Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme BIOS 0606
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5900X
    Memory (part number)2x16Gb Corsair Dominator 3600 CAS14
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX 6900 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyAsus Thor 1200P
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM 700 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 11 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro XT
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    176

    Questions for Crosshair VIII Extreme owners

    Hi there,
    In the next few days I'm gonna switch to a Crosshair VIII Extreme, and have a couple of questions.

    1) Is beta BIOS 0602 good or it's better to stay on 0504?

    2) What's the best layout for 1 VGA and 2 SSD NVMe to get best performances?
    Adding a third SSD NVMe (that is why I took this mobo) will result in a drop?
    As usual, ASUS manual is not so clear about this...

    Thanks!

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 5900X COOLER Corsair H150i Elite Capellix MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme RAM 2x8 Corsair 4000C19D PSU Asus Thor 1200P VGA AMD RX 6900 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe - Seagate FireCuda 530 NVMe 1Tb - WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe NPUT Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay + Corsair MM700 RGB - G513

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Othello PC Specs
    Othello PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crossfire VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600Q16-64GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI Reference RX5700XT water cooled
    Sound CardOn MB
    Monitor2 ea. Samsung C27HG70QQNXZA
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1TB x 2in raid 0
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro sata SSB 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom H2O using Optimus Foundation WB
    CaseLian Li 011DXL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitech G635
    OS WIN10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I have recently upgraded to bios 0602 from 0504 and in my experience, so far, it is better than 0504. I have 3 NVMe m.2 drives installed as well as an external SSD. I initially had issue with the BIOS and the OS recognizing all of the drives. I eventually corrected the issue by changing the PCIe configuration in the BIOS. I can not recall the exact BIOS setting but you should be able to find it. My VGA is mounted in the first PCIe slot as will run X16. The other PCIe has to run X8 in order to see all the drives. You are correct about the manual as it is poorly written. It does even discuss this BIOS setting.

    I am also using the DIMM.2 with out any issues.

    Edit: After writing my initial reply to your post I double checked what speed my GPU was actually using. I found it was running X8. So, what I discovered is if want to use NVMe M.2_2 and/or _3 the GPU will run at X8. I moved my boot and WIN11 M.2 drives to my DIMM.2 slot and have no drives in any of the M.2 slots. Reconfigured BIOS accordingly and the GPU is back X16 speed.
    Last edited by Othello; 02-26-2022 at 09:54 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme BIOS 0606
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5900X
    Memory (part number)2x16Gb Corsair Dominator 3600 CAS14
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX 6900 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyAsus Thor 1200P
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM 700 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 11 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro XT
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    176

    Quote Originally Posted by Othello View Post
    I have recently upgraded to bios 0602 from 0504 and in my experience, so far, it is better than 0504. I have 3 NVMe m.2 drives installed as well as an external SSD. I initially had issue with the BIOS and the OS recognizing all of the drives. I eventually corrected the issue by changing the PCIe configuration in the BIOS. I can not recall the exact BIOS setting but you should be able to find it. My VGA is mounted in the first PCIe slot as will run X16. The other PCIe has to run X8 in order to see all the drives. You are correct about the manual as it is poorly written. It does even discuss this BIOS setting.

    I am also using the DIMM.2 with out any issues.

    Edit: After writing my initial reply to your post I double checked what speed my GPU was actually using. I found it was running X8. So, what I discovered is if want to use NVMe M.2_2 and/or _3 the GPU will run at X8. I moved my boot and WIN11 M.2 drives to my DIMM.2 slot and have no drives in any of the M.2 slots. Reconfigured BIOS accordingly and the GPU is back X16 speed.
    Thanks for your replay.
    I'm still with 2 NVMe drives, I'm planning to grab the third in a few weeks (that was the reason why I took this mobo).
    Did you test your SSD in the DIMM.2 slot? Ho they perform?

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 5900X COOLER Corsair H150i Elite Capellix MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme RAM 2x8 Corsair 4000C19D PSU Asus Thor 1200P VGA AMD RX 6900 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe - Seagate FireCuda 530 NVMe 1Tb - WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe NPUT Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay + Corsair MM700 RGB - G513

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Othello PC Specs
    Othello PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crossfire VIII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600Q16-64GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI Reference RX5700XT water cooled
    Sound CardOn MB
    Monitor2 ea. Samsung C27HG70QQNXZA
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1TB x 2in raid 0
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro sata SSB 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom H2O using Optimus Foundation WB
    CaseLian Li 011DXL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitech G635
    OS WIN10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Thanks for your replay.
    I'm still with 2 NVMe drives, I'm planning to grab the third in a few weeks (that was the reason why I took this mobo).
    Did you test your SSD in the DIMM.2 slot? Ho they perform?

    Baio
    I have finally tested the 2 Gen4 M.2 drives on my DIMM.2 card and they perform the same as they would in a normal M.2 slot. My read and write sequential numebers are around 4GB/s.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme BIOS 0606
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5900X
    Memory (part number)2x16Gb Corsair Dominator 3600 CAS14
    Graphics Card #1AMD RX 6900 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyAsus Thor 1200P
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM 700 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 11 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro XT
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    176

    Quote Originally Posted by Othello View Post
    I have finally tested the 2 Gen4 M.2 drives on my DIMM.2 card and they perform the same as they would in a normal M.2 slot. My read and write sequential numebers are around 4GB/s.
    Back here again with another question...

    I have used 2 NVMe drives for a while (M1 and M2 populated) and today I discovered my GPU is running @8x.
    So I left only 1 drive in M1 slot but GPU is still 8x.
    I understood I had to free both M2 and M3 to have 16x, but something is missing...

    I chose this mobo for the the number of NVMe slots, but AFAIK they are useless if the cost is a slower GPU (gonna get a 6900XT next week).

    Hope you can help me!

    Baio

    EDIT:

    Went through some troubleshooting this morning and understood that this is the BIOS setting involved:



    But it seems to act weird whatever value I set.

    This is the hardware involved:

    5700 XT (PCIEX16_1)
    NVMe 1 (M.2_1)
    NVMe 2 (DIMM.2_1)
    NVMe 3 (DIMM.2_2)


    If I set "PCIEX16_1 + PCIEX16_2" from BIOS the VGA works at 16X 1.1
    If I set "PCIEX16_1 + PCIEX16_2 + M.2_3" the VGA works at 8x 3.0
    If I set "PCIEX16_1 + M.2_2 + M.2_3" the VGA works at 8X 4.0

    This is what GPU-Z v2.45.0 says... am I supposed to check with another software?

    What sounds me strange is that according to the manual:



    Populating PCIEX16_1, M.2_1 and both DIMM.2 slots should work...
    Last edited by Baio73; 03-27-2022 at 10:53 AM.
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 5900X COOLER Corsair H150i Elite Capellix MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Extreme RAM 2x8 Corsair 4000C19D PSU Asus Thor 1200P VGA AMD RX 6900 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe - Seagate FireCuda 530 NVMe 1Tb - WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe NPUT Logitech ProX Superlight + Powerplay + Corsair MM700 RGB - G513

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hello,

    i had a similar issue with my Crosshair VIII Extreme.

    Only 8x avaliable with m2_1 and Dimm Module - no M2_2 and M2_3.

    I could not get run x16, with my other Ram. 2 days ago i changed my Ram-Kit - and now everything works fine (you can read my thread which on my profile).

    If you check your PCIE-Speed with GPU-Z - you have to run an benchmark or go on the "?" to start a render test. Then the PCIE-Speed should go fom "PCIE x16 @ 16 1.1 to PCIE x16 @ 16 4.0". When the System is idle, there is no need for x4.0 Speed.

    I have 16x @ 4.0 with the following settings and Programs:

    -"PCIEx16_1+PCIEx16_2" -CPU PCIE Configuration
    -Bios 0504 and 0606 ( i tested both)
    -PCIE Version: all Settings on Auto
    -GPU-Z 2.45.0
    -AMD Chipset driver: 4.03.03.431
    -Win11 Built 22000.613
    -Nvidia driver: 512.15 DCH
    Last edited by pz123456; 04-16-2022 at 07:42 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •