Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 87
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Exclamation Bug in B660 bios cpu voltage offset

    Hi. I made several tickets on Asus support but there is no way to make them understand the problem.

    There is a bug on b660 bios, on all b660 boards. And all 600 series. On z690 is less visible cause there is adaptive voltage, which most people use. On b660 there is only offset.

    Problem is, setting a CPU voltage offset of -0.005 will cause ramdon freeze at idle. As you increase the offset, the random freeze ratio will increase.

    Also setting + offset will do the same.

    This is because applying any offset will cause more than -0.200mv drop at idle.

    This was happening on msi boards too and was fixed with a bios update.

    Thread on msi forums https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?t...offset.372022/

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asusbug.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	94080

    Please someone from Asus explain why cpu voltage drops to 0.300 or less when using default bios settings. Lowest per spec value is 0.700 for alder lake.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by trihy; 07-19-2022 at 05:41 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array darkcg PC Specs
    darkcg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 12900K
    Memory (part number)64GB (4x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR5 5.200Mhz (SKU: CMT32GX5M2B5200C38))
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Geforce GTX 1070 Amp! Edition
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #12 x Samsung 980 PRO NVMe M.2 SSD 2TB PCI Express Gen.4 (4TB Total)
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO mSATA SSD 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i Elite LCD
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Asus ROG Falchion
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset Sennheiser RS-170
    OS Microsoft Windows 11 Pro, Fedora 36 Workstation, Rocky Linux 9.0

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    So, why you posted this on the Z690 forum? This forum is related to Z690 motherboards, not B660. This thread should go in the "Other series motherboards" subforum.
    Last edited by darkcg; 04-03-2022 at 05:12 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    This should go on b660 subforum. But 3 months after release there is still no subforum. Great support.

    This was the nearest chipset subforum.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi everyone,

    This is my first message in this forum as a b660m Tuf Gaming Plus D4´s owner and although this is an old threat the issue described on it keeps happening nowdays.

    But, I found a temporary solution works the problem out in Reddit but energy savings are gone because of disabling C-States and RC6:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/intel/comme..._not_powering/

    I hope Asus people work on it and new bios version resolves this bug.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by w4rdog; 07-09-2022 at 12:36 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Yes, that's a workaround, but a total waste of energy.

    Problem is present on all Asus b660 boards. And all Asus z690 boards too.

    Use any cpu vcore monitoring software and you will see voltages way below 0.700v, (which is the lowest for gen 12) On every Asus series 600 boards.
    Last edited by trihy; 07-11-2022 at 02:46 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,717

    Hi all,
    Do you mean have system freezing issue and need to shutdown and turn on the pc to recover?
    Does it also occur on bios 1402 with bios all default settings?
    Is there no issue when disabling C-States?
    Thank you.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi all,
    Do you mean have system freezing issue and need to shutdown and turn on the pc to recover?
    Does it also occur on bios 1402 with bios all default settings?
    Is there no issue when disabling C-States?
    Thank you.
    Hi. This is the cause of random freeze at idle. Screen freeze and you need to shutdown by holding power button 5 seconds.

    Freeze will depend on how your cpu tolerates this extreme low voltages, could get idle freeze once a day or every 2 or 3 days.

    If you set minimal voltage offset, 0.005 doesnt matter if + or - you will have more freezes. At -0.040 or 0.050 system will hang at Asus logo. This cpu's can handle more than -0.100v on other brands, so something is wrong there.

    It happens on every bios, 14xx included with default settings. Just let hwinfo running and check the lowest vcore reported, you will see crazy low cpu voltages of 0.300, 0.200 or even lower. On other brands never go below 0.700v.

    Disabling c states or setting a fixed cpu voltage are the only ones workarounds.
    Last edited by trihy; 07-11-2022 at 06:36 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Bios 1603. Same problem. How Asus didnt notice this?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asusbug.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	93906

    Bios default settings

    Its a miracle this boards post with such out of specs cpu voltage.
    Last edited by trihy; 07-12-2022 at 12:04 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,717

    Hi trihy,
    How long do you put the pc at idle a day and get idle freeze once a day or every 2 or 3 days?
    Does it also freeze when you boot into windows and only let hwinfo running?
    May I have the following information?
    - the serial number of the motherboard via PM
    - the brand and the model name of your CPU, RAM, graphics card, OS drive, and PSU
    (Please check the specific model name of RAM such as G.SKILL F5-6800U4040G16GX2-TZ5S.)
    - OS version and OS build
    Thank you.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi trihy,
    How long do you put the pc at idle a day and get idle freeze once a day or every 2 or 3 days?
    Does it also freeze when you boot into windows and only let hwinfo running?
    May I have the following information?
    - the serial number of the motherboard via PM
    - the brand and the model name of your CPU, RAM, graphics card, OS drive, and PSU
    (Please check the specific model name of RAM such as G.SKILL F5-6800U4040G16GX2-TZ5S.)
    - OS version and OS build
    Thank you.
    Hi. There is no exact time for idle freeze. But idle includes low cpu usage tasks like copying files, playing low cpu usage games and everything related to low cpu usage. Freeze never occurs if you let the system doing heavy task or cpu benchmarking.

    If I set cpu voltage offset of +0.005 or -0.005 freeze will be more frequent and sometimes more than once per day.

    I´d tried other brands boards, and cpu vcore never go below 0.700v. On any asus 600 series it goes out of specs as you can see on the image. On ddr5 ones and ddr4 ones. Alder lake working voltage is 0.700-1.4v Not 0.300v. Just show the image to any test team and they will notice something is wrong.

    I ´d RMA the board many times, sometimes the same returned, sometimes other, but problem still there. Many users reported the same problem. That´s why disabling C-states has been so popular around this boards.

    Will send that info by pm.
    Last edited by trihy; 07-12-2022 at 03:49 AM.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •