Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 23 of 23
  1. #21
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    370
    Posts
    17,175

    Well, my reason for not taking it to a repair shop is, they're likely going to want a fee for just looking at it, and another fee to fix it or they may not be able to fix it at all. So, you could end up paying and not get it fixed.

    If you do take it to a repair shop, I will recommend calling them first and asking some questions.

    What I'm leaning towards is....

    Why it works with some games and artifacts in others could be how much Vram is being used, a lighter load (or usage) seems to not trigger the artifacts. I'm saying this from all the helpful and useful information you provided.

    You can use GPU Tweak II's OSD to see if the games that are artifacting are using more Vram.

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I am wondering, if Asus does not offer support even outside warranty. I have to pay for it for sure, but I would be more optimistic than with a local repair shop (not even knowing, where I can go). I even checked some shops for new hardware but prices are ridiculous.

    But frankly speaking, I am still in doubt about the root cause.

    University is quite a while ago and we did not dig into graphics cards design and VRAM, but RAM issues are usually not very deterministic as RAM assignment is not. So I do not think, that the first 2GB are always allocated on the good VRAM areas/chips and after breaching a certain limit, it starts to allocate the bad areas. But that is just a guess.

    I tried to get some proof with "FurMark ROG Edition". It has an (very limited) option to allocate additional VRAM while benchmarking. So here is another video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-NK...ew?usp=sharing

    First AoE4 is without FurMark running to have a baseline for comparison. VRAM usage is around 2800MB
    Second AoE4 part is with FurMark running what increases the overall VRAM usage to around 4000MB. Neither the issues of AoE4 increased nor does the FurMark donut show any issues while rendering.

    First Fortnite part is again just a reminder and a record for used VRAM which is around 2000MB.
    Second part is a setting, which can be done in Fortnite which is named "Performance (beta)" (instead of "DirectX11" or "DirectX12"). That apparently works decently even with my battered graphics card. VRAM is between 1700MB and 1900MB.
    Third part with Fortnite is running FurMark in background again (first started FurMark and afterwards Fortnite). VRAM consumption is now on 4000MB. A bit laggy, but no glitches. Even the bus is fine which usually leads to a crash.

    I really do not want to keep you busy with this strange issue and am very grateful that you put so much effort in your analysis and suggestions already. So do not hesitate to stop here and just say: "It is broken. There is no workaround. Get a new one.". In the end, it is my curiosity that keeps me going after it. But this should not be your business
    Last edited by radeon_; 12-12-2021 at 01:18 PM.

  3. #23
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    370
    Posts
    17,175

    Nothing wrong with diagnosing it further, but after all you've done the end result will be the same.

    You could ask tech support if they could repair it and how much it would cost.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •