Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    z690 hero & strix-lc-rtx3080ti-o12g HDMI issues on boot

    The Specs
    I just build a PC with the following specs: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/q6CqpH

    Mainly focused on the MB (ROG MAXIMUS Z690 HERO) and GPU (ROG-STRIX-LC-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING) due to the issue.

    The PSU Setup
    2x CPU power cables are connected.
    3x PCIe cables connected directly to the GPU (no daisy chain).
    1x ATX cable connected to the MB's power connector and its split.

    The Issue
    When booted with BIOS primary GPU set to either CPU or Auto and connected the HDMI cable to the GPU, I get QCodes 97, 98, or 99.

    When booted with BIOS primary GPU set to either CPU or Auto and connected an HDMI cable to the GPU and another the CPU (both connected to the display), I get QCodes 97, 98, or 99. This will sometimes work and load windows.

    When booted with BIOS primary GPU set to either CPU or Auto and connected the HDMI cable to the MB, I get QCode A0 and load onto windows just fine. If I then change the HDMI cable to the GPU all is good.

    When booted with BIOS primary GPU set to either CPU or Auto and connected the DisplayPort cable to the GPU, I get QCode A0 and load onto windows just fine. If I then change the cable to the GPU’s HDMI all is good.

    I tried this with the BIOS versions: default (I don't remember the number), 1304 , 1403

    Important note, after upgrading the BIOS to 1304 and newer I have not gotten QCode99.

    The process I followed

    Case 1:
    Setup:
    My HDMI cable (tested 3 different HDMI cables) connected to the GPU’s connectors (tried both).
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: CPU
    Result: QCode 97 or QCode 98, or QCode 99

    Case 2:
    Setup:
    My HDMI cable (tested 3 different HDMI cables) connected to the GPU’s connectors (tried both).
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: AUTO/PCIe
    Result: QCode 97 or QCode 98, or QCode 99

    Case 3:
    Setup:
    My HDMI cable connected to the Motherboard’s connector.
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: CPU
    Result: QCode A0, boots to windows.
    Follow up: Disconnect HDMI (after windows has loaded) and connect to GPU
    Result to follow up: Works just fine.

    Case 4:
    Setup:
    My HDMI cable connected to the Motherboard’s connector.
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: AUTO/PCIe
    Result: QCode A0, boots to windows.
    Follow up: Disconnect HDMI (after windows has loaded) and connect to GPU
    Result to follow up: Works just fine.

    Case 5:
    Setup:
    DisplayPort cable connected to the GPU connector (the one closest to the HDMI connectors, I did not try the others).
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: CPU
    Result: QCode A0, boots to windows.
    Follow up: Disconnect DisplayPort (after windows has loaded) and connect to GPU’s HDMI
    Result to follow up: Works just fine.

    Case 6:
    Setup:
    DisplayPort cable connected to the GPU connector (the one closest to the HDMI connectors, I did not try the others).
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: AUTO/PCIe
    Result: QCode A0, boots to windows.
    Follow up: Disconnect DisplayPort (after windows has loaded) and connect to GPU’s HDMI
    Result to follow up: Works just fine.

    Case 7:
    Setup:
    Two HDMI cables (tested 3 different HDMI cables) 1 cable connected to the GPU’s connector (tried both) and the other cable connected to the motherboard..
    BIOS - Primary Graphics Option: CPU or AUTO
    Result: QCode 97, QCode 98, or 1 time I got A0 and booted to windows just fine.

    Results and Questions
    1. The iGPU works fine.
      The GPU's DP works fine.
      The GPU's HDMI causes issues.


    Why is it that the iGPU and the GPU's DP work just fine and the only issue is when using the GPU's HDMI?

    What could be the issue? MB, GPU, or something else?

    I ask because I contacted ASUS and their responses were... vague to say the least, and I am 14 days away from not being able to request a replacement for either the GPU or the MB (both bought from newegg).

    PS: I also posted this in reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/PcBuildHelp...oot_only_when/

    Thank you all for your help!

    Edit: Amended case number 5 being duplicate and DP cable can only be connected to the GPU.
    Last edited by Helvete; 04-08-2022 at 07:03 PM. Reason: Amended case number 5 being duplicate and DP cable can only be connected to the GPU.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,982

    Hi Helvete,
    Is it no boot when you get get QCodes 97, 98, or 99?
    Do you use only one monitor MG278Q?
    Have you done the tests with bios all default settings except Primary Graphics Option?
    May I double confirm the scenario in case 5? There are two case 5, but no case 6. It seems there is no case regarding DisplayPort cable connected to the GPU's connector.
    Which PCIE slot do you install the graphics card in?
    Please also refer to the following link for QCode A0.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1043948/
    Thank you.
    Last edited by STARRAIN@ROG; 04-08-2022 at 04:12 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi Helvete,
    Is it no boot when you get get QCodes 97, 98, or 99?
    Do you use only one monitor MG278Q?
    Have you done the tests with bios all default settings except Primary Graphics Option?
    May I double confirm the scenario in case 5? There are two case 5, but no case 6. It seems there is no case regarding DisplayPort cable connected to the GPU's connector.
    Which PCIE slot do you install the graphics card in?
    Please also refer to the following link for QCode A0.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1043948/
    Thank you.
    It is no boot when I get QCodes 97, 98, or 99.
    I only use that one monitor.
    I did run the tests with default BIOS settings. I only tried the changes on the Primary GPU option (AUTO, CPU, PCIe) because I ran into these issues.
    DisplayPort cable can only be connected to the GPU, it being connected to the motherboard is a mistake on my side). About the duplicate case 5, the second one should be 6.
    The first PCIe slot (the top one).

    Thank you for your help!

  4. #4
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,982

    Hi Helvete,
    Have you tried installing the graphics card to other PCIE slots, but still get QCode 97 or QCode 98, or QCode 99 when connecting to GPU via HDMI?
    May I have the following information:
    1. the serial number of the motherboard and the graphics card via PM
    2. a photo of you ram like this
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Corsair.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	596.3 KB 
ID:	92663
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    This may be relevant to you, seems you have a similar problem.

    You may need a vbios update on your gpu .

    Watch this video from jayztwocents.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQG153s1NIM

    12:03 has the relevant information about the possible fix to your problem.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by simon5g View Post
    This may be relevant to you, seems you have a similar problem.

    You may need a vbios update on your gpu .

    Watch this video from jayztwocents.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQG153s1NIM

    12:03 has the relevant information about the possible fix to your problem.
    Thanks! I do think that this is precisely my issue here. I will give it a try to see if the updater does detect my GPU as needing the update.

    For the curious or anyone that has the same issue, this is the url for the updater: https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...-for-displayid

    Edit: my vBios version is "94.02.71.40.08"
    Last edited by Helvete; 04-15-2022 at 12:35 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •