Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    STRIX Z690-A GAMING WIFI D4: How to use G.SKILL TRIDENT Z kit?

    Hi all,

    I have a STRIX Z690-A GAMING WIFI D4, with an intel 12900k cpu.

    The memory kit is a DDR4 128GB (4*32) kit from G.SKILL (F4-4000C18Q-128GTRZ).

    I installed the kit and with "load optimised defaults" from the motherboard, it works, although at 2133 as memory frequency.

    I tried to load "XMP I" from the motherboard, but it fails to boot. The XMP of the kit is DDR4-4000-CL18-22-22-42@1.40V.

    Then I tried to load optimised defaults again, and keep everything at "auto" and just set the frequency. Setting RAM frequency at 3200 (and everything else at auto) works. But looking at the rest, it has set CL19 and DRAM voltage at 1.32V.

    What I should do to use this kit? What should I set in the BIOS?

    Usually buying a motherboard and setting the memory at XMP, with everything else at auto, worked for me in the past.

    Regards,

    George

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    It's a known issue the BIOS/XMP is absolutely borkt. Same issues on that motherboard with two differernt sets of Corsair Vengeance Pro 3600MHz 2x8GB

    What BIOS build are you on? I've tried all, currently on 1304 and XMP1 and XMP 2 don't work, manual overclocking doesn't work properly, I can get a mild "overclock" to 2900MHz stable. Won't POST and just boot loops until an error makes me go back to BIOS.
    Last edited by will.small; 03-17-2022 at 09:21 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hi,

    I am also on BIOS 1304. What I did was the following:

    1) I loaded "optimised defaults" in the BIOS.
    2) Then I selected "XMP II" in the BIOS. This set the timmings for the RAM, the speed and the voltage.
    3) I lowered the DRAM frequency from 4000 to 3800 (with 4000 does not boot).
    4) I lowered the DRAM voltage to 1.35 (from 1.40).

    And it worked. Ok, my RAM was for 4000 MHz, but running at 3800 is also acceptable. (Especially since I have a 4*32 GB kit, of Hynix MJR chips, which are not considered that good).

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    117
    Posts
    514

    If I am not wrong Z690 and Intel 12 Gen only support DDR 4 up to 3200 speed. In order to work above that XMP mode require to kick in. Asus Z690 very pricky in their RAM timing, latency etc. Try XMP II see if help. By the way, Intel certified XMP but not warranty for that. To Intel, XMP mode considered OC.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2gQ_bOnDx8

    I was quite culture shock about it.
    Last edited by ahfoo; 03-17-2022 at 03:50 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •