Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array cablebox PC Specs
    cablebox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 GA503QR
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident-Z
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 3090 Trinity
    Graphics Card #2Gainward RTX 2080Ti PHOENIX
    Sound CardCreative E-MU 1616M PCIE
    MonitorLG 32UL950-W
    Storage #1Intel Optane SSD 900P 480G
    Storage #2Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    CPU CoolerASUS RYUJIN 360
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL ROG Certified
    Power SupplyAntec HCP1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Cherry G80-3494
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G PowerPlay
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterASUS RT-AX89X

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    High CPU usage by LightingService.exe

    It seems to be a long existed issue since Aura software.

    When Aura Sync light effect is set to anything except the constant effect (even if the motherboard is the only Aura device), the LightingService.exe will always occupy two CPU threads at 70%~90% usage.

    As soon as this LightingService.exe thread was kill, or the light effect has been set to constant effect or turned off, the CPU usage occupied by LightingService.exe will drop to 0%.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	166.6 KB 
ID:	91774

    As a result, there are two CPU cores will hit 55°c at idle even in winter with a 360mm AIO cooler, and almost 60°c in summer, not to mention that there will be absolutely performance impact.

    I understand that the light effect requires some CPU resources to calculate, but it's still ridiculous to occupy almost all two threads resources on a 4.5GHz 7980XE.

    Is there any workaround for this issue?
    Last edited by cablebox; 01-17-2022 at 10:56 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    220

    Hi 7980XE owner here...

    ..not really for your problem: but i delid my cpu

    with aida64 stresstest 1 1/2 hours the two hotest core were at 86 degrees,
    after delid it was only at 59 degrees - thats 27 degrees less - that was in summer with 30 degrees room temperature.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Nonny PC Specs
    Nonny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extrem ENCORE Bios:1004
    Processorintel i9-10900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 (64 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1060 6 GB
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorSamsung Ultrawide 34" + Asus MX279 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung ST2000DM01
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i 360mm Liquid CPU Cooler
    Case011 Dynamic XL black
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster Silend Pro 850W
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 + ROG Spatha (gaming)
    Headset Razer Tiamant 7.1 Analog
    Mouse Pad ROCCAT Hiro
    Headset/Speakers F&D No.: 6000U
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer AC8
    Accessory #1 3D Conexion - 3d Space mouse Eterprice Edition
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos 5m Pro Wireless
    Accessory #3 Logitech BRIO

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    106

    Hello ,
    I had a simular problem , not the same but it looks like it could be somhowe the same , in my case was that the LightingService.exe didnt work well with the corsair icue serviice .... , there was a little tutorial to make the icue service dominant and lightingservice depending on icue , the resold was that icue start first and when the service is startet then lighting starts secound , this fixes my problem , i have AIO Capellix 360 , if you have also this type of AIO maybe this could be also the problem what i had ... IF you have maybe the Corsair AIO then maybe this tutorial could help : https://forum.corsair.com/forums/top...ura-conflicts/
    Greetings

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array cablebox PC Specs
    cablebox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 GA503QR
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident-Z
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 3090 Trinity
    Graphics Card #2Gainward RTX 2080Ti PHOENIX
    Sound CardCreative E-MU 1616M PCIE
    MonitorLG 32UL950-W
    Storage #1Intel Optane SSD 900P 480G
    Storage #2Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    CPU CoolerASUS RYUJIN 360
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL ROG Certified
    Power SupplyAntec HCP1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Cherry G80-3494
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G PowerPlay
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterASUS RT-AX89X

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Mappi75 View Post
    Hi 7980XE owner here...

    ..not really for your problem: but i delid my cpu

    with aida64 stresstest 1 1/2 hours the two hotest core were at 86 degrees,
    after delid it was only at 59 degrees - thats 27 degrees less - that was in summer with 30 degrees room temperature.
    It was a delid one already.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array cablebox PC Specs
    cablebox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG Zephyrus G15 GA503QR
    MotherboardASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident-Z
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 3090 Trinity
    Graphics Card #2Gainward RTX 2080Ti PHOENIX
    Sound CardCreative E-MU 1616M PCIE
    MonitorLG 32UL950-W
    Storage #1Intel Optane SSD 900P 480G
    Storage #2Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    CPU CoolerASUS RYUJIN 360
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL ROG Certified
    Power SupplyAntec HCP1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Cherry G80-3494
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G PowerPlay
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterASUS RT-AX89X

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Nonny View Post
    Hello ,
    I had a simular problem , not the same but it looks like it could be somhowe the same , in my case was that the LightingService.exe didnt work well with the corsair icue serviice .... , there was a little tutorial to make the icue service dominant and lightingservice depending on icue , the resold was that icue start first and when the service is startet then lighting starts secound , this fixes my problem , i have AIO Capellix 360 , if you have also this type of AIO maybe this could be also the problem what i had ... IF you have maybe the Corsair AIO then maybe this tutorial could help : https://forum.corsair.com/forums/top...ura-conflicts/
    Greetings
    Thanks for your reply. But the only light control software in my PC is the Armoury Crate. I use ROG Ryujin 360 AIO cooler, G-Skill Trident Z RGB controlled by Aura.

    The problem existed since the first day I had my RVIE mb.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Nonny PC Specs
    Nonny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extrem ENCORE Bios:1004
    Processorintel i9-10900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 (64 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1060 6 GB
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorSamsung Ultrawide 34" + Asus MX279 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung ST2000DM01
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i 360mm Liquid CPU Cooler
    Case011 Dynamic XL black
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster Silend Pro 850W
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 + ROG Spatha (gaming)
    Headset Razer Tiamant 7.1 Analog
    Mouse Pad ROCCAT Hiro
    Headset/Speakers F&D No.: 6000U
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer AC8
    Accessory #1 3D Conexion - 3d Space mouse Eterprice Edition
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos 5m Pro Wireless
    Accessory #3 Logitech BRIO

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    106

    Hello cablebox,

    sorry to answer so late , and that i cant help here , ok in this case i dont know , but it sounds like there are some background services biting each other , but if all is from asus the software shold work well together , maybe ist a securety software what causes this problem .
    like i say i belive there are some services in the background at war , maybe try to disable for exaple the antivirus software Temporarly , just to see how the system reacts , if its good then , put the lightnigservice.exe in the antivirus exclude list , so the antivirus leave this service untouched.
    if this not help next would be firewall , this programms have also a system control part , and should have also a exclude list.
    I would disconect the internet when testing with securety software , just in case you never know .

    maybe this can help to find the guity program or service what causes the problem
    With friendly greetings
    Nonny

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •