Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7
Results 61 to 66 of 66
  1. #61
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Ambidexter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    81

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Anyone trying to combine two kits rated at 6000MT is in for a rough time.

    Stop combining kits and chalk it up to misadventure on your part. This has been covered many times, also see sticky on why not to combine memory kits in this section.

    I want to get 64+GB. I have a Maximus Z690 Hero (with the OK capacitor!).

    Quick question:

    Does "combining kits" mean if I get a DDR5 16GB x 2 at 6000MHz kit, and I have that working at 6000 (at least most of the time!), that I should sell those and need to get a 4 x 16GB or 2 X 64GB kit and not have 2 "of the same" kit?

    Variation on the same question: If I wanted 64G but nobody sold 6000MHz kits in 2 x 32G sticks or 4 x 16G could /should I have gotten 2 x the 1x32 or 2x16 kits?

    Thanks,

    Ambi
    Last edited by Ambidexter; 05-02-2022 at 06:35 PM. Reason: bad signature

  2. #62
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I can see this thread is still going, hope some of you at least managed to get some stability. Not sure if I mentioned that, but I decided to sell two of my sticks and stay with just 2x16. I was happy that the XMP was actually working, at least I thought so. Almost in every games I’m getting random crashes, even reboots. Karhu was not throwing any errors but Prime95 was. Removed xmp, errors are gone. One lesson I have learned just now, having spent majority of my life with PCs - never ever jump on the wagon of early adopter. Wish you all luck with your machines.

  3. #63
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Ambidexter View Post
    I want to get 64+GB. I have a Maximus Z690 Hero (with the OK capacitor!).

    Quick question:

    Does "combining kits" mean if I get a DDR5 16GB x 2 at 6000MHz kit, and I have that working at 6000 (at least most of the time!), that I should sell those and need to get a 4 x 16GB or 2 X 64GB kit and not have 2 "of the same" kit?

    Variation on the same question: If I wanted 64G but nobody sold 6000MHz kits in 2 x 32G sticks or 4 x 16G could /should I have gotten 2 x the 1x32 or 2x16 kits?

    Thanks,

    Ambi
    I had 2 kits 2x16 (so 2x16 + 2x16) and even though they were right next to each other in serial numbers, they did not work nicely together. You might be lucky but in general, it does not work. Yo would need to purchase a single package containing the set you want (so 2x32 or 4x16).


    Wit that said, perhaps for some of you it might be interesting. I spent some time yesterday and decided to give it another go at stabilizing my 2x16 set in XMP, which was throwing errors in Prime. I actually managed that by adding 0.010 offset to CPU vcore, setting Mem Controller at 1.23 and, what surprised me, lowering the VDDQ and VDD to 1.28 from 1.30 that came with SPD. Been running Prime95 for couple hours now, no errors.

  4. #64
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    202
    Posts
    2,635

    Quote Originally Posted by Ambidexter View Post
    I want to get 64+GB. I have a Maximus Z690 Hero (with the OK capacitor!).

    Quick question:

    Does "combining kits" mean if I get a DDR5 16GB x 2 at 6000MHz kit, and I have that working at 6000 (at least most of the time!), that I should sell those and need to get a 4 x 16GB or 2 X 64GB kit and not have 2 "of the same" kit?

    Variation on the same question: If I wanted 64G but nobody sold 6000MHz kits in 2 x 32G sticks or 4 x 16G could /should I have gotten 2 x the 1x32 or 2x16 kits?

    Thanks,

    Ambi

    Combining kits means exactly that, putting two kits into the same system. Memory kits are binned in the density in which they are sold in, as soon as you combine them, you greatly reduce your chances of getting them to run at their advertised speed.

    Moreover, 4x16 6000MT isn't possible on this platform.

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    321

    Quote Originally Posted by Ambidexter View Post
    I want to get 64+GB. I have a Maximus Z690 Hero (with the OK capacitor!).

    Quick question:

    Does "combining kits" mean if I get a DDR5 16GB x 2 at 6000MHz kit, and I have that working at 6000 (at least most of the time!), that I should sell those and need to get a 4 x 16GB or 2 X 64GB kit and not have 2 "of the same" kit?

    Variation on the same question: If I wanted 64G but nobody sold 6000MHz kits in 2 x 32G sticks or 4 x 16G could /should I have gotten 2 x the 1x32 or 2x16 kits?

    Thanks,

    Ambi
    I would recommend going with the Kingston DDR5 4800MHz 2x32GB kit: https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KF548C38BBK2-64.pdf

    You want to buy a kit when you buy memory, if you plan on running more than one DIMM/Module.

    The kit will have IC's from same manufacture assembly line run, thus all modules in kit will have IC's that match for 100% compatibility.

    Kingston's SMT lines: https://youtu.be/3s7KG6QwUeQ
    Last edited by Braegnok; 05-06-2022 at 02:32 PM.

  6. #66
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Just to update my case - still getting errors with 6k XMP. No combination of voltage could make it stable at XMP. I gave up, down clocked it to 5800 which is error free and gonna get rid of the board in favor of other brands.

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •