Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy ROG Crosshair VIII Formula AMD X570 Water Temp In Sensor spikes

    Hello

    im using a Barrow Water Temp Sensor to control my pump speed. Usually im used to have 30 degree water temp but sometimes (does not matter if load or idle)
    water temp peaks to 128 degree (not always 128, it is also peaking to 120, 100, 90 or whateever. But always the same wihtin one cycle). The curve is like 30 - 128 - 30 - 128 - 30 - 128 - 30 - 128 for some seconds and after it remains on 30 for several minutes.

    Here is a screenshot of icue. The last peak was 215 degree
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-01-15 190228.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	4.9 KB 
ID:	91751

    Anyone else had this problem before or is there a know fix for this issue ?

    Best Regards
    Tobi

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,239

    Hi Xetoxyc,
    Did it occur recently or after the first PC build?
    Have you tried other Barrow Water Temp Sensor?
    Do you have the same pattern with other software for temperature monitor?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by STARRAIN@ROG; 01-17-2022 at 05:46 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It occured immediatly after installing the temp sensor.

    Sadly I do not have another Temp sensor yet.

    Every software show the same temp spikes, AIDA, HWMon, ICue, ...

    Pump speed is controlled by bios itself and the behaviour of the pump is exactly what you see with temps.
    Pump is silent, goes loud, goes silent, goes loud, goes silent.

    Water Out Temp is not connected its stable at 216 degree

    99% of the time the temperature is correctly, i dont know why it should be a sensor related problem then as it should show stable wrong values if its a sensor problem
    Last edited by Xetoxyc; 01-17-2022 at 06:51 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,239

    Hi Xetoxyc,
    Do you connect the Barrow Water Temp Sensor to the W_IN, W_OUT and W_FLOW?
    Is the Barrow Water Temp Sensor attached with your water cooler system? May I have the model name of the water cooler system?
    Please reapply thermal paste attach the cooler to the CPU.
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    System is a self built hardloop.

    it is attached to W_IN as it is directly placed under the pump (Water IN).
    W_OUTshould be placed on the outlet (loop to reservoir)
    W_FLOW there is no water flow sensor connected yet.

    There are 2 liters of water inside the system, water temp wont peak that way...

    Also there is no reason reapply thermal paste as its not a problem with cpu/gpu or whatever but with the sensor itself / reading state of the motherboard. Is it usual for the mainboard to read 216 degree W_OUT if there is no sensor connected ?

    I will try to get a different sensor and test with it. Maybe its a problem related to the sensor which should be unusual.

    Today i had some strange behaviour of temps in HWMonitor which leads me to the conclusion i have to be a mainboard related problem.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-01-18 132650.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	32.4 KB 
ID:	91785

    the W_OUT behaviour is strange too, but there is no sensor connected. Also the min temp of 3 degree is not possible at all
    Last edited by Xetoxyc; 01-18-2022 at 12:29 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,239

    Hi Xetoxyc,
    I'm not sure if it is because of the compatibility between the motherboard and the third party sensor.
    There is fewer user in this board. Would you mind I move this thread to other board for further discussion? Maybe other user can share their experience.
    If you need my help, you can inform me via PM.
    Thank you.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Would be great if you can move it.

    Maybe there is a solution for this problem

  8. #8
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,239

    Hi Xetoxyc,
    Thank you for your reply.
    I've moved this to AMD 400 & 500 Series Motherboards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •