Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ690E Bios 1403
    Processori9 12900KS
    Memory (part number)GSkill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,397

    I bumped the SAV up a little too. Sorry for the rotation. Uploaded on my iPad. Also using adaptive mode with that negative 0.7 offset to decrease the peak Vcore a bit too.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    406

    ^^^^ Perfect thanks...Im on a ship at work...al my parts are at home and will be building once home after the 28th....just doing my typical "pre build" homework

    For figuring ut what Memory chips we have I went to "My Products Page"....for me Apex, then wen to the CPU / Memory Support tab, although our exact models arent listed there yet (too early I suppose), the Memory listed does show what kind of Memory chips used.

    Looks like most of the GSkills are SKHynix

    I also have another kit coming Dominator 5600 C36...they appear to be Micron

    iirc I read GSkill no longer using Samsung .....I didnt see any Samsung listed

    Thanks again....maybe reaching out again later on if thats ok

    EDIT: So I see our kits are listed on the Z690 Extreme QVL and it does say Samsung....!!!!! Funny no Corsair listed on Extreme yet....and that brand of GSkill not listed for my Apex .....likely just hasnt been confirmed tested yet, guess the QVL must grow over time?....
    S

    Cheers
    Last edited by rjbarker; 12-21-2021 at 05:57 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ690E Bios 1403
    Processori9 12900KS
    Memory (part number)GSkill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,397

    Yea. That’s how I looked up *the vendor for that particular memory kit. Then just reviewing Shamino’s tutorial gave me the voltage parameters. Mine is still on a test bench for now.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    406

    Neither my GSkill kit or another Corsair Dominator kit (I scored by shear luck) are listed on Apex QVL......normally I always ensure when getting RAM its listed, perhaps its just too early for these kits to be on Apex QVL.... ?

    I would think an Apex Board either a GSkill (Samsung) or Dominator (Micron) would be fine....

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Yep. I simply selected XMP2 for this kit and that profile filled in 1.2V for the VDD and VDDQ fields. However, I got a ton of errors in Memtest86 v9.3 pro with that. I retested the memory at default speed with no errors at all. I noticed a few errors with increasing the VDD and VDDQ to 1.25V. Then I simply applied 1.35V to the VDD and VDDQ Â*fields and retested a final time-no errors at all. I wanted to see if it was stable with the OC. RamTest V1.1.0.0 had 1 error out to about 5000% with the OC so I reran the test with at default values-no errors. Ramtest notes on their website that the memory is good unless you have errors at default speeds. I believe the same is true for memtest86. Testing memory at default speeds/no OC is preferred. I repeated my CPU testing too after that and I had no crashes. Had a few blue screens showing memory errors in blue screen view. Adjusted the voltages on the memory and seems very stable. Used Cinebench and Intel XTU for most stability testing. Worked quite well.

    Reviewed Shamino’s notes on the memory settings. He has recommended 1.35V for Samsung and has recommendations for other vendors. I think our kits of GSkill are Samsung.

    Hope this helps. Â*
    Thank You Hopper64. I still have the warning, but I'm without errors. Am using z690 Extreme 0308, 12900K and G.Skill Trident Z5 6000 MHz CL 36 kit.

    I wasn't able to achieve stable XMP I. nor II. without Your VDD and VDDQ pushing of voltage from XMP I. preselected 1.3 to 1.35. I'll see in the morning the full pass result. I thought that my RAM kit was toast.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_050025.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	252.7 KB 
ID:	91527

    //edit: it wasn't enough, gotten error at second pass at hammering, increased VDDQ to max. [1.435], read it from Shamino in article here, hope ot won't fry my sticks

    //edit #2: lowered the VDDQ to 1.375 due to significantly increased RAM stick temp. [surface went from 36°C to above 50°C]. Now Im testing VDD 1.35 and VDDQ 1.375

    I measure temperature with FLiR.

    Basic/Auto RAM settings work without a glitch [4000 MHz, CL 40].
    Last edited by uplink; 01-05-2022 at 04:55 AM.

  6. #16
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    2,558

    From experience, I find that having Memtest86 integrated in the BIOS is a godsend for one reason - not breaking the OS with very unstable settings. Once you get a baseline, you can move on to something more definitive. It simply isn't that good at finding errors like newer software is (TM5, Ramtest, HCI etc).

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ690E Bios 1403
    Processori9 12900KS
    Memory (part number)GSkill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,397

    Maybe try bios 0811? Some reported issues with bios 0803.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Maybe try bios 0811? Some reported issues with bios 0803.
    I will also try 0811, but...

    Thanks to You and Shamino I.managed stability on 4 runs, now I do another 4! Thank You!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142459.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	176.5 KB 
ID:	91529 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142448.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	140.1 KB 
ID:	91528 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142510.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.4 KB 
ID:	91530 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142627.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	364.0 KB 
ID:	91531 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142650.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	355.1 KB 
ID:	91532

    Thank You guys! VDD 1.35 and VDDQ 1.375 is doing the trick! Also hammering test passes w/o warnings!

    QUOTE=Silent Scone@ROG;853101]From experience, I find that having Memtest86 integrated in the BIOS is a godsend for one reason - not breaking the OS with very unstable settings. Once you get a baseline, you can move on to something more definitive. It simply isn't that good at finding errors like newer software is (TM5, Ramtest, HCI etc).[/QUOTE] Hmm, so MemTest won't guarantee stability of OS anymore?
    Last edited by uplink; 01-05-2022 at 01:47 PM.

  9. #19
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    2,558

    Quote Originally Posted by uplink View Post
    I will also try 0811, but...

    Thanks to You and Shamino I.managed stability on 4 runs, now I do another 4! Thank You!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142459.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	176.5 KB 
ID:	91529 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142448.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	140.1 KB 
ID:	91528 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142510.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.4 KB 
ID:	91530 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142627.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	364.0 KB 
ID:	91531 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_142650.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	355.1 KB 
ID:	91532

    Thank You guys! VDD 1.35 and VDDQ 1.375 is doing the trick! Also hammering test passes w/o warnings!

    QUOTE=Silent Scone@ROG;853101]From experience, I find that having Memtest86 integrated in the BIOS is a godsend for one reason - not breaking the OS with very unstable settings. Once you get a baseline, you can move on to something more definitive. It simply isn't that good at finding errors like newer software is (TM5, Ramtest, HCI etc).
    Hmm, so MemTest won't guarantee stability of OS anymore?

    It never really has done, not since DDR4. That isn't to say the system won't be stable - but I would almost always run Karhu Ramtest or TM5 also.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    76

    Hmm, I'm seeing 56 - 58°C with two sticks, at VDD 1.35 and VDDQ 1.3575, erm. are these okay temps for DDR5? For cl36 and 6000 MHz. No errors in 6th run so far
    second full run.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •