Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Where are Armoury Crate Settings Stored?

    I have an ASUS Z690 Extreme board and if I uninstall Armoury Crate, or even if I do a clean install of Windows, all the prior RGB settings I made in Armoury Crate are still maintained somehow. So these settings must be written/stored on the board somewhere. Does anyone know where?

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,487

    Yes, I believe basic color schemes and animations are stored on the board(solid, breathing). Complicated routines from Aura creator are going to be software driven. That's why some people notice more CPU usage with complex lighting.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Thanks for the input. It can't be in the BIOS, but there must be like a EEPROM chip somewhere on the motherboard that stores the settings. That's kind of important to know because if you don't like Armoury Crate and want to uninstall it, one better change the settings to what you want before you do ...... otherwise you there's no way to change them short of installing Armoury Crate again. I would think it should operate by implementing perhaps a set of RGB defaults if one uninstalls Armoury Crate. Then again, you'd be stuck with the defaults which you may not like. Bottom-line, the way ASUS has designed this almost forces everyone to install Armoury Crate whether they like it or not.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    543

    Quote Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
    Thanks for the input. It can't be in the BIOS, but there must be like a EEPROM chip somewhere on the motherboard that stores the settings. That's kind of important to know because if you don't like Armoury Crate and want to uninstall it, one better change the settings to what you want before you do ...... otherwise you there's no way to change them short of installing Armoury Crate again. I would think it should operate by implementing perhaps a set of RGB defaults if one uninstalls Armoury Crate. Then again, you'd be stuck with the defaults which you may not like. Bottom-line, the way ASUS has designed this almost forces everyone to install Armoury Crate whether they like it or not.
    can you not clear it with a power reset? You know pull plug and press power button. Seems to work on my system.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    You mean in order to drain the capacitors? Hmmm, I'll try it and repost back.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
    You mean in order to drain the capacitors? Hmmm, I'll try it and repost back.
    Yep, it has also been my experience that *many* issues with devices not being recognized or getting "stuck" with a particular effect or color can be fixed by shutting down and - this is the important part! - turning the power off at the PSU level and keeping it like that for a few seconds until all the leds in the motherboard go off. If you don't do this the PSU will still provide 'juice' to the motherboard despite the PC being off.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Well, I uninstalled AC, and tried the power reset several times along with re-imaging the operating system, and all the RGB settings are still persistent. Can't get rid of them. If it worked for you, then you must have a different motherboard. Looks like the Extreme must have some sort of NV Ram chip on it .... perhaps either powered by the BIOS battery or some huge capacitor that doesn't want to drain. The only thing I didn't do is pull the onboard battery because I didn't want to have to reload the CMOS values.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    543

    Quote Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
    Well, I uninstalled AC, and tried the power reset several times along with re-imaging the operating system, and all the RGB settings are still persistent. Can't get rid of them. If it worked for you, then you must have a different motherboard. Looks like the Extreme must have some sort of NV Ram chip on it .... perhaps either powered by the BIOS battery or some huge capacitor that doesn't want to drain. The only thing I didn't do is pull the onboard battery because I didn't want to have to reload the CMOS values.
    surprising. Yeah I do not think it should be necessary to remove battery. Only other tho it is to actually ground the power plug to help discharge and while pressing power button. If that does not do it I draw a blank.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •