Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    MAXIMUS X Formula – Any possibility to use 128 GB DDR4 RAM?

    Are there any slim chances that I can buy a 128 GB DDR4 RAM and use in my MAXIMUS X Formula motherboard ...?

    Motherboard: Asus ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA ATX LGA1151
    CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K 3.7 GHz 6-Core

    The RAM I'd like to use is something like the G.Skill Trident Z RGB 128 GB (4 x 32 GB) DDR4-4000 CL18 or at least the G.Skill Ripjaws V 128 GB (4 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 (but any brand would do).

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    188

    I have never tried but just knowing what i know from 390 2x16 and 4x16. I would be suprised if 370 can run 4x32. Even 2x32 isnt on the gskill compatibilty list. Maybe it works but that is a lot of memory for those older gens from what i know.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    lot of memory for those older gens from what i know.
    Just so I understand... Old, already? I mean, I was under the assumption that, at least in the same segment of motherboards, this one which I bought new 2019 would be future proof for at least three years onwards. Like, staying in the forefront in terms of capacity for at least a few years. Sure, there were probably better and more workstation-oriented ones out there, but regardless, this unit was relatively pricey and according to some people, somewhat overkill (subjectively speaking). What I'm trying to process here, is how 3 years can render it outdated to such a degree that it won't even support the upper range of available RAM configurations ... it kinda baffles me, that's all. Especially since there's cheaper ones today, allowing 128 GB, but this one's too old-gen already. Holy moly :-)

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by hced_yep View Post
    Are there any slim chances that I can buy a 128 GB DDR4 RAM and use in my MAXIMUS X Formula motherboard ...?
    The good news is that 128GB support was added more than a year ago, starting with BIOS v2503:

    ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA BIOS 2503
    2020/11/03 10.43 MBytes
    "1. Improve system performance.
    2. Support Max DRAM Total Capacity up to 128 GB.

    The bad news is that it's up to you to find compatible modules/timings, because the QVL hasn't been updated since late 2018.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    188

    z370 was first released in 2017 so yeah it considered older. Going on 4+ years. When you bought it in 2019 it was already a generation old and the z390 was out.

    You might get 128gb working but at 4000 or 3600mhz. I doubt. Maybe 2133 to 2666 would be my guess. If you can get 3200mhz 128gb I would be surprised. I could be totally off I just going by what i know and have seen with the z370, z390, z490 etc.
    Last edited by bscool; 12-29-2021 at 10:25 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by dingo99 View Post
    The good news is that 128GB support was added more than a year ago, starting with BIOS v2503:
    ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA BIOS 2503
    2020/11/03 10.43 MBytes
    "1. Improve system performance.
    2. Support Max DRAM Total Capacity up to 128 GB.

    The bad news is that it's up to you to find compatible modules/timings, because the QVL hasn't been updated since late 2018.
    Wow, that was ... good news. Thanks. But man ... what to do. Looking at the QVL, there's actually 128 GB DIMMs listed. HOWEVER, those are 8x kits. How did they plan those to fit in?!? The board only has 4 slots. Right now I don't know what to do and time is of essence as I've got a 3D project (uni. exam) to finish and Maya crashes like mad with my current low-spec RAM (16 GB on i7 8700k/1080ti 11GB).
    Last edited by hced_yep; 12-29-2021 at 11:55 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    60

    Yes, it's strange that ASUS has 8x kits on their list. Your best option might be to go by the RAM maker's QVL instead of the one from ASUS. For example: https://www.gskill.com/configurator However, it will be difficult to find 128GB qualified on Z370, because support was added so long after release.

    The next closest option would be Z390, which is still Coffee Lake. In that case, the 3600 kit you linked above was validated with the XI Formula, so there's a reasonable chance it could work on the X Formula with updated BIOS. Of course, it's hard to predict whether or not you could actually run that kit at full XMP timings, but it should at least work at its default 2666.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •