Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by jzchen View Post
    Thank you for explaining how WiFi works. My main experience has been running RJ45 Ethernet so I am not as familiar with all of this. I have tried walking around the house watching NetSpot. Yes, the Lyra Voice has no 2.4 GHz radio/signal, all three others do show a 2.4 GHz signal...
    If your Lyra Voice is under warranty, I would open a ticket with Asus. Does rebooting the Lyra Voice correct the 2.4 GHz radio? If not, you might try to change it to be an access point or router and see if the 2.4 GHz re-enables in those modes.

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    176

    Quote Originally Posted by mustangtom View Post
    If your Lyra Voice is under warranty, I would open a ticket with Asus. Does rebooting the Lyra Voice correct the 2.4 GHz radio? If not, you might try to change it to be an access point or router and see if the 2.4 GHz re-enables in those modes.
    Rebooting does nothing for the 2.4 GHz radio. No 2.4 signal shows up on NetSpot, not even a blip. I did notice at least initially that 5-1 and 5-2 get a boosted dBm once rebooted.

    Unfortunately even though the Lyra is practically new, as in a couple of weeks old, it no longer has a warranty. The bottom of the Lyra Voice is not flat, just a small 2" x 2" square is plastic in the center. I adhered strong velcro to secure it to the window sill so it could "see" the IoT outside that has poor connectivity. One day I heard the cat make some noise and all of a sudden a boom. The unit had fallen off the window sill to the floor. While I was definitely concerned the drop may have damaged it, I also noticed the SN sticker was still attached to the velcro on the window sill. The weak glue was between the SN sticker and the Lyra Voice. ASUS noted that so long as the fall didn't produce physical damage then it would be still covered, but the SN sticker now removed voided the warranty.

    Support asked me to setup the Lyra Voice as a router all by itself to see if the 2.4 radio would work. I am fearful of somehow damaging an Anody ceiling light that is in my son's bedroom. Last time he tried to use a different app to connect to it it would randomly turn on all by itself, including the middle of the night....

    EDIT- They are awesome, told me they are going to reimburse me within 30 days or so!
    Last edited by jzchen; 06-24-2022 at 12:11 PM.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    176

    How's it going with yours? (This is your thread I apologize for the thread jack).

    Our Lyra should be arriving at the ASUS service center tomorrow sometime. I set it up as a Router just by itself using the AXE11000 on the WAN side. (Easily done since it's already physically connected that way.) No 2.4 GHz signal ever....

  4. #24
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by jzchen View Post
    How's it going with yours? (This is your thread I apologize for the thread jack).
    My CT8 nodes are still randomly loosing their 2.4GHz radio, sometimes it stays working for days, then looses it repeatedly every few hours. Sometimes it even shows the primary and guest 2.4GHz using different channels, which I would not think would be possible. No fix yet from ASUS, but its doubtful that it is hardware since more than one CT8 and an XT8 mode have done it (although the XT8 only did it once on earlier firmware).

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    131
    Posts
    535

    2.4 GHz channel always happed to caus disturbance due to too many channel being congested by other device such as micro wave, blutooth and other radio frquency. If you surrounding are including your neighborhood channel with the same frequency will cause a cross talk and made matter more complication. You need isolate channel frequency and match your node not disturb. You are not alone who having this issue in my opinion.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •