Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Question Another Board Another failed XMP Profile ASUS Z690 wifi gaming e (ddr5)-

    So my issue is simply that my ASUS Z690 wifi gaming e board will not boot on any XMP profile. It will not run on any of the other provided JDEC options either. The only way I can get a boot on it is to turn off XMP and set the ram speed to auto. That boots up the computer propertly, but it locks in my memory at 4000mghz and thats all I can get. Pretty frustrating when you spend all this extra money on a board with so many features and a high spec DDR5 (at the moment) ram from a reliable mfg.


    This is my memory kit.
    https://www.amazon.com/G-Skill-Tride...ps%2C79&sr=8-3

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    How many sticks do you have? I have a thread here where I have four sticks of the same RAM (mine is RGB) and I'm unable to get it working using the XMP profiles. The most recent reply says that 4x16GB at 6,000 isn't possible. I've also struggled with other settings to have it stable.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Maybe check out my thread about the DDR5 problems...

    --> I am also running a pair of the G.Skill 5600 RGB but the CL40 version. Trying to boot these below CL40 don't work. -> So what's a problem for me might just be the solution for you. Try setting the CL40 timings manually. ;-)

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Tactical Donut

    I'm experiencing the same issues on any XMP setting with Corsair Dominator DDR5 5600 Ram with my Asus Z690 Apex board. Running stock JEDEC settings are stable.

    The latest bios revision (0811) for the Apex has not resolved the issue.

    I think it is likely a BIOS issue , and unstable BSOD's from XMP settings appear to be happening across all board and memory manufacturers (even with DDR4 memory). I believe the XMP profiles are setting the wrong timings causing random and different BSODs. When I have tried to change the timings manually the board reverts and/or refuses to accept the "standard" XMP timings.

    Grateful for ASUS to weigh in on these issues. XMP is a widely accepted and adopted standard and these issues should have been resolved two months after launch.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by ShannyMan View Post
    How many sticks do you have? I have a thread here where I have four sticks of the same RAM (mine is RGB) and I'm unable to get it working using the XMP profiles. The most recent reply says that 4x16GB at 6,000 isn't possible. I've also struggled with other settings to have it stable.


    I am only using the 2 sticks that come with the kit, which is rated at 5600. Not trying anything fancy. For the price I paid for this motherboard, all I should have to do is plug in the memory, turn on the XMP profile and have a nice day.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Tactical Donut

    100% , I've been building computers for 25 years plus and never had issues related to XMP profiles. Always been set and forget.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    I had a Corsair 5200 memory game that had the same problem.
    I switched to TeamGroup 6200 and did the following:

    1) I started by loading the BIOS (811) optimized settings (default)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2022-01-13 at 17.41.56.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	18.9 KB 
ID:	91720

    2) I entered the SEARCH menu and wrote "SPD". In the options that appeared I chose "FALSE"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2022-01-13 at 17.43.07.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	20.1 KB 
ID:	91721

    3) I saved, restarted, went back to BIOS and chose these options only (no overclocking)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2022-01-13 at 17.42.15.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	22.5 KB 
ID:	91722


    As I saw that until then everything was fine, I went back to the path (item 2) and chose not to rewrite memory "TRUE". I saved it in a different profile and so far everything is fine.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    408

    Quote Originally Posted by Tactical Donut View Post
    100% , I've been building computers for 25 years plus and never had issues related to XMP profiles. Always been set and forget.
    Well I have generally always had to make tweaks to DIMM voltages to get things stable using XMP Profiles.....in some cases I have found it wont even post unless applying a little more voltage....I have been building custom gaming pc's since 2005,,,water cooled custom since 2014, I honestly cant recall when I first started utilizing XMP Profiles....

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array roadczar PC Specs
    roadczar PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z690-E Gaming WiFi 6E LGA 1700
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K - Core i9 12th Gen Alder Lake 16-Core
    Memory (part number)F5- 5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5K / F5-5600U3636C16GX2-TZ5S
    Graphics Card #1ZOTAC GAMING GeForce RTX 4090 AMP Extreme AIRO
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X4
    MonitorAlienware 38 Curved Gaming Monitor AW3821DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO SSD 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO SSD 1TB PCIe NVMe Gen 4 Gaming M.2 Internal Solid State Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow Tempered Glass Mid-Tower ATX PC Case - Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech - PRO X SUPERLIGHT
    Headset Drop + Sennheiser PC38X
    Mouse Pad Logitech G Powerplay Wireless Charging System
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterGT-AX11000

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    84

    I have the same board and using 4 sticks of 5600U3636C16GX2 without any issues day one with XMP on.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ok, so finally got it working.

    I had memory in slots 1 and 3 instead of the recommended 2 and 4.

    Switched everything over, the bios took a while to recognize things but once it did everything booted up. I am now running xmp.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •