Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    G533QS Powers on, keyboard backlit, fans running, no screen or ssd indicator.

    Hi folks. My not even 8 month old laptop is no longer booting up and I'm hoping someone can help. I was watching Netflix and the laptop just shut down, right to black. When I tried to turn it back on, it wouldn't boot at all. The screen remains black, the keyboard lights up, the power, battery, and the 4th indicator light(airplane mode I think) light up, but no ssd activity. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,486

    Try connecting to a TV or external monitor to see if there is any output. That's an easy first step.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Try connecting to a TV or external monitor to see if there is any output. That's an easy first step.
    Thank you, I tried that, on a couple different monitors and TVs. Nothing. I took out the RAM, I took out the SSDs, I unplugged the battery and tried with and without the power plugged in. Still reacts the same. No post and not sure what else to do lol....this sucks.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,486

    Without any diagnostic output it's going to be hard to pin down. The good news is that if you purchased it 8 months ago you should still have a warranty. So revert whatever you can to stock and set up an RMA with ASUS support.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I was definitely hoping to avoid that route, but I'm thinking the mobo is fried. Not much I can do here. Thank you

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    2,307

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike933 View Post
    I was definitely hoping to avoid that route, but I'm thinking the mobo is fried. Not much I can do here. Thank you
    Doesn't always help, but try holding the power button for 40 seconds to try to clear the CMOS settings and test again.
    Not sure if the AC adapter should be connected, so you may want to try it both ways.

    Edit: Found an FAQ below which mentions a couple other notebook models need to plug in the AC adapter when you try this although it appears to be for when you are getting no power light.

    https://www.asus.com/US/support/FAQ/1014276/

    Just don't want that to be the problem if you send it back for repair, so worth a try.

    ===============

    You will need RAM installed to get a display, but if you upgraded or replaced the memory, try the original memory if still available or try just one stick of memory at a time if you have two installed.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by cl-Albert@ROG; 12-29-2021 at 02:10 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •