Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array Mangonz PC Specs
    Mangonz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus z690 Extreme Glacial
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator DDR5 5200
    Graphics Card #1Geforce RTX 3080 Ti
    Sound CardROG Clavis
    MonitorASUS ROG PG35VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 870 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK Ultrablock
    CaseIn-Win D-Frame 2.0
    Power SupplyIn-Win S-III 1065W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse ROG Gladius III Wireless
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-RT70x
    OS Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterUDM Pro

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I have issues with XMP I on my Corsair Dominator 5200. If I enable XMP I, the 10GB ethernet controller disappears, RBG freezes and Animatrix doesn't work, and it crashes on wake if I leave it idle for a while.
    XMP II Is better but Ethernet controller sometimes reports 'No internet' still and crash from wake still happens quite a lot. JDEC also crashes sometimes on wake from sleep but at least the ethernet is stable. I am giving it a go with Fast Boot disabled to see if that helps but I think bios needs some work.

    That being said my Rampage V Extreme which was DDR4's first outing was always unstable with XMP, tried 2 CPUs, 4 RAM kits and 22 bios updates over 6 years. So... Hoping that isn't the case here.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array madspecv PC Specs
    madspecv PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Hero Z690
    ProcessorIntel i9 13900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill DDR 5 @ 6400
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix RTX 3080
    MonitorLG Ultragear GP850
    Storage #1WD SN850X 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150I Elite LCD
    CaseThermaltake Core P3 Pro
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Corsair K100
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V3
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso XT
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus extended
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nommo Chroma
    OS Windows 11 Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I have the same issue.

    2 x 16 GB GSKILL 6000mhz , cl40. If I use xmp 1 or 2, system is unstable , locks up, bsod and sometimes it won't even boot. With XMP off, everything is fine ( bios 1003).

    Hope they get this fixed asap. If it needs more voltage, please add some in the profiles. I know they can't test every memory kit in existence but it looks like it's like that with almost every kit.

  3. #13
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,843

    Quote Originally Posted by madspecv View Post
    I have the same issue.

    2 x 16 GB GSKILL 6000mhz , cl40. If I use xmp 1 or 2, system is unstable , locks up, bsod and sometimes it won't even boot. With XMP off, everything is fine ( bios 1003).

    Hope they get this fixed asap. If it needs more voltage, please add some in the profiles. I know they can't test every memory kit in existence but it looks like it's like that with almost every kit.
    It's really not that simple. Adding voltage merrily to every profile simply because some CPU and memory kits don't favour the set auto rules isn't any part of a validation process. This is why the values can be tuned manually.

    Some of these signal rails are sensitive to voltage. Look to MCVDD and VCCSA. These values are the most impactful and can make or break stability depending on the [combination of] CPU and memory kit, this includes applying too much voltage.

    Depending on the auto rules for both, work methodically up or down.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 01-31-2022 at 07:55 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Undertoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    106

    I’ve never seen such a poor generational launch as 12th and ddr5
    it’s crap. I myself have a pair of 16gb g.skill ddr5 sticks that are supposed to run at 6000mhz , they will boot and they do run, sometimes for half an hour other times for an hour - but they aren’t stable
    I’ve never ever had to manually tweak voyages to get an XMP profile to run, the memory has board QVL certification, I shouldn’t have to go into voltages.
    12th gen has been nothing but aggro, the first board I had was an Asus hero, it would only run fine at 811 bios, any bios over that and the gpu performance halved both in synthetic benchmarks and in games, it’s was a bloody nightmare and no one could tell me why.
    I tried the gpu, a Strix 3090oc, in two other machines and it’s perfect. But only with the 811 or 803 bios would in run properly in that hero board.
    I then bought a 12900ks and had to upgrade to the 1403 bios, so I basically had to bin a £500 hero board……*

    So I then bought an Asus extreme board and the bios is 1403 and the gpu runs as it should
    But the g.skill memory just isn’t stable unless it’s running at 4800…..ffs….
    This set is a Samsung based 6000 cl40 kit
    So now out of desperation I’ve ordered a Corsair dominator platinum 6200mhz cl32, this is a Hynix based ddr5 kit and from what I’m reading Hynix are better than Samsung at ddr5 it seems.
    It arrives next week and if it is no different than it’s a case of waiting for Asus to release a decent bios with the proper voltage settings for the qvl appraised XMP profiles they advertise
    It’s a total f up, the whole 12th gen release really with ddr5.
    I know as an early adopter it isn’t always smooth, but I shouldn’t have to spend hours tweaking voltages and problem solving just to get a stable system, that crap is supposed to be done before it’s released….
    So on Tuesday the Corsair Hynix kit will arrive and if that doesn’t work it’ll be a wait for a decent Asus bios
    I don’t honestly think I’ll buy an Asus board again now**
    Last edited by Undertoker; 05-01-2022 at 10:17 PM.
    I9 12900KS @ 5.7Ghz
    ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090 OC Edition
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z690 EXTREME EATX Motherboard
    ASUS ROG PG35VQ @ 200mhz in 3440x1440
    Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB DDR5 CL36 @ 6200mhz
    Samsung 980 EVO Pro M.2 x 3 off
    NZXT Z63 Kraken AIO CPU Cooler
    NZXT H700i + Hue 2 (Pubg Edition) - Heavily modified
    ASUS ROG THOR 1200w PSU
    Corsair M65 RGB Mouse
    Corsair K95 RGB Keyboard

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array ykeyre PC Specs
    ykeyre PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS Z690 APEX
    Processori9-12900KS SP93
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR5 5600MT CL36 CMK32GX5M2B5600C36
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Geforce RTX 3080 TI Founders Edition
    MonitorROG Swift PG329Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO 2 TB PCIe 4.0 M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 980 PRO 2 TB PCIe 4.0 M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H170i ELITE CAPELLIX
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200 1200W 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 11 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertoker View Post
    I’ve never seen such a poor generational launch as 12th and ddr5
    it’s crap. I myself have a pair of 16gb g.skill ddr5 sticks that are supposed to run at 6000mhz , they will boot and they do run, sometimes for half an hour other times for an hour - but they aren’t stable
    I’ve never ever had to manually tweak voyages to get an XMP profile to run, the memory has board QVL certification, I shouldn’t have to go into voltages.
    12th gen has been nothing but aggro, the first board I had was an Asus hero, it would only run fine at 811 bios, any bios over that and the gpu performance halved both in synthetic benchmarks and in games, it’s was a bloody nightmare and no one could tell me why.
    I tried the gpu, a Strix 3090oc, in two other machines and it’s perfect. But only with the 811 or 803 bios would in run properly in that hero board.
    I then bought a 12900ks and had to upgrade to the 1403 bios, so I basically had to bin a £500 hero board……*

    So I then bought an Asus extreme board and the bios is 1403 and the gpu runs as it should
    But the g.skill memory just isn’t stable unless it’s running at 4800…..ffs….
    This set is a Samsung based 6000 cl40 kit
    So now out of desperation I’ve ordered a Corsair dominator platinum 6200mhz cl32, this is a Hynix based ddr5 kit and from what I’m reading Hynix are better than Samsung at ddr5 it seems.
    It arrives next week and if it is no different than it’s a case of waiting for Asus to release a decent bios with the proper voltage settings for the qvl appraised XMP profiles they advertise
    It’s a total f up, the whole 12th gen release really with ddr5.
    I know as an early adopter it isn’t always smooth, but I shouldn’t have to spend hours tweaking voltages and problem solving just to get a stable system, that crap is supposed to be done before it’s released….
    So on Tuesday the Corsair Hynix kit will arrive and if that doesn’t work it’ll be a wait for a decent Asus bios
    I don’t honestly think I’ll buy an Asus board again now**
    Boycott Asus! At this point, RMA is not enough, Been through 5 Z690 boards, 4 of them Asus and unable to run XMP. The 5th one is a midtier MSI mobo and it works on the same RAM kit that is on BOTH Asus and MSI QVL list. Asus Z690 is nothing but e-waste. I will make a chargeback next and no longer recommend Asus to friends and family.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by howell View Post
    Ok, so finally got it working.

    I had memory in slots 1 and 3 instead of the recommended 2 and 4.

    Switched everything over, the bios took a while to recognize things but once it did everything booted up. I am now running xmp.
    Thank you. I've tried everything for months and as soon as I read this, I knew it would work (I checked the manual to confirm).

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •