Page 18 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8 16 17 18 19 20 ... LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 224
  1. #171
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,954

    Hi ProJewks,
    Have you formatted different drives(Samsung 970, WD HDD, Sabrent gen 4) and clean install windows on it? tried install drive in the different slots?
    If it also occurs with bios all default settings, do you download and update nvidia 3090 drivers from nvidia official site? Which version did yo install?
    Did it freeze after update the nvidia 3090 drivers? If you press the reset button to reboot and then gets into a boot loop and then fails to boot into windows?
    Thank you.

  2. #172
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hello, I will answer each question to the best of my knowledge.
    *
    Have you formatted different drives(Samsung 970, WD HDD, Sabrent gen 4) and clean install windows on it?*Yes. The drives are brand new and a fresh install of W11 was installed
    tried install drive in the different slots? The only drives used in this case were the 2 NVME drives and they are in slot m2_2 and m2_3. I have tried each slot individually with only one NVME drive as well.*
    If it also occurs with bios all default settings, do you download and update nvidia 3090 drivers from nvidia official site? Yes, the nvidia drivers are directly from their website.*
    Which version did yo install? 511.79 and with/without GeForce experience*
    Did it freeze after update the nvidia 3090 drivers? Drivers would install and during installation, screen would blackout (like normal video driver installations, but in this case it would just stay off. After a long period of time, a force reset was made.
    If you press the reset button to reboot and then gets into a boot loop and then fails to boot into windows? Yes, it would boot loop a random number of times, then eventually get into the windows troubleshooting screen to try and repair but always fail.*

    After skimming thru the forums, i found a solution, but it’s a Bandaid and not really a solution. This solution only worked on bios version 0803. Any version before or after would have the same boot loop into windows troubleshoot failure. I set PCIE ports to 3.0 and disabled the power management settings. This finally allowed the pc to boot normally with the nvidia drivers. I was able to run stress tests (for myself to see if temperatures were lower after watercool changes. And they were). I understand that tech still doesn’t utilize PCIE 4.0, but why is this a problem? This isn’t hardware and it is a bios problem because it works only on 0803. The problem with this bandaid solution is that I can’t run XMP profiles without stability either so my 6000/c40 Z5’s are only running at base 3600.

  3. #173
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Hi all,

    Quite some days has passed.

    I just want to inform what I can tell I'm running stable, no crashes or weird behavours after changing PSU cables.

    Hope you are all sorted by now.

    @ProJewks: The issue with the bandaid solution are, that it's not stable. You can still encounter random crashes etc.

  4. #174
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by Wrathier View Post
    Hi all,

    Quite some days has passed.

    I just want to inform what I can tell I'm running stable, no crashes or weird behavours after changing PSU cables.

    Hope you are all sorted by now.

    @ProJewks: The issue with the bandaid solution are, that it's not stable. You can still encounter random crashes etc.
    what do you suggest doing sir. Also, I found out the bios I was using was the first one (07 something).*

  5. #175
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,954

    Hi ProJewks,
    Do you enable resizable BAR?
    Thank you.

  6. #176
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi ProJewks,
    Do you enable resizable BAR?
    Thank you.
    I have it turned on. Another strange issue, when I connect my SATA HDD and SSD, the bios and windows no longer see the m.2 drives.‚*

    Update (2/19/22):
    I’m running on the latest bios 1003. I’ve disabled power management, APSM, and pcie gate locking. I’ve enable resizable bar. After doing this, I tried to run windows but it hung and restarted. It then tried to boot up again and it didn’t see the GPU. I loaded back into the bios and changed the pcie settings to gen 3 and she booted up. I’m even able to get XMP1 enabled. I’m going to try and plug in my sata drives in the morning to see if it’s able to see all of the drives. *

    FYI, this work around defeats the purpose of having “auto.”*
    Last edited by ProJewks; 02-19-2022 at 06:44 AM.

  7. #177
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I’m getting random crashes now. Sometimes computer will freeze in windows and I have to force restart. Other times I’ll get a BSOD. One event was me transferring data between drives while updating games (a lot of data traffic). another time it was caused by opening GeForce experience. The BSOD message was “*If you call a support person, give them this info: Stop code: DRIVER IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL What failed: dxgmms2.sys”

    I have yet to launch a game, but Bo have hwinfo, so I will check now what causes any new freezes or BSODs. *

  8. #178
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,954

    Hi ProJewks,
    If the system is more stable on bios 0803 when set PCIE ports to 3.0 and disabled the power management settings, could you please back to 0803 and then check if there is any issue when set PCIE ports to 4.0 and enabled the power management settings but disable resizable BAR?
    Thank you.

  9. #179
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi ProJewks,
    If the system is more stable on bios 0803 when set PCIE ports to 3.0 and disabled the power management settings, could you please back to 0803 and then check if there is any issue when set PCIE ports to 4.0 and enabled the power management settings but disable resizable BAR?
    Thank you.
    I’m back on 803 since I’m having ram instability issues now that I’m able
    To consistently post. I have done what you asked but it only led to the system unable to post. Those settings must stay off/gen 3 in order for me to post.*

  10. #180
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,954

    Hi ProJewks,
    May I double confirm the system with RTX3090 driver installed only post if you adjust PCIE setting from gen4 to gen3, and disabled power management and APSM in bios?
    Even if resizable BAR is disabled?
    Thank you.

Page 18 of 23 FirstFirst ... 8 16 17 18 19 20 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •