Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Router Parental controls/Time scheduling can be bypassed by simply changing IP?

    Hi All,

    Can someone please explain why the parental controls can be bypassed by simply changing the IP on the device?

    Is this expected as it makes the time scheduling control pretty useless.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,400

    If the device is unsecured (the user has administrative access) then you've already lost the battle. Blocking by MAC address isn't much better because an administrator can easily change that as well.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    You don't need administrative access (which does not exists anyway) on an iphone or ipad.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,360

    Hi marty99,
    Do you setup time scheduling via IP but not MAC address?
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1008720/
    May I have the model name, firmware version and setting screenshots of your router?
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Sure. Thanks for coming back to me.

    I can only select the devices from the drop down lost as per your help article. There is no option to apply by MAC or IP.

    Model: RT-AC88U
    Firmware: 3.0.0.4.386.45987

    Sorry, but it is not allowing me to upload a screenshot. There is no OK button after selecting the JPG.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	132.5 KB 
ID:	91909

  7. #7
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,360

    Hi marty99,
    The setting in the screenshot is MAC address.
    May I know how to change the IP on the device to bypass time scheduling?
    Do the 4 devices in the screenshot bypass time scheduling? via LAN or wifi?
    Is the randomized MAC enabled in those devices can bypass time scheduling?
    Thank you.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    They are all connected on Wifi but same bypass through a different IP can be applied to a LAN connected device.
    I have MAC whitelisting enabled on the router so randomized MAC address cannot be used to access Wifi.

    You are asking how to change IP on an iphone? You simply go into the wifi settings and apply an IP address manually from the same subnet. Is this what you were after?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,360

    Hi marty99,
    Please update to 3.0.0.4.386.46065 and reset the router once.
    If it still occurs, please let me know.
    Thank you.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •