Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Drejacks PC Specs
    Drejacks PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Apex Z690
    Processori9-12900K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z5 DDR5 F5-6000U3636E16GA2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW 3090
    MonitorROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseO11 XL Dynaminc
    Power SupplyROG Thor 850
    Keyboard ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ROG Swift PG32UQ Unable to Access BIOS

    Hey everyone, new to the forum. Recently just built a rig with Maximus Apex Z690 i9-12900k and I am using a ROG Swift PG32UQ for the monitor.
    My issue is that it is impossible to access the BIOS due to the time the monitor takes to initialize. I have disabled fast boot and allowed my USB hub to stay awake. I have tried using a wireless and wired keyboard and still cannot see the Asus logo where the window of opportunity lies to hit "Del" or "F2"... it goes directly to the Windows logon screen when restarted or when powering on from being shutdown.
    I have the latest BIOS for the MOBO and firmware version 0204 for the monitor.

    If I switch to a generic HP monitor I am able to see the Asus logo and hit the "Del" keys and thus access the bios, but not on the ROG Swift PG32UQ.

    Any feedback or help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,615

    You don't need to see the logo for it to work. Just start pressing the key repeatedly and once you get a picture you will be in the BIOS.

    If you are getting no picture at all make sure you test with the same port and display cable you used with the HP monitor as something else could be going on.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Drejacks PC Specs
    Drejacks PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Apex Z690
    Processori9-12900K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z5 DDR5 F5-6000U3636E16GA2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW 3090
    MonitorROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseO11 XL Dynaminc
    Power SupplyROG Thor 850
    Keyboard ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    You don't need to see the logo for it to work. Just start pressing the key repeatedly and once you get a picture you will be in the BIOS.

    If you are getting no picture at all make sure you test with the same port and display cable you used with the HP monitor as something else could be going on.
    The issue is if I start to do it as soon as the PC is awake or powered on, the monitor will keep cycling through off and on repeatedly until I force the PC to shut down.
    I have tried the same port (the only one HDMI for the Graphics card). The same issue persists.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,615

    That sounds like more of an issue than just a delay in initialization. Typically the trick I mentioned works just fine when POST is faster than the monitor. So I feel like there is an actual conflict between the UEFI BIOS on that board and that monitor. Z690 is new so it's possible this may be addressed in a future BIOS update but for now I think you just have to use the other monitor to make configuration changes.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Drejacks PC Specs
    Drejacks PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Apex Z690
    Processori9-12900K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z5 DDR5 F5-6000U3636E16GA2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW 3090
    MonitorROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseO11 XL Dynaminc
    Power SupplyROG Thor 850
    Keyboard ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    That sounds like more of an issue than just a delay in initialization. Typically the trick I mentioned works just fine when POST is faster than the monitor. So I feel like there is an actual conflict between the UEFI BIOS on that board and that monitor. Z690 is new so it's possible this may be addressed in a future BIOS update but for now I think you just have to use the other monitor to make configuration changes.
    Yea that's the way it is looking. It is just a hassle when I need to go into the bios that I have to use another monitor. The price point that this monitor lies at I would hope not to have to deal with extra nuances. Hopefully, this will be fixed soon if the issue is related to a bug/conflict between the two.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Ecmslee PC Specs
    Ecmslee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32 GB F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 10 GB FTW3 ULTRA GAMING
    Sound CardJDS Labs Element II
    MonitorPG348Q, PG32UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 6 TB 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i RGB PLATINUM
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeaSonic PRIME TX 1000W

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    37

    Can you use the Advanced Restart Options in Windows to get into your UEFI? Hold Shift and click restart on the Start Menu. Then go Troubleshoot > Advanced Options > UEFI Firmware.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Drejacks PC Specs
    Drejacks PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Apex Z690
    Processori9-12900K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z5 DDR5 F5-6000U3636E16GA2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW 3090
    MonitorROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung Pro 2TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseO11 XL Dynaminc
    Power SupplyROG Thor 850
    Keyboard ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Ecmslee View Post
    Can you use the Advanced Restart Options in Windows to get into your UEFI? Hold Shift and click restart on the Start Menu. Then go Troubleshoot > Advanced Options > UEFI Firmware.
    If I try to use the Advanced Restart Options through Windows, it will never enter the BIOS. The monitor will just cycle through on and off endlessly.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array darkcg PC Specs
    darkcg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 13900K
    Memory (part number)64GB (4x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR5 5.200Mhz (SKU: CMT32GX5M2B5200C38))
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Geforce RTX 4090 AMP Extreme AIRO
    Graphics Card #2Intel UHD Graphics 770 (Core i9 13900K)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #12 x Samsung 980 PRO NVMe M.2 SSD 2TB PCI Express Gen.4 (4TB Total)
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO mSATA SSD 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i Elite LCD
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000 (1000W)
    Keyboard Asus ROG Falchion
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset Sennheiser RS-170
    OS Microsoft Windows 11 Pro, Fedora 36 Workstation, Rocky Linux 9.0

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    40

    This problem is also plaguing me. I've updated the card vbios for display port (from nvidia) but the DP seems to be a dead option for me.
    I partially solved using the HDMI cable, but the monitor seems to be very slow in capturing inputs.

    In some monitors I see there is an option for "fast boot", is there something similari in Asus monitors?

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,615

    All,

    Just wanted to post here and let you know ASUS is aware. Haven't heard anything other than that at this point.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array darkcg PC Specs
    darkcg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 13900K
    Memory (part number)64GB (4x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR5 5.200Mhz (SKU: CMT32GX5M2B5200C38))
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Geforce RTX 4090 AMP Extreme AIRO
    Graphics Card #2Intel UHD Graphics 770 (Core i9 13900K)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #12 x Samsung 980 PRO NVMe M.2 SSD 2TB PCI Express Gen.4 (4TB Total)
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO mSATA SSD 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i Elite LCD
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000 (1000W)
    Keyboard Asus ROG Falchion
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset Sennheiser RS-170
    OS Microsoft Windows 11 Pro, Fedora 36 Workstation, Rocky Linux 9.0

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    All,

    Just wanted to post here and let you know ASUS is aware. Haven't heard anything other than that at this point.
    Thank you Xeromist for the effort and the update, it's comforting at least we're not abandoned and alone on this issue.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •