Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Previous bios version 0803 I was stable on XMP2, new 0811 not stable on XMP2 at all.. XMP1 will boot but games crash, might roll back. 4x16 Corsair 5200mhz DDR5 CL38. Seems like the majority of users are having issues with 4 Ram banks populated with XMP active. Most people are stable with just 2 Sticks installed.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array phatmonkey PC Specs
    phatmonkey PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Maximus Hero Z690
    Processori9 12900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengenace DDR5 4 x 16GB 4800mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 3090 Suprim X
    Sound CardRealtek / Quantum 2626 / Foccusrite 18i20 3rd Gen
    MonitorPredator Z35
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i RGB Pro XT
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200
    Keyboard Corsair K100 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Darkcore Pro SE
    Headset Audiotechnica M50X
    Mouse Pad Razzer thingy
    OS Windows 11 Pro 64bit
    phatmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    85

    Quote Originally Posted by mothandras View Post
    Previous bios version 0803 I was stable on XMP2, new 0811 not stable on XMP2 at all.. XMP1 will boot but games crash, might roll back. 4x16 Corsair 5200mhz DDR5 CL38. Seems like the majority of users are having issues with 4 Ram banks populated with XMP active. Most people are stable with just 2 Sticks installed.
    Yes exactly, those of us with 4 dimm slots populated seem to be getting more errors, hope ASUS is aware of this or if some Admins have access portal to Asus directly they should report this error. I have also seen some reddit posts with the same problems with 4 dimm slots populated. I am guessing what has happened is they made these boards without testing all ram scenarios due to the scarcity of DDR5 at the time and now we have a situation that might not be fixed by Bios updates.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array Ribellu PC Specs
    Ribellu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Z690 HERO
    ProcessorI7 12700KF
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2X16Gb 5200Mhz 38/38/38/74
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1T
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 500gb
    CPU CoolerMSI MAG CoreLiquid C240
    CaseThermaltake Commander C31 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Bazilisk V2
    Headset/Speakers Hyper X Cloud Alpha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    98

    Indeed, I also think that these problems come from the 4 memory slots which are occupied, the motherboard cannot manage them, because DDR5 is different from DDR4.

    look how my 2 memory modules are perceived by Windows 10, as if I had 4 of them, so those which really have 4 modules the OS or BIOS cannot manage correctly.

    (I guess)

    In AIDA 64
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Desktop Screenshot 2021.12.24 - 18.40.59.44.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	36.0 KB 
ID:	91313

    In CPUZ

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Desktop Screenshot 2021.12.24 - 18.42.56.39.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	127.9 KB 
ID:	91314

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    No more bsod in windows 11 with 811 bios. Using Crucial 4800 base ddr5, which was stable with release bios, and now with 811 (all bioses in between triggered BSODs).

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Splatterfest123 View Post

    Only boots when RAM placed in B1, B2

    Tried re-seating CPU/ slackening off AIO bracket - no change.
    Interesting. I got exactly the same problem. Booting was only possible with RAM in B1 and B2. Only after I changed the motherboard, I could get the RAM working in A2 and B2, or any of the A sockets. I still do not understand the reason. But when I dismantled the first board, I realized some scratches over the hairline prints around the sockets holes. It looks like these hairlines prints provide current to the DIMM sockets (?). Not sure, anyway, after changing the board, the memory worked. So, it was clearly a hardware problem related to the board.
    Last edited by Chainbold; 12-25-2021 at 12:53 AM.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Bios is working great here. Maximus Hero, I9 12900k, 2x16gb G-Skill Trident 6000mhz cl36m @ 6200mhz. 5.5ghz on 3 cores, 5.4 on the rest. 29,000 Cine R23. Is it maybe certain brands of memory? I was running Crucial 2x8gb 4600mhz cl40 @ 5200mhz without a problem also on previous bios.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array mahava PC Specs
    mahava PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)n/a
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB 2x16GB 2666mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Geforce RTX 2080
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo NveM2 500gb
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair RX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K68
    Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
    Headset n/a
    Mouse Pad Standard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z5500
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterIpfire

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Updated a few days ago to 0811, works great, so far no BSODs from Win11 (had a few strange ones, when surfing the web, but could run memtest a night without erros so might as well have been a win issue, so might happen again) Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5200MHz CL38 Dominator, XMP works but i run them at jidec right now Edit , must remember to change my pc specs
    Last edited by mahava; 12-28-2021 at 09:25 AM.

  8. #18
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,708

    Quote Originally Posted by Duster66 View Post
    Sadly, there is NO improvement from the release BIOS version. 0811 gives me the DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION message on start-up with Win11. No hardware changes were done. Safe Mode also errors with this. Reverting back to release BIOS restores system functionality. All BIOS versions that are not the release are GARBAGE. No testing whatsoever. The other BIOS releases prior to this disable my sound card. And yes, the sound card beats the onboard audio. Onboard audio is trash.

    Deviations from default:

    XMP1 - Enabled
    Onboard Audio - Disabled (have Essence STX II card)
    Bluetooth - Disabled
    Wi-Fi - Disabled
    Resize BAR - Enabled
    Aura - OFF
    Armory Crate - Disabled
    Hello,


    Try increasing Memory Controller VDD under the Advanced Memory tab on the Extreme Tweaker page.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array Duster66 PC Specs
    Duster66 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z690 HERO
    ProcessorINTEL Core i7-12700K
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR VENGEANCE 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 DRAM 5200MHz C38
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Sound CardASUS Essence STX II 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG348Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB M.2
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 870 EVO 2TB
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15
    CaseCOOLER MASTER HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplySEASONIC Prime TX-1000
    Keyboard LOGITECH G815
    Mouse LOGITECH G502 Hero
    Headset HiFiMan Sundara
    OS Windows 11 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AX82U
    Duster66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,


    Try increasing Memory Controller VDD under the Advanced Memory tab on the Extreme Tweaker page.

    I found the issue. It is the soundcard with any BIOS past the release version. The soundcard clicks on audibly and then the BSOD. NOTE: The card always clicks when POST.

    Every combination of slots used with the sound card and GPU tested and same BSOD.

    I tested every BIOS update without the soundcard and no issues. Since the soundcard is better than anything added on-board, I'll revert back to release BIOS. Maybe a future update will fix that. At least my board has the capacitor installed in the correct direction so mosfets don't explode.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    When i was getting issues, i still had a few after.

    I remember from olden days of computing and bios updates, especially on Asus motherboards is to unplug from mains your PC and remove the CMOS BATTERY for about a min and then put back in. I did this and most of the problems and errors codes where solved .. hope this helps

    I have a ASUS 690 Formula

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •