Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    QCODE 55 (Memory not installed) - No video - Z690 HERO

    I can't get past POST with QCODE error 55 and an orange DRAM LED.

    I have tried reseating RAM, and in different positions, updated to the latest BIOS using flash (my video output not working so I can't see a BIOS screen).

    RAM is not listed on the QVL: Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) CMT32GX5M2X5600C36 Dominator Platinum RGB C36 5600MHz DDR5

    Any suggestions before I go out and buy either of the following?
    G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR5 6000
    G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR5 5600

    My system (new build):
    i9 12900K / Z690 HERO / Corsair Dominator 5600 CL 36 (2x16GB) / ROG Strix 3080Ti OC 12GB

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array mpoffo PC Specs
    mpoffo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR = 32 GB 3200 Kit
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Geforce 1080 FE
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorX34 Predator + 2 Samsung Aux Monitors
    Storage #1Samsung 870 EVO 2 TB/850 Evo 500 GB
    Storage #2WD 2 TB & 4TB Black Hard Drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum - RGB
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro SE
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 Surround THX Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk (RAX 200) AX11000
    Accessory #1 Corsair Comm. w/ Corsair HD Fans - NZXT Hue +
    Accessory #2 DX Racer King Series Chair
    Accessory #3 3D Printer/HTC VIVE/Valve Index
    mpoffo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    271

    Was your board by chance part of this recall?

    https://www.asus.com/us/news/u5866wtjwmbj1fue/
    RVIE X299 System:
    Windows 10 Prof 64-bit | Intel Core i9 7900x | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair 900D | 32 GB 3200 G.SKILL Trident RGB Series | RTX 3090/EVGA GTX 1080 | Acer X34 Predator Monitor
    Samsung 840 PRO 256 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | Intel 520 SATA SSD 240GB HD | 2 & 4 TB WD Black Hard Drive
    Creative Sound Blaster Z | Logitech THX 5.1 speaker setup

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by mpoffo View Post
    Was your board by chance part of this recall?

    https://www.asus.com/us/news/u5866wtjwmbj1fue/
    No, fortunately not. Confirmed with ASUS support, the serial number checker, and by looking at the orientation of the positive/negative terminal on the board.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    2,570

    Hello,


    Reseat the CPU whilst checking for any bent socket pins and even cooler mounting pressure. Also ensure none of the stand-off screws are over-torqued in the CPU and DRAM section of the board. If practical, remove the board from the chassis and test again.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,


    Reseat the CPU whilst checking for any bent socket pins and even cooler mounting pressure. Also ensure none of the stand-off screws are over-torqued in the CPU and DRAM section of the board. If practical, remove the board from the chassis and test again.
    Thanks, I tried this and tested the board outside the case. It worked in that I was able to POST and reach bios for the first time. Then I was able to install Windows 11 Pro. Then the issues began. Constant BSOD (various stop codes), system freezes, can play a game for a while (even an hour) and then system crashes and throws a stop code. Sometimes it won't post (various errors but qcode 55 (ram) will show occasionally). I tried start ups with / without GPU and keeping one RAM stick in and swapping out. Problems still occur.

    I ran memtest86, the first RAM stick produced over 7000 errors within the first few passes / tests. The second stick failed after too many errors. I am not 100% sure whether this is a RAM issue or an underlying CPU or board issue. I have ordered the cheapest stick of DDR5 I could buy (8GB Crucial on the QVL) and will test that to see if I can isolate the problem.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    The new RAM I ordered arrived today. It is listed on the QVL: Crucial 8GB (1x8GB) 4800MHz CL40 DDR5

    Installed it. PC seemed to run fine for a few hours (after an initial start-up hiccup). Then it crashed. Now it won't pass POST, with Q Code 55. This doesn't change.

    So, is this then likely to be a faulty motherboard or CPU?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by mileshigh1013 View Post
    The new RAM I ordered arrived today. It is listed on the QVL: Crucial 8GB (1x8GB) 4800MHz CL40 DDR5

    Installed it. PC seemed to run fine for a few hours (after an initial start-up hiccup). Then it crashed. Now it won't pass POST, with Q Code 55. This doesn't change.

    So, is this then likely to be a faulty motherboard or CPU?
    fwiw my Apex with 12900k can stop at 55 if I use memory that won't actually do the xmp spec at the rated voltage or if I screw with bad timings. Safe boot button into bios then apply default settings gets it back to a baseline jedec spec that will boot. From there I can achieve XMP using a small bump in the voltages (by .05, 1.25->1.30 in my case), or use one of the ASUS memory profiles. So while it may seem like the board is fried or unpostable stuck at Q55, it's probably not. If you don't have a Safe boot button, try clearing CMOS. Also, don't be too impatient. I've found that the memory training cycles can be slow and repetitive and sometimes seem "stuck". That doesn't necessarily answer your "faulty" question, but I hope it helps... it could still be our boards or bioses have a fault of some kind.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    2,570

    Quote Originally Posted by mileshigh1013 View Post
    The new RAM I ordered arrived today. It is listed on the QVL: Crucial 8GB (1x8GB) 4800MHz CL40 DDR5

    Installed it. PC seemed to run fine for a few hours (after an initial start-up hiccup). Then it crashed. Now it won't pass POST, with Q Code 55. This doesn't change.

    So, is this then likely to be a faulty motherboard or CPU?

    Hello,

    Apply optimized defaults to the UEFI and retest. Do not apply any XMP profile or overclocking.

    If the problem continues, you may want to investigate the CPU socket and cooler, sounds like it's potentially a contact issue of some sort.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •