Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 49 of 49
  1. #41
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by AQUASTEVAE View Post
    while i clearly find this to be the most interesting thread on this entire board, my question would be this: if you can obtain 1600 mhz speeds by just using two slots of 8gb chips, then why would you even want to use four slots of 4gb's? i do understand that some on here want to use all four slots to have the 32gb's of ram running, and so being able to use all four would help in this venture, but it seems many on here are happy with just 16gb's of ram, and for those, why would this be a problem if you can use the two slots to get what you want? or am i missing something...?
    Agreed: two 8GB sticks of 1600 stuff should satisfy even the most demanding enthusiast and gamer. But I am loving my 32 GB! Eactly what I need, and I don't need the speed...
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by dataDave View Post
    OK guys, here is what we get when we open up the BIOS in the editing program.


    @dataDave: wots that in handle 01F1 (Memory Frequency)? What does "default" Access/Use refer to there?
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  3. #43
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    217

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    @dataDave: wots that in handle 01F1 (Memory Frequency)? What does "default" Access/Use refer to there?
    is it posible to change 1by1 of the options / flash and see what the changes are , im willing to test if you guys can direct me on how to do it ...

  4. #44
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Yeah, thats here. I bought and used 1333 MHz stuff (back when I tried this 8GB SODIMM sticks at 1600 MHz were not yet available) so I can't say for sure, but I suspect even with a core i7 2820 in there 4 sticks of 1600 will clock only to 1333MHz. I mean why would two sticks work at 1866MHz with even the lowly i7 2630QM but not four? The IMC in the 2nd Gen i7 is very tough and overclocks a long way, so if it doesn't work on the 2630/2670 I think it won't on the faster chips...I think its a BIOS limitation. But I'd really love to be shown wrong!
    It's limited in the BIOS because the mobile GPUs are voltage and amperage limited, in order to keep the TDP within spec. It's not like comparing to desktop OCing, which has motherboards and PSUs built for excessive watts, because of the extremely confined environment that yields a very specific cooling and power provision.

    The Extreme chips are binned cores to do 1600, but they are 55W TDP, whereas the non-Extremes are 45W TDP. The extra memory frequency adds several percent gains in iGPU specific applications but most games only see a few % increase. The G series is predominantly designed for functionality and stability, whereas the desktop hardware is for overclocking. From our perspective, looking at the wide range of G users - given the minimal performance gain versus the greater cost of stability, plus the fact it's not within the official Intel CPU spec for the CPUs we include, ASUS won't offer 1600MHz on SB CPUs. Of course, that doesn't mean you can't do it, or we'll stop you if you want to mod your own kit!

    With regards to 1866 memory: I'm not sure how open Intel leaves its processors beyond 1600MHz - if the multiplier options for memory are likely hardware locked down. 8GB hardware should be compatible, providing the ICs don't change the settings too much outside of the existing 4GB spec to make them incompatible (like weird subtimings for example).

  5. #45
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    After reading through the thread, the conclusion for now seems to be we can achieve 16gb @ 1600mhz when we use 2x8gb sticks.. my G74sx came with 12@1333mhz. I'm thinking about upgrading to the 1600mhz.. Just to run it by the forum, This ram (http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820104317) would work at 16gb and at 1600mhz, correct?
    ASUS G74SX-XA1
    120GB OCZ Vertex III SSD + 750GB HDD.
    Intel Core I7 2670QM.

  6. #46
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    @lxPanda - no, the G74SX runs at 1333 MHz internally, only the G75/G55 run at 1600MHz. Save yourself a little green and get 1333, or get 1600, but don't be surprised if it down-clocks to 1333.
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

  7. #47
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    @lxPanda - no, the G74SX runs at 1333 MHz internally, only the G75/G55 run at 1600MHz. Save yourself a little green and get 1333, or get 1600, but don't be surprised if it down-clocks to 1333.
    Zygomorphic, have you tried 2x8gb@1600?

    what about this?

    (pg3 of this thread)
    Quote Originally Posted by OmegaMan View Post
    Yup I did, Works well with 2x8GB @1600mhz. 4 Sticks downclock to 1333mhz. 4x4gb @1866mhz pnp ram downclock @ 1333mhz as well. The G74 doesn't like four sticks in at all ... Go figure

  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by Zygomorphic View Post
    @lxPanda - no, the G74SX runs at 1333 MHz internally, only the G75/G55 run at 1600MHz. Save yourself a little green and get 1333, or get 1600, but don't be surprised if it down-clocks to 1333.

    Sorry to differ....the G74 will run internally at whatever the SPD settings of the sticks state, unless (it seems) there are 4 sticks in there with clocks settings above 1333MHz (in which case it will default back to 1333 MHz; as I understand MarshallR above this is to limit power draw from the adaptor and heat generated, since 4 sticks need twice as much current draw from the IMC as two sticks). The whole point of "Plug-n-Play" DDR3 is to override any notebook's internal settings with special SPDs that fool the BIOS into running the clocks faster or timings tighter...we have seen that the G74 is fine with 1600MHz DDR3, again so long as it does not detect 4 sticks installed. 2x8GB=16 GB should run @1600MHz just fine.

    Now the only question is do you really want to spend the $$ on this miniscule upgrade in speed?
    Last edited by fostert; 10-07-2012 at 10:55 PM.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  9. #49
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Wow! Sorry, I had forgotten about that. I have 16 (4x4) GB in my G53 and it runs at 1333 speeds. I wasn't aware of the 2x8 GB...Good to know!
    I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
    We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee!
    LINUX Users, we have a group!
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •