Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Z690 Apex - Can't update Bios

    I have the following:

    Z690 Apex
    12900K
    Teamgroup 32GB DDR5 6400 CL40
    Samsung 980 Pro x2 (in Dimm.2 slots)
    HX1200 Platinum

    I can't seem to update my bios beyond Version 0231 (the first bios release). I've tried the following:

    1) Clear CMOS
    2) Bios Flashback
    3) Flash Bios through the UI (if on 0231)

    It just keeps scrolling through the Q-codes over and over and never shows me a bios.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by rgarodnick; 01-13-2022 at 12:18 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    408

    Try switching to other BIOS n give it a go.

    I always flash the bios with a thumb drive and the flashback USB port on the Board, never in UEFI (if thats what your trying).

    Remember you have 2 separate BIOS to play with.

    Also, always good to go into the BIOS and set optimized defaults, then complete shut down, switch off power to the Board, re-power board and then proceed with the flash.
    Some guys also throw in the step of clearing CMOS after setting to optimized defaults but I never do this step.

    Insert thumb drive into the correct USB port, push n hold bios flashback button until it starts to flash, then release and let it do its thing. Once it stops flashing the process is complete.
    Remove the thumb drive and start your pc.....you may see a black screen indication that your BIOS is preparing itself, dont touch anything at this point.
    You will eventually get to your post screen and then Windows.

    Was your thumb drive properly formatted with only the Apex0811.cap file on it?

    Ensure to rename the file to .cap and no other files on the thumb drive.

    I just flashed my BIOS on my Apex from 0231 (original) to 0811 with no issues.

    I left the original BIOS version (0231) on the other BIOS....once a newer BIOS comes out I'll leave my working 0811 and flash the original 0213 to the newer one (I pretty much do this cycle throughout, always leave one BIOS to a proven good working one).
    Last edited by rjbarker; 01-13-2022 at 05:36 AM.

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,711

    Quote Originally Posted by rgarodnick View Post
    I have the following:

    Z690 Apex
    12900K
    Teamgroup 32GB DDR5 6400 CL40
    Samsung 980 Pro x2 (in Dimm.2 slots)
    HX1200 Platinum

    I can't seem to update my bios beyond Version 0231 (the first bios release). I've tried the following:

    1) Clear CMOS
    2) Bios Flashback
    3) Flash Bios through the UI (if on 0231)

    It just keeps scrolling through the Q-codes over and over and never shows me a bios.

    Any ideas?

    Hello,

    so what happens exactly, does it get stuck on a Q-Code when updating? What happens when you use EZ Flash from the UEFI? Once the UEFI has completed pre-checks, the system should reboot once or twice.

    Make sure to leave it for 10 minutes before attempting to intervene. Try unplugging any unnecessary devices.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I've cleared CMOS, and set optimized defaults prior to flashing. I've also flashed using bios flashback multiple tries, and can only get it to POST if on 0231.

    It goes through the entire BIOS update as normal...everything seems to appear to be fine, both with BIOS flashback and with the flash utility in the BIOS. They all say (or indicate) success. But, after updating, the Q-Code goes through it's normal checks, but I never get the ASUS Splash nor POST screen, and can't ever get into BIOS...it just cycles over and over (starting with 00). It's as if I'm holding the reset button down.

    I left it for an hour and it was still cycling.

    I also tried on the 2nd BIOS and it has the same behavior.

    I took a short video of the Q-Code output after I flash any non-0231 BIOS:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLRlx2Xd1K8
    Last edited by rgarodnick; 01-13-2022 at 01:04 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    408

    Try taking out 1 stick of RAM, leave one stick in and try booting on the new BIOS.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
    Try taking out 1 stick of RAM, leave one stick in and try booting on the new BIOS.
    Yep, I had the same thought and tried that with both sticks (one at a time) in either slot. no joy.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,714

    Hi rgarodnick,
    Are you able to downgrade to 0231 via USB BIOS Flashback for normal usage?
    Is your RAM FF3D532G6400HC40BDC01 or FF4D532G6400HC40BDC01?
    Have you tried bios 0702, 0806 and 0811, and all of them are the same result?
    Thank you.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    My ram is FF3D532G6400HC40BDC01 which is on the QVL.

    I am able to return to version 0231 via bios flashback successfully, however I cannot POST with any other BIOS version. I have tried 0702 0806 and 0811.

    I got a strange response from Asus technical support regarding my issue:

    "It appears that the version 0231 is only bios version that is compatible with the system components that you have based on your Feed Back Form.


    If you update to a new bios version, Please send the product to our repair facility which is the RMA."

  9. #9
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,714

    Hi rgarodnick,
    Thank you for your reply.
    It is weird but I haven't received such feedback from other customers.
    Please send the motherboard to our RMA for further examination.
    Thank you.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I have returned the board to my retailer and purchased a new one . It is working fine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •