Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus Z690 Hero + Kingston Fury 64 GB DDR5 5200 -> Very unstable with XMP I ON - HELP

    OS: WINDOWS 11 updated

    GPU/DRIVER: EVGA Geforce RTX 3080 FTW3 - Driver: 497.09
    MOBO/BIOS: Asus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero - BIOS: 0803
    CPU: Intel i9 12900K
    RAM: 4X Kingston Fury Beast 16 GB DDR5 5200

    Guys, I'd like some help here.
    I don't know what is happening.

    I bought 1 kit with two RAM and 2 separeted RAM from Kingston. All of them are Kingston Fury Beast DDR5 5200.

    I named them:
    - RAM 1 - 32
    - RAM 2 - 32
    - RAM 3 - 16
    - RAM 4 - 16
    (32 because the RAM is from the kit with 2 of them)
    (16 because it came alone)
    (1,2,3,4 just to differentiate them)

    Because of the blue screens (BSOD), crashes on games and so on, I started to suspect that the RAM could be the issue.
    Since memtest86 is built-in on my motherboard I used it to try to spot the stick with the problem.

    The results are in this spreadsheet that I'm using to organize my tests:

    https://i.imgur.com/a2AYlBH.png
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a2AYlBH.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	82.4 KB 
ID:	91353

    OBS:
    [CPU] A B C D
    AI OC is the AI Overclock from Asus.

    As you can see:
    - Testing all of them together, but with XMP I off, I got 0 errors on memtest86
    - Testing everyone individually, with XMP I on, I got 0 errors on memtest86
    - Testing "RAM 1 - 32" and "RAM 2 - 32" together (both came from 1 kit) and testing ) and testing "RAM 3 - 16" and "RAM 4 - 16" together, with XMP I on, I also got 0 erros on memtest86
    - But on the test #7, when I put 1 extra stick (48 GB total), the memtest86 already found 5 errors in 3 minutes. FAILED.

    I have a friend that has the same CPU and the same motherboard but with Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB DDR 5 5200 and he is using XMP I on with 0 problems.



    IMAGES FROM MEMTEST86:
    Test #2 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/8xnX46K.png
    Test #3 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/GqvTDKg.png
    Test #4 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/4EqOhuN.png
    Test #5 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/Bsh0HOH.png
    Test #6 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/2kBwsIe.png
    Test #7 FAIL - https://i.imgur.com/pTQniJf.png and https://i.imgur.com/MOKEhHy.png
    Test #8 PASS - https://i.imgur.com/10ngFhD.png

    Test #0 FAIL (It isn't on spreadcheat - I tested all of them with XMP II on) - https://i.imgur.com/47gj08y.png



    What is happinng?
    - Other members that are using this combination (Z690 Hero + Kingston Fury)... are they having similar issues?
    - Is there a problem in combine RAM sold in Kits and sold individually?
    - Is there a problem with XMP I and Z690 with RAM from kingston?
    - Is there a problem with XMP I using 64 GB of RAM from kingston?
    Last edited by Cucobr; 12-25-2021 at 06:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,229

    Hi Cucobr,
    Are the RAM in our qvl list?
    https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro...esk_qvl_memory
    Do you test 4 RAM with XMP I?
    Are the bios settings all default except XMP?
    Have you tried bios 0811 with bios all default(except XMP)?
    Thank you.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi Cucobr,
    Are the RAM in our qvl list?
    https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro...esk_qvl_memory
    Do you test 4 RAM with XMP I?
    Are the bios settings all default except XMP?
    Have you tried bios 0811 with bios all default(except XMP)?
    Thank you.

    Are the RAM in our qvl list?
    https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro...esk_qvl_memory

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vSFO0fg.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	36.5 KB 
ID:	91379
    The kit with 2 sticks yes, as you can see.
    The single sticks not, but is the same model

    KF552C40BBK2-32 - Kit with 2 sticks
    KF552C40BB-16 - 1 stick

    K2 is because of the number of the sticks in the kit
    32 is the sum of GB in the kit/package


    Do you test 4 RAM with XMP I?
    I didn't, but the system was very unstable. I couldn't finish a stress test on 3DMark Time Spy without the program point out an error.
    Battlefield 2042 crashing and also cyberpunk crashing.
    Sometimes BSOD.

    Are the bios settings all default except XMP?
    Beside AI OC on, everything was default.


    Have you tried bios 0811 with bios all default(except XMP)?
    I didn't yet.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,229

    Hi Cucobr,
    Thank you for your reply.
    Could you please update to bios 0811 and then try again?
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    2,558

    Hello,

    Memory kits are binned in the density they are sold in. Combining kits, therefore, increases the density and eats into the vendor guardband, meaning they're far less likely to operate at their advertised speeds (overclocking is never guaranteed anyway).

    If looking to tune to 5200, use a single kit.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •