Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 136

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    57

    z690 Apex with Samsung DDR5 Memory Issues?

    Hi,

    I have a new build put together and the memory is giving me all sorts of issues. I have seen a few people saying that the Apex board might have some dim slot issues but not sure if that is actually an issue. I snagged up a 6000mhz CL36 G Skill kit and tried pairing with my apex board and 12900k. Everything is on a custom water loop with fairly solid temps. I am on the latest bios. I recognize the Samsung flavor of sticks are not officially supported by the Apex board yet, but am curious as to why (per the QVL). The hero board has mine listed already but the apex list seems light. I tried the XMP profile and have had very little luck. I have been able to get it to boot into windows but typically crashes on any heavy workload and sometimes even just being in windows things lock up.

    I am just curious if this is something I need a bios update for and just have to wait or I should look at going after different memory. Part of why I got the apex was to finally play around with memory overclocking but not even being able to run xmp kind of sucks. Just surprised that the apex board has so little support for memory so far.

    Any thoughts?

    I appreciate any help and sorry if this is covered elsewhere.

    PC Components:

    12900k (stock for now until I get memory sorted)
    z690 Apex
    G Skill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K (32gb)
    EVGA 3090 Kingpin Hydrocopper
    EVGA 1300W G2 PSU
    Corsair 5000d
    2x360mm radiators
    Windows 11

    Edit: I have also tried the built in profiles on the apex, like all of them and none of those seem to work even speeds down to like 5200mhz, wouldn't boot into windows on those. I also tried the XMP and bumped voltage up...no luck really.
    Last edited by Murlo26; 02-07-2022 at 10:37 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Tactical Donut

    Quote Originally Posted by Murlo26 View Post
    Hi,

    I have a new build put together and the memory is giving me all sorts of issues. I have seen a few people saying that the Apex board might have some dim slot issues but not sure if that is actually an issue. I snagged up a 6000mhz CL36 G Skill kit and tried pairing with my apex board and 12900k. Everything is on a custom water loop with fairly solid temps. I am on the latest bios. I recognize the Samsung flavor of sticks are not officially supported by the Apex board yet, but am curious as to why (per the QVL). The hero board has mine listed already but the apex list seems light. I tried the XMP profile and have had very little luck. I have been able to get it to boot into windows but typically crashes on any heavy workload and sometimes even just being in windows things lock up.

    I am just curious if this is something I need a bios update for and just have to wait or I should look at going after different memory. Part of why I got the apex was to finally play around with memory overclocking but not even being able to run xmp kind of sucks. Just surprised that the apex board has so little support for memory so far.

    Any thoughts?

    I appreciate any help and sorry if this is covered elsewhere.

    PC Components:

    12900k (stock for now until I get memory sorted)
    z690 Apex
    G Skill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K (32gb)
    EVGA 3090 Kingpin Hydrocopper
    EVGA 1300W G2 PSU
    Corsair 5000d
    2x360mm radiators
    Windows 11

    Edit: I have also tried the built in profiles on the apex, like all of them and none of those seem to work even speeds down to like 5200mhz, wouldn't boot into windows on those. I also tried the XMP and bumped voltage up...no luck really.

    I can't speak to the Gskill kit you have, however I have an Apex board and like you have had continual BSODS on both XMP 1 and XMP II profiles with a Corsair 5600mhz kit. Runs fine at JEDEC speeds. Latest BIOS 1101, and setting XMP1 with a slight bump of VDD up to 1.275v seems to have helped. Been stable for a week or so. My kit isn't on the QVL list either.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Tactical Donut View Post
    I can't speak to the Gskill kit you have, however I have an Apex board and like you have had continual BSODS on both XMP 1 and XMP II profiles with a Corsair 5600mhz kit. Runs fine at JEDEC speeds. Latest BIOS 1101, and setting XMP1 with a slight bump of VDD up to 1.275v seems to have helped. Been stable for a week or so. My kit isn't on the QVL list either.
    Ok, well at least I am not alone. I am currently running at JEDEC speeds as well, I think just base 4800. Nothing else has been remotely stable.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    89

    If G Skill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K will work on a Hero it should work on an Apex. I have the same ram and Apex but haven't had a chance to build it yet.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by wing_man View Post
    If G Skill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K will work on a Hero it should work on an Apex. I have the same ram and Apex but haven't had a chance to build it yet.
    Well I would think so but if you look at the QVL for the apex, there is very little, actually maybe no samsung die ddr5. Which is why I feel like this is a wait it out deal. But part of me going ddr5 was to have better than ddr4 performance and at JEDEC speeds I think most ddr4 that is CL16 3600 will probably be better. Not the end of the world but just bummed that the apex QVL is smaller. I would imagine though that anything the hero can do the apex should be able to do eventually.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    89

    I want my money back if Apex can't run F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K

    All the other ROG motherboards have the F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K on their QVL except the Apex. The Apex should be the one motherboard that should be able to run any ram. If it can't, I want my money back!!!!!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by wing_man View Post
    All the other ROG motherboards have the F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K on their QVL except the Apex. The Apex should be the one motherboard that should be able to run any ram. If it can't, I want my money back!!!!!
    Well this was my thinking I guess...was pretty surprised.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair X670E Gene
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 7950X
    Memory (part number)F5-6000J3038F16GX2-TZ5N
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 6900XT
    MonitorBenQ EX270QM
    Storage #1SK Hynix Platinum P41
    CPU CoolerOptimus AM5 Foundation
    CaseAsus Prime AP201
    Power SupplySeaSonic SSR-1000TR
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    413

    Quote Originally Posted by wing_man View Post
    All the other ROG motherboards have the F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K on their QVL except the Apex. The Apex should be the one motherboard that should be able to run any ram. If it can't, I want my money back!!!!!
    Anything above 4800MHz is OC,.. you need to understand DDR5 is new, does not OC like DDR4.

    With DDR5 If you don't know fundamentals of overclocking memory and want plug & play your going to have a rough go running the high frequency memory kits.

    I have the Asus Z690 Apex, I didn't buy the Apex to run XMP or pre-loaded memory profiles.

    I can run any DDR5 memory kit. Does not matter Micron, Samsung, or SK Hynix ICs.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 02-10-2022 at 12:51 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    89

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    I haven't had any XMP 1 profiles that were plug & play, fully stable. You need to make adjustments for stability.

    6400MHz kit:
    Attachment 92079

    2000% Karu stable:
    Attachment 92080

    Manually adjusting frequency to 6600MHz CL32 also no issues.
    Attachment 92081

    I see a lot of folks on this site and other forums talking trash about Apex Z690 DDR5 memory combability, you all need to do research, testing and learn how to use all the settings in your BIOS if your going to OC your memory.

    Open your mind, and learn how to adjust BIOS memory settings, or run your DDR5 memory @ default 4800MHz.

    Anything above 4800MHz is OC,.. your knowledge of BIOS settings, CPU IMC will determine your ability to run above 4800MHz stable.
    I have never had to make any adjustment with my Hero X. I just enabled xmp and it worked. I even added two more G.Skill ram modules of a different batch but same speed and it worked. 3200 cl 14 ddr4.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Deke06 PC Specs
    Deke06 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z690-I
    ProcessorIntel 12700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F5-6000U3636E16GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 3080 Ti Founders Edition w/ EKWB Quantum Vector SE
    Sound CardAudient ID14
    MonitorAlienware 3418DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity² full nickel
    CaseNcase M1 v6.1
    Power SupplyCorsair SFX750
    Keyboard Custom KDB75 v2
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Superlight
    Headset Sennheiser HD800
    Mouse Pad Artisan Ninja FX
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A2+
    OS Windows 11
    Accessory #1 ICEMan Pump/Reservoir
    Accessory #2 Swiftech MCP35X DDC Pump

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Hi there.

    I don't have the Apex, but I have been running this kit on my Z690-I with success. It was a bit problematic at first and required some tweaking. Rock solid stable now. It did require significant voltage increase to run XMP I along with a few other tweaks. I'll list them here and maybe it can help with your situation.

    VDD 1.375
    VDDQ 1.375
    IVR Transmitter VDDQ Voltage 1.375
    Memory controller voltage 1.25

    CPU System Agent Voltage: Offset mode (this was actually the final tweak I made that got the kit stable
    - CPU System Agent Voltage Offset: Auto

    Additionally, and because I'm paranoid, I dialed in the BCLK manually to 100, disabled Asus multicore enhancement, set the BXLKRAM manually to 100:100, the Memory Controller: DRAM frequency to gear 2 (1:2), and manually set the DRAM frequency to 6000.

    Finally, in BIOS Advanced\ Platform Misc Configuration I disabled PCI Express Native Power Management, since leaving it enabled causes a ton of WHEA errors.

    Every CPU, RAM and board combo is different, and DDR5 seems to have re-emphasized this fact. Hope this info helps and best of luck. It's a great kit once you get it stable.

Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •