Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    G74sx Diablo 3 low fps?

    Hey all... ive been trying to get some help on an issue over at the d3 forums. No luck, thought id try out where people know most about my pc probably lol. So heres the scoop, i came across a beta key and to my surprise... im not too impressed with the fps i am getting in d3? Using fraps, i get an average of 44, with highest being 56 and lowest being 12! I have tried throttle stop turned on on game mode, v sync off... and what seems to be just about everything and nothing seems to improve it... is this just the best it runs? All my drivers are up to date, if anyone has any tips id be willing to try, let me know!

    thanks, Mike.
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hi dude,
    i'm an asus retailer in belgium, i've tried a lot of Gamer laptop on d3 beta and it seems that is not really good optimized yet for Notebook...
    this is my personal opinion... D3 is really hard to make run smoothly on a lot of computer.

    G51Jx is not running the game correctly , g73 have trouble with it too and for a reason that i ignore ,
    on a i7 920 p6t deluxe v2 + gtx 560ti oc game is laggy as hell only when i use skill ...

    Anyone got trouble too like mbuxx and i ?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I'm going to try a clean install of windows with no bloat ware . Hopefully this helps a little. There's no reason these machines shouldn't be able to run d3 maxed out. I have also heard it is not completely optimized , maybe this is simple the case. However my brother runs it at 60 fps constant not even a flicker on his desktop
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    just curious, there seems to have been a lot of controversy about the gtx 560m 3gb model. Is there actually 3 gb of dedicated memory on the GPU? Whenever i have a system scan tool it only shows up as 719 mb which kind of concerns me.
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by mbuxx View Post
    just curious, there seems to have been a lot of controversy about the gtx 560m 3gb model. Is there actually 3 gb of dedicated memory on the GPU? Whenever i have a system scan tool it only shows up as 719 mb which kind of concerns me.
    According to dxdiag.exe mine has 3gb. What is telling you yours has only 719 mb?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Blizzards software that scans your computer to collect info for beta
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Probably not the best way to get an accurate scan.

    You should use GPU-Z at least if you want to get the low down on your video card. Or even dxdiag.exe that is already on your laptop and you can run it from the start menu search bar.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Oh haha I know thanks man. Was just curious why some scanners pick up this info
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Still trying to fix op. have done clean install of windows and clean install of gpu drivers. Still have to update my bios though I will try that to tonight
    G74Sx-DH71
    i7 2670 QM
    12 GB RAM
    GTX 560m 3GB
    2x 750 gb HD
    Throttlestop bios mod 203

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    If D3 is anything like WoW or SC2, it's highly likely this will be very much processor dependent just as much as GPU, thus being affected by the CPU throttling that takes place around 75degrees

    Check out the other threads on here (Notebooks - stickied/sub-forum) about working around the CPU throttle using ThrottleStop 4.1, or go for the modded BIOS route after you've read up about it.

    I'm very interested in your results considering I have a G74SX on it's way just for Diablo 3. I plan to run the custom BIOS and then a clean WIN7 install, followed by the new Asus GPU drivers that just hit.

    ___

    EDIT: Read through this entire thread before you decide what to do: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    ...and check out this Youtube vid of throttling in action, before and after the ThrottleStop fix: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JdRUHHn0UM

    It's funny how all affected games seem to drop to 12fps. I see a pattern.
    Last edited by dataDave; 04-13-2012 at 05:30 PM.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •