Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Aura Sync freeze when ASUS FX EHD-A2T is connected after a while

    Hello there!

    I have this problem with Aura sync in Armoury Crate:

    The ASUS FX EHD-A2T Hard drive seems to freeze the whole Aura sync after being connected in a while (1-2 hours, but it can also do it after 10 minutes while using it). I usually unsync from Aura to prevent this issue but here is an other problem, it does not save the state in Armoury Crate, that means everything time I plug it in, it is automatically syncing with Aura Sync so I have to do it everytime I plug it...

    Is anyone have this freezing problem too? Is there anyone from Asus that can check this issue that seems to be Armoury Crate related?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    367
    Posts
    8,331

    I would try setting hard drives to never go to sleep and see if that makes a difference. You said "while using it" but I'm not sure if you meant while it is synced or while there are active reads/writes. If it freezes while the drive is active then this setting would not matter as it's not sleeping or in a low power state.
    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/preve...-sleep-windows
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I would try setting hard drives to never go to sleep and see if that makes a difference. You said "while using it" but I'm not sure if you meant while it is synced or while there are active reads/writes. If it freezes while the drive is active then this setting would not matter as it's not sleeping or in a low power state.
    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/preve...-sleep-windows
    Yes, when I said "while using it" it's when I'm reading/writing on it, sorry for that. I'll test just that and report back after some time if i'm noticing some changes.

    Thank you!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Just to report back, setting hard drives to never go to sleep did not fixed it. It just happens after just 50 minutes of sync (no read or write, just pluging and aura syncing)

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    367
    Posts
    8,331

    When Aura Sync freezes do your lights just stop working or does Windows show you an error? It's a long shot but if you have an actual error it might be worth contacting ASUS support. They may have seen this problem before. Or at the very least they may offer to exchange it for you if it's still under warranty.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    When Aura Sync freezes do your lights just stop working or does Windows show you an error? It's a long shot but if you have an actual error it might be worth contacting ASUS support. They may have seen this problem before. Or at the very least they may offer to exchange it for you if it's still under warranty.
    No, no error whatsoever, just the animation of Aura sync (I use rainbow) stop working. I might check the event viewer when that happens but I have little to no hope for an entry there.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    527

    Quote Originally Posted by PWN3D_ View Post
    No, no error whatsoever, just the animation of Aura sync (I use rainbow) stop working. I might check the event viewer when that happens but I have little to no hope for an entry there.
    I wonder if it corresponds with some task launching. You could turn on/enable task history in task scheduler program and maybe monitor running processes to see.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Ok, just noticed another behavior related to the main issue. I had the EHD-A2T and a Steam Wireless controller dongle connected to the front USB of my case. When I unplugged the Controller dongle, the lightning on the hardrive just turned off, but the hardrive was still connected (could still transfer to it). As soon as I open Armoury crate to check, all aura sync peripherals just froze (MB, Ram, Keyboard, Helios RGB Case, GPU...) and the peripherals in the aura menu would not show up (infinite loading) until I unplug the hard drive, then everything was back...

    I'll probably try a fresh install of windows in a couple of days as I don't have much to loose from it, but it to me it's seems that Armoury Crate need an update for that specific hard drive.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    527

    Quote Originally Posted by PWN3D_ View Post
    Ok, just noticed another behavior related to the main issue. I had the EHD-A2T and a Steam Wireless controller dongle connected to the front USB of my case. When I unplugged the Controller dongle, the lightning on the hardrive just turned off, but the hardrive was still connected (could still transfer to it). As soon as I open Armoury crate to check, all aura sync peripherals just froze (MB, Ram, Keyboard, Helios RGB Case, GPU...) and the peripherals in the aura menu would not show up (infinite loading) until I unplug the hard drive, then everything was back...

    I'll probably try a fresh install of windows in a couple of days as I don't have much to loose from it, but it to me it's seems that Armoury Crate need an update for that specific hard drive.
    You may be right about the device software bug. There was a problem like that with the motherboard device software on mine, corrected with version 5. Similar symptoms but not exactly. Another symptom of it was strange cpu activity of the WMI Provider Host process (WmiPrvSE.exe).

  10. #10
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    367
    Posts
    8,331

    I would try leaving the Steam dongle unplugged for a while to see if you still have the issue. It could be a weird conflict.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •