Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    21

    ASUS Z690 Intel 12900K AI overclock isn't working

    I'm really disappointed in the AI overclocking features of all my ASUS Z690 motherboards and 12900k CPU's. Any AI overclock on pretty much all the Z690 ASUS boards I've dealt with causes bluescreens in WOW. I never experienced this with Z490's and 10900k chips, even when I threw in crappy memory. As much as I enjoy fiddling with getting the most out of CPU's, time is money and I've always paid a premium for ASUS boards just for this purpose. Some things need to be stupid simple and the AI on these boards is broke.

    Also, why install 4 slot DDR5 memory, that only serves to confuse folks. It's like someone didn't read the specs or was directed by marketing to release a doomed product.

    Then again, removing all AI overclocking from the 12900k reveals a fantastically fast system that blows away most of my 10900k AI overclocks. Those 12900's are fast no doubt.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I concur. I ran AI overclock in Asus Suite like I do on every single build I've done in the last few years, and it's only with my Z690 Extreme and an I9-12900k that AI overclock spit out settings that made my computer unable to boot.

    I completely ditched the overclocking settings and set a reasonable manual overclock all cores and everything has been fine so far *knock on wood*

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,688

    Hello,


    The rules for the CPU abilities are quite tight so the majority of CPUs shouldn't have a problem. As per the guide in this subsection, make sure XMP is not enabled before attempting to obtain a baseline with AI Overclocking. Naturally, it's important that all other subsystems are stable.

    Moreover, the AI Tweaker page within the UEFI should give you all the per-core predictions you need to set up an adaptive per core OC.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Moreover, the AI Tweaker page within the UEFI should give you all the per-core predictions you need to set up an adaptive per core OC.
    Hi, for my 12900 AI is finally working. Initially I got some weird results, but after several times resetting to bios defaults it is now properly pushing the CPU to 54-53-...52. All settings are by the algorithm. I wonder, is it really worth the hassle to manipulating the conditions core by core?

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,688

    Quote Originally Posted by Chainbold View Post
    Hi, for my 12900 AI is finally working. Initially I got some weird results, but after several times resetting to bios defaults it is now properly pushing the CPU to 54-53-...52. All settings are by the algorithm. I wonder, is it really worth the hassle to manipulating the conditions core by core?
    If by manipulate you mean simply enter the per core predictions as well as adaptive voltage manually, then yes, there’s no harm in doing this.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    If by manipulate you mean simply enter the per core predictions as well as adaptive voltage manually, then yes, there’s no harm in doing this.
    But the result would be exactly the same as keeping AI doing it. So, I guess no reason / benefit of putting in the AI determined values manually?

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,688

    Quote Originally Posted by Chainbold View Post
    But the result would be exactly the same as keeping AI doing it. So, I guess no reason / benefit of putting in the AI determined values manually?
    You can do it either way, that’s why the predictions are laid out the way they are for per core usage. Not only that but it can be required to change AVX targets depending on the CPU.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 02-13-2022 at 06:06 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    21

    So the key is not to rely on the memory settings but rather, the let the Asus AI test the memory? I did notice this on a system recently when I ran the AI overclock, it disabled XMP

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,688

    Quote Originally Posted by GettnBetter View Post
    So the key is not to rely on the memory settings but rather, the let the Asus AI test the memory? I did notice this on a system recently when I ran the AI overclock, it disabled XMP
    The key is not to have any form of memory overclocking or another subsystem overclock active at all. These should come second

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •