2.0 x1 and M.2 slot.

    The supported functions depends on the CPU installed.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Omen 15-en1037nf
    MotherboardMaximus VII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)2x8Go
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 (Founders Edition)
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQR
    Storage #1HyperX Fury 240Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4Tb
    CPU CoolerThermaltake water riing 360
    CaseThermaltake core x71
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 gold
    Keyboard Corsair strafe mk.2
    Mouse Corsair dark core SE
    Headset Corsair Void pro
    Mouse Pad Cooler master RGB HARD GAMING MOUSEPAD
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Corsair ST100 RGB

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you for the screenshots, they can be helpful.

    It could be your configuration.

    It says this for the ROG Maximus VII Ranger.

    The PCIe 2.0 x 16 slot (PCIEX4_3) shares bandwidth with PCIe 2.0 x1 and M.2 slot. The default setting is Auto Mode, which automatically optimizes the system bandwidth. If you install a PCIe 2.0 x4 device, the system will automatically detect and disable the PCIe 2.0 x1 and M.2 slot.

    The supported functions depends on the CPU installed.
    Yeah i don't really know about bandwidth and all , but all i can say is that my CPU is a Intel i7 4790k , but maybe the PCIE x4 is take by my RTX 3070 i really don't know , you think it could be due to my CPU or GPU ?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    347
    Posts
    17,080

    Do you have anything installed in the third pcie x16 slot?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Omen 15-en1037nf
    MotherboardMaximus VII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)2x8Go
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 (Founders Edition)
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQR
    Storage #1HyperX Fury 240Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4Tb
    CPU CoolerThermaltake water riing 360
    CaseThermaltake core x71
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 gold
    Keyboard Corsair strafe mk.2
    Mouse Corsair dark core SE
    Headset Corsair Void pro
    Mouse Pad Cooler master RGB HARD GAMING MOUSEPAD
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Corsair ST100 RGB

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Do you have anything installed in the third pcie x16 slot?
    If it is the black one slot , i have nothing on it , and my RTX 3070 is on the first one , i really dont know what it could be ...

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    347
    Posts
    17,080

    Being the WD sn850 is a pcie x4 ssd it should work, you just won't get the advertised speeds.

    I see you have four drives connected and the WD sn850 would make five?

    I might try disconnecting all drives/devices except for your gpu and the WD sn850.

    Boot up into the bios, reset to defaults and see if the WD sn850 shows.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    IFleeXyZz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP Omen 15-en1037nf
    MotherboardMaximus VII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)2x8Go
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 (Founders Edition)
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQR
    Storage #1HyperX Fury 240Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4Tb
    CPU CoolerThermaltake water riing 360
    CaseThermaltake core x71
    Power SupplySeasonic 750 gold
    Keyboard Corsair strafe mk.2
    Mouse Corsair dark core SE
    Headset Corsair Void pro
    Mouse Pad Cooler master RGB HARD GAMING MOUSEPAD
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Accessory #1 Corsair ST100 RGB

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by IFleeXyZz View Post
    If it is the black one slot , i have nothing on it , and my RTX 3070 is on the first one , i really dont know what it could be ...
    Ok ok , Good news i can now see my SSD in Bios and also on windows where i had to initialize it so i first disconnected all disk except the SSD and i can barely see it in some option in the bios like boot option and nvme configuration tab , so i decided to connect my SATA SSD (where my windows 10 is located , and it seems like i can see the SSD in windows , now the only thing am asking my self is can i reconnect all other disks or there is an issue with a disk or something so i cant reconnect all of them ?

    Cordially,
    IFleeXyZz.

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    347
    Posts
    17,080

    You may be able to use all your drives.

    Connect one at a time and check each time that all drives are showing in the bios.

    Connecting one at a time will help narrow down the problem, you can try different sata ports if you run into one.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •