cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help/Recommendations For New Build

PissOnApple
Level 7
Hello all,

I'm new on here, I'm looking for some suggestions and a couple answers to some questions.
This is my first build so please pardon any idiocy.

The build is as follows:
Case: COOLER MASTER HAF X

MoBo: Asus Rampage IV Extreme (hopefully you guys can put my mind at ease, it got very poor reviews on NewEgg)

CPU: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Core i7-3930K (I'm debating on waiting on Ivy Bridge, but heard it's not worth it on the desktop side so any input there would be appreciated as well)

CPU Cooling: Corsair H100

GPU: 2 EVGA 02G-P4-2689-KR GeForce GTX 680 Hydro Copper 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 (I see that a cooling system is required, any recommendations on that, maybe I need to rethink the whole cooling system itself)

HDD: I will have a SSD for OS/OS's, another drive for installs, and another for storage and backups

PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower Grand TPG-1200M 1200W

RAM: And here is my question, can I run 2400 memory with the Rampage or do I need 2133 or 1866? I'm looking at G.Skills 16GB something or other

This is going to be a decent chunk of change so before I drop it I want to make sure that everything is going to work properly together, lifespan will be decent and that I do not encounter any major expensive problems along the way.

Any better solutions or products to recommend are welcome as I am not dead set on these.

I look forward to your replies and please do not hesitate to point out any problems or This-Is-What-I-Would-Do's!!

Thanks!
21 REPLIES 21

WHO_FARTED_
Level 10
first off, if your getting h2o gpu's, then you should reconsider the h100. its a sealed unit and it wont do both cpu and gpu. it's not hard to build a water setup and theres people here to help with that if you need it. i dont know if you'll need 2 video's cards (if its for gaming)but it's your money.