Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    $40,000 Work station - Request ASUS to help complete it.

    Hello Team ASUS,

    I am writing here to obtain help about a system I am building as the replies to the customer support are polite but slow, each reply is taking days and
    it is not reaching the level of support that is needed for this project.

    my existing number is: U2201001056-0002

    The reason why I am trying to get this resolved is because I purchased this board a number of months ago, and due to covid and delays with the global shipping crisis
    i have lost over 4-5 months of warranty time as I have just started putting the work station together - which is not my fault and is not fair if I run out of warranty.

    Components
    ================================================== ================================================== ===========
    Mobo:
    Manufacture: ASUS
    Model: WRX80
    Link: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Co...-SAGE-SE-WIFI/

    Ram:
    Manufacture: KINGSTON
    Model: KSM32RD4/64HAR
    Link: https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KSM32RD4_64HAR.pdf

    Processor:
    Manufacture: AMD
    Model: 3995WX
    Link: https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/...per-pro-3995wx

    Video Card:
    Manufacture: ASUS
    Model: ASUS EKWB GeForce RTX 3090
    Link: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Co...TX3090-24G-EK/

    Hard Drive:
    Manufacture: SAMSUNG
    Model: 980 PRO PCle 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD
    Link: https://www.samsung.com/au/memory-st...b-mz-v8p1t0bw/

    PCIE Expansion card
    Hard Drive:
    Manufacture: ICYDOCK
    Model: MB840M2P-B
    Link: https://www.icydock.com/goods.php?id=309

    Story
    ================================================== ================================================== ===========

    I am putting together the above system with water cooling.

    * The bios has been updated to the latest version - version number: v1701 x64
    * The nvme is detected by the bios - this has been tested as 'installed on the motherboard, m.2 slot' or 'installed on the PCIE expansion card' independently installed testing.
    * only 1 nvme drive is installed at a time, in one position or the other for testing purposes (as above bullet point)
    * The nvme drive installs and runs windows 10 WHEN inserted directly to the motherboard (no issues) - and appears to be working correctly
    * The nvme drive does not install or run windows when the nvme is inserted to the PCIE expansion card
    * I would like to be able to install and boot to the PCIE nvme ssd <--------------this is the most important point of this whole thread
    * the motherboard freezes and goes into F3 bios code mode at different/random times.



    Worthy notes
    ================================================== ================================================== ===========
    * the keyboard is randomly detected when the pcie expansion card is installed - but when pulled out of the usb port and reinserted, it is detected.
    * when installing the cpu - i could NOT get the screws to click as per instructions and tightened the cpu fairly tight but did not want to crack the $9,000 CPU
    * the board freezes and goes into F3 bios code when i turn on CSM mode in the bios



    Questions to ASUS:
    ================================================== ================================================== ===========
    1.) Can i install and/or boot to PCIE nvme ssd drive? (has anyone else done this)
    2.) What could be the possible reasons for the cpu screws not "clicking" when being installed?
    3.) I would like to speak with the bios people in relation to this, as pcie nvme seem like the future
    4.) Is there anything else from the ASUS team that could help.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,248

    Hi pwpau,
    May I double confirm the bios version is 0701 or 1701?
    Do you mean cannot see the SSD in boot menu to install win10 when the nvme is inserted to the PCIE expansion card? or there is any error message while install win10? or cannot boot into windows after install win10?
    How do you install win10? May I have a video about the procedure?
    Which slot do you install the expansion card?
    Does it freeze, get qcode F3 and no boot with bios all default settings except CSM mode enabled in the bios? or does it freeze when running the specific apps in windows?
    Could you please help to record a video about the cpu screws not "clicking" when being installed?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by STARRAIN@ROG; 01-24-2022 at 08:13 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Thank you for your quick reply.

    Below are some images to help you get a visual reference of what is the current situation


    Layout of the components - https://i.postimg.cc/MTddhygg/P-20220111-130507.jpg
    Bios version number - https://i.postimg.cc/cLCZjm2G/P-20220110-171220.jpg
    F3 board message - https://i.postimg.cc/Vs2V1FJc/P-20220111-130712.jpg
    NVME is seen - https://i.postimg.cc/vHmpHmzW/P-20220110-172633.jpg
    NVME details - https://i.postimg.cc/6qDZ43DM/P-20220124-183406.jpg
    Boot order - https://i.postimg.cc/C15nvk0v/P-20220124-183424.jpg


    To answer your questions
    ================================================== ======

    May I double confirm the bios version is 0701 or 1701?
    as per the picture - the number is - 0701
    ----------------------
    Do you mean cannot see the SSD in boot menu when the nvme is inserted to the PCIE expansion card?
    as per the picture - the nvme CAN BE seen when inserted into the PCIE. the computer just wont boot to it.
    ----------------------
    Which slot do you install the expansion card?
    PCIEX16_1
    ----------------------
    Does it freeze and get qcode F3 with bios all default settings except CSM mode enabled in the bios?
    - To the best of my knowledge YES the board did freez, before I was able to install windows 10, Before i installed the NVME directly onto the motherboard, before any changes were made to the bios
    forums suggested i turn on CSM, and the board froze at that time. The board still freezes with CSM enabled, and the only change made to the bios was the boot order(enable, disabled, f10 reboot).
    ----------------------
    Does it freeze when running the specific apps?
    Could you please clarify your question - to me it does not make sense.
    ----------------------
    Could you please help to record a video about the cpu screws not "clicking" when being installed?
    If it is absolutely necessary, I can get a recording of it - but would prefer not to as I would have to unmount the water block, thermal paste etc (as per the picture), and remount, and that is going to be a messy job.

    In my past experiences and discussions about building pc's if a cpu is not fitted correctly, usually the pc will not boot, and all sorts of problems would appear, yet i have been able to install windows 10 onto the nvme.


    to clarify what i mean by "clicking"
    check out this video
    https://youtu.be/Lb2ad-lp53I?t=173 - starting at time index: 2:53 ending at 3:51.

    clearly, based on the pictures provided above - the pcie is being detected, and so is all the memory

    I can create you a video of how the computer boots and the F3 mode that the board goes into, if that helps you, but where can I send the video?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,248

    Hi pwpau,
    Thank you for your reply.
    For NVME in the expansion card, I'm not sure if my understanding is correct or not.
    Do you mean you have installed and boot into windows10 successfully when insert NVME directly to the motherboard? If you put the NVME to the expansion card you can see the NVME in bios but if you restart the pc, it just enter bios and cannot boot into windows?

    I appreciate the video about the freezing and F3 issue.
    Please upload the video to google drive and share me the link. Please set as everyone can access the file with the link.
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Hello StarRain

    Thank you for your reply


    Do you mean you have installed and boot into windows10 successfully when insert NVME directly to the motherboard?
    Yes.

    If you put the NVME to the expansion card you can see the NVME in bios but if you restart the pc, it just enter bios and cannot boot into windows?
    No

    restart the pc, the board freezes with F3 - see videos

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I do not use Google or their cloud services for various reason

    I can upload the videos to our business website, but I wish to keep the links private.

    Do you have an email address I can send the links to? or should I just upload it as a private message on the forums?
    Last edited by pwpau; 01-25-2022 at 04:48 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I confirm I sent the links to the videos via private message to you

    I do not wish them to be public.

    thank you for the help

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    367
    Posts
    8,343

    @pwpau

    If none of the 3 screws cause the torque wrench to click (starting with 2 & 3 completely loose & torqueing 1 to 3 in order) then I would suspect the wrench. If you wanted to test the wrench outside of expensive PC hardware you could acquire a T20 screw from a hardware store or Ebay and drive it into something (wood, plastic). Then you can crank on it as hard as you want to see if the driver ever clicks.

    Also, just to clarify, all NVME drives are always PCIE connected no matter where they are physically installed. The M.2 slots on the motherboard are PCIE connected. That's the way the technology works. The only real reason to use an expansion card is if you need more drives than your motherboard supports.

    You may have read about some M.2 NVME slots not being connected to the CPU and that being bad. Technically, yes some motherboards have some of their M.2 and x16 slots connected through the chipset (which has a fixed number of lanes shared with all connected devices) rather than a dedicated connection to the CPU. If the total number of lanes used by the board exceeds what is offered by the CPU then some of those slots will be part of the shared connection through the chipset. However, most of the time you wouldn't notice. In that situation you would have to have a lot of bandwidth hungry things connected to slots that are wired to the chipset then have them all working heavily at the same time to cause a bottleneck. So, not usually a problem but sometimes the manual will state that certain slots are wired through the chipset so you can prioritize dedicated connections if you wish. At least M.2 slot 1 is going to be directly connected but given how many lanes TR offers all 3 M.2 slots might actually be directly connected to the CPU. Not sure.
    Last edited by xeromist; 01-25-2022 at 05:45 AM.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    1,248

    Hi pwpau,
    Thank you for your video and reply.
    I'll consult our tech team more about this.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Hello xeromist,

    Thank you for your reply.

    Yes, I agree with your suggestion as to the wrench not clicking as being the cause..

    It was one of the "theories" but secretly I was hoping ASUS would come back and say that it was designed that way to not click - because the thought of re-seating the CPU brings me dread.

    I appreciate the reply and did not know that about the PCIE/NVME relationship - very interesting indeed.

    I will await for extra replies

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Have you confirmed the expansion card is bootable on another MB?

    It can't be the NVME if it boots when onboard and there shouldn't be a limitation on booting from it in the bios if you're able to set it as the boot drive. The fact it's not letting you load into windows makes me suspect the expansion card or you didn't fully insert the NVME but I'm going to assume you checked that already so I'm blaming the expansion card.

    Have you tried using the Asus one?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •