Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array ationfictons PC Specs
    ationfictons PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 w/ICX
    MonitorDell U3417W
    Storage #1KC3000 PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 USB-C
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime ULTRA 600W 80+ Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Philips SHP9500 Headphones w/ V-MODA BoomPro Microphone on Schiit Hel
    Headset/Speakers AudioEngine A2+
    OS Windows 11 Pro x64
    Network RouterpfSense on ProtectLi VP2410
    Accessory #1 XSPC Wire Sensor 10K Thermistor
    Accessory #2 Noctua NF-A14 PWM 140mm Case Fans (3)
    ationfictons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    89

    BIOS Version 3904 Available for ROG Crosshair VIII Hero

    From:

    https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards.../helpdesk_bios

    Version 3904
    2021/12/15 20.65 MBytes
    ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO BIOS 3904
    "1. Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.5
    2. Improve system performance

    Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (C8H.CAP) using BIOSRenamer."

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    35

    Hope they release for the B550-E soon, I've been have a few weird memory issues lately

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    I'd like to know what's been updated, and what sort of performance improvements we can expect. Is AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.5 worth updating for? Anything new in the BIOS we can tinker with for some additional gains?

    Has PBO changed much in the last few BIOS updates? I've had it off after using it for about a month at the launch of 3950x. I realized it wasn't giving me much of a gain at the cost of all the additional heat and energy output.
    Last edited by criznittle; 12-16-2021 at 05:38 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array ManMountain PC Specs
    ManMountain PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-64GTZN 64GB 2x32GB DDR4 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 ROG STRIX GAMING V2
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung C49RG90SSU 49
    Storage #15 x HDD (20 TB)
    Storage #24 x SSD (6 TB), 1 x NVMe (1 TB)
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CasePhantek Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex II 850W 80 Plus Gold Modular
    Keyboard Corsair K60 RGB PRO
    Mouse Corsair HARPOON RGB PRO
    OS Windows 11 Pro Workstation

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    15

    1.2.0.5 BIOS updates the SMU firmware for AMD's Ryzen CPUs including Vermeer (Ryzen 5000), Cezanne (Ryzen 5000G), Picasso (Ryzen 3000G) and Raven Ridge (Ryzen 2000G). It also sets TPM enablement by default for Windows 11 through the fTPM functionality.

    Can read thread about folk updating here - https://www.overclock.net/threads/as...28796/page-475
    Last edited by ManMountain; 12-19-2021 at 12:59 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    72

    Any news on the new 1.2.0.5 BIOS update for the B550-E? From what I've read, it would appear the SMU revision changes VID behaviour. Can anyone confirm this?
    AMD Ryzen R9 5900X
    ASUS ROG Strix B550-E (the worst motherboard I've owned in 25 years)
    Corsair H150i Pro XT 360mm
    32GB Corsair VENGEANGE LPX 3600MHz CL18
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW Hybrid w/ 280mm radiator
    M.2 WD 1TB SN550 | 2 * WD Blue 1TB SATA | 2 * Toshiba N300 8TB | 400TB on a 48-bay Supermicro server
    Corsair RM850X
    Fractal Meshify 2
    Microsoft Windows 11 Pro

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    Processor5900x
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 STRIX 0c
    Monitorlg 38gn950-b
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket
    Storage #2SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    CPU CoolerEK AIO 360 RGB
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime TX 1000 Titanium
    Keyboard Asus Claymore 2
    Mouse Logitech G903 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset SteelSeries Pro Wireless
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    194

    Hi,
    I'm on the previous Bios on my Dark Hero board, Is this bios update an important one or could I skip it since i Have no issues?



    Also, I can't recall if profile are saved or if i do have to note down all my settings. Or if in all case it's better to redo it manually?.
    Thanks
    Last edited by Asryan; 12-20-2021 at 10:26 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Anyone seeing this help solve the mysterious Black screen crashes?

    I don't want to flash the Bios if not. I have W11 64 ( release version ) running and it regularly crashes to black screen and has to be hard rebooted. sometimes twice a day some times 6 times a day.. Gaming or just reading the news. ALL drivers updated , even RMA'd my GPU ( not happy about that at all , they gave me a NON Samsung memory one) and it now now clear it isn't the GPU. I have done everything but roll back to Win 10 and that is not what I want to do since I know so many NON AMD people that are on W11 and doing just fine.
    All Hardware tests fine as well even all 64 GB of Ram.. run in all full stock as well as a 1% OC. I am at my wits end here. This is my first AMD build and I can only depend on my back-up 4790K Intel build for work now.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 4001b
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Neo 4x16GB 3600
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX6800 XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS6604T & AS5304T
    Accessory #2 QNAP QSW-M2108-2C

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Same as 3801, I have to disable TPM in BIOS before I can boot with anything other than Optimized Defaults . Not a huge deal, as I have no immediate plans to jump to Win11, but it is annoying. Not sure if bumping some voltages would help here or not. Typically just run DCOP, no other tweaking. 5950X mainly used for image processing ie Lightroom and Photoshop, encoding, etc, not gaming so I really don't chase the bleeding edge on OC.

    Hopefully it does fix the black screen issues as AGeek mentioned, those are super annoying I get them about once a week or so on 3801.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array GoLLuM13 PC Specs
    GoLLuM13 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus T100TAS / Asus X555LDBA / MSI GE70-2OC
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme / Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930K / AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)4x 4 Go G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2800 mhz / 4x 8 Go Corsair Vengeance RGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 980 Poseidon / nVidia RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Monitor... / 3x LG 27EA73
    Storage #1Sasmsung 850 Pro 256G / Sabrent Rocket 4.0 500G
    Storage #2A bunch of disks
    CPU CoolerWatercooling XSPC / Notcua NH-D15S Chromax.Black
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos 2 / Lian-li O11 Dynamics XL ROG Certified
    Power SupplyFSP Hydro G Pro 850 / Corsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum / Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum / Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis Spectrum / Logtech G Pro X Lightespeed
    Mouse Pad Logtech G440 / Logitech G Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers ... / Logitech Z906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 11 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D6200
    Accessory #1 ... / Xbox One v3 controller
    GoLLuM13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    On 3801, I had the same issue as @AGeek but less frequently, in my case it was something like once in a week. But with this new BIOS version 3904 (that I found kinda buggy) it's once or twice a day at least.
    Also, after the flash (and I tried it multiple times with the EZ Flash and the Flashback) or cold boot, or even a restart from Windows 11, I have POST errors whether it's memory related, and my memory is at DOCP/XMP (Q Code : 22) or BIOS related, with a message saying something like "recovery BIOS failed or is corrupted, put a USB with the BIOS file..." (Q Code : F2 & FA)
    I did several tests, I did few passes of memtest86 with no error. I reverted back to 3801and all mentioned POST errors disappeared, no 22, F2 or FA. Tested 3904 again, and the errors appeared again. Going back one more time to 3801 made them disappear, my conclusion is that the issue was the 3904 BIOS version being faulty in a way.
    So for me 3904 will be a hard pass
    Last edited by GoLLuM13; 12-24-2021 at 10:53 AM.
    Main PC : Asus C8HW / AMD Ryzen 9 3900x / 32 Go 3000 Mhz C15 Corsair Vengeance RGB / nVidia RTX 3090 FE / Sabrent Rocket 4.0 500G / Noctua NH-D15S Chromax.Black / Lian-li O11 Dynamic XL RoG Certified / Corsair AX1500i
    Secondary PC : Asus R5E / Intel i7 5930K / 16 Go 2800 Mhz C16 G.Skill Ripjaws 4 / Asus GTX 980 Poseidon / Samsung 850 Pro 256G / XSPC W/C / Cooler Master Cosmos 2 / FSP Hydro G Pro 850

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Black screen crashes ?? solved ?? under 3801

    I haven't tried 3904 (on my Crosshair Hero VIII) after the post about bugs and POST errors -- I'll stick with 3801 for now.

    I think that I have solved the mysterious black screen crashes (mobo RGB work, case fans work but CPU dead and no RBG on keyboard or mouse or display output.

    I change the vCore voltage offset (as outlined here https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...crashes_under/) by + 1 increment (instead of AUTO) and so far, no crashes. I am almost certain that the crashes were due to a too low CPU voltage during idle state (it mainly happened when the PC was idling with the display off).

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •