Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    Location of onboard CMOS battery for ROG STRIX Z690-I GAMING WIFI

    Does anyone know the location of the onboard CMOS battery for STRIX Z690-I GAMING WIFI motherboard.

    The reason I'm asking is the system worked fine on the bench with Intel Pentium G7400 Gold CPU with the included OEM Intel Cooler, RTX A2000 12GB card in PCIe X16 slot. Everything worked fine, I loaded Windows 11 Pro, and all drivers, updated BIOS.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1860.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	815.6 KB 
ID:	92809 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1861.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	820.3 KB 
ID:	92810

    System Specs:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ITX system info.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	359.4 KB 
ID:	92811

    OK,.. after updating system I pulled the Pentium chip and installed Intel Core i7-12700K CPU, and installed motherboard in LIAN LI A4-H20-X4 chassis, than custom water cooling single loop on CPU.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1922.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	597.3 KB 
ID:	92812 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1924.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	691.6 KB 
ID:	92813

    After completing the build in chassis, leak-testing, filling loop the system will not post, I have no DP out from graphics card, thus no monitor. The fans all spin-up, and pump starts, all DRGB lighting,.. but no display on monitor.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1936.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	725.0 KB 
ID:	92829

    The GPU is mounted on the back side of chassis with a 4.0 riser cable.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1901.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	731.1 KB 
ID:	92814

    Now is whare things get frustrating,.. I figured the riser cable could be the issue, so I re-set both motherboard, GPU connections and no luck.

    Than I replaced riser cable with known working right angle 4.0 riser cable,.. just coming out the front with card laying on bench as all I wanted was to see if cable was faulty, but still the same issue no display.

    Than decided to go with IGPU, pulled riser cable and tried onboard graphics both type-C ports and HDMI ports and no display.

    I have powered off, pulled power cord, pushed clear CMOS button on rear IO several times and no display, no post with IGPU,.. which should default to on-board graphics when no card is installed as BIOS setting was in AUTO when I tested system on bench.

    So I decided perhaps pulling CMOS battery, and pushing clear CMOS might solve issue. As it seems swapping CPU to i7-12700K must be the issue, as system was fine on bench before swapping CPU.

    I have not started system after swapping CPU, I just pulled Pentium chip installed i7-12700K and built system in chassis.

    Any thoughts, advice before I start tearing apart this system looking for CMOS battery,.. I know it's not under M.2 drives, or on back-side of board. I'm thinking the battery is located under rear IO shroud which means I will need to drain system, and pull CPU block to remove IO shroud.

    Thanks in advance for any advice,.. hopefully someone has a fix for this issue that does not require pulling CPU block,..
    Last edited by Braegnok; 04-23-2022 at 10:58 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    Well,.. I ended up pulling the motherboard.

    Removed the water block, reinstalled the Pentium chip & cooler.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1957.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.10 MB 
ID:	92830

    Than set up everything as it was on the bench when system was good to go, planned on booting into BIOS and confirming default settings, and than pull Pentium, reinstall i7-12700K with air cooler to boot back into BIOS.

    Unfortunately still no DP signal to monitor with Pentium chip. And no IGPU onboard graphics,.. CPU fan spins up, GPU fan spins up everything seems good, but no signal to monitor.

    I found the onboard CMOS battery, it's located under the 50mm fan, inside rear heat shroud,.. and behind rear IO cover.

    The battery & holder is wrapped in heat shrink, glued to the side of the rear USB sockets,.. to pull battery you need to follow wires over to a two-pin plug.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1958.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	743.4 KB 
ID:	92824 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1959.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	643.5 KB 
ID:	92825

    I pulled the two-pin connector for CMOS, and pushed the clear CMOS button on rear IO. Put everything back together, and still no DP signal to monitor.

    The BIOS flash-back on rear IO does not work to reflash BIOS, I think system needs to be started in default settings than powered off to use the Flash-Back on rear IO.

    I'm done with testing for tonight,.. going to pull the CPU in the morning and inspect socket for bent pins.

    It's possible that CPU socket was damaged when I swapped out chip the first time, or the socket was damaged from the get-go,.. and I just got lucky with the system working fine on the bench the first time.

    I've built and loaded dozens of systems with Pentium chip & cooler in the past, than loaded Default Settings in BIOS, shut down system and swapped out CPU, and have never had any issues like this. Generally with current BIOS loaded, Windows installed and all system drivers, updates installed,.. after swapping out CPU the system automatically boots into BIOS on F1 error, new hardware exception,..

    Edit:
    The CPU socket is fine, no bent pins or damage.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 05-10-2022 at 02:08 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    Sent into Asus RMA, waiting on results.
    Last edited by Braegnok; 05-10-2022 at 02:07 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    Asus Support RMA has denied my warranty.

    Reporting CID, false accusations about solder on backside of motherboard.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	N1M0KS021056ES3 - cx soldered MB 2[1181].jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	277.8 KB 
ID:	93024

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-05-09 192333.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	858.8 KB 
ID:	93025

    Vary upset at this point with Asus voiding my warranty, claiming I soldered something on the backside of motherboard.

    I guess now I have a vary Expensive paperweight for my desk.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    84
    Posts
    391

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    Asus Support RMA has denied my warranty.

    Reporting CID, false accusations about solder on backside of motherboard.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	N1M0KS021056ES3 - cx soldered MB 2[1181].jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	277.8 KB 
ID:	93024

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-05-09 192333.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	858.8 KB 
ID:	93025

    Vary upset at this point with Asus voiding my warranty, claiming I soldered something on the backside of motherboard.

    I guess now I have a vary Expensive paperweight for my desk.
    Just return back to the retail shop and ask for similar board and check if there is same thing happened and took the image of it to clear yourself. That is how I RMA my ROG Rampage MOBO many years ago. That my opinion. Sorry if I am wrong. But from the image you provide, it was indeed a bad soldering.
    Last edited by ahfoo; 05-11-2022 at 04:05 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    @ ahfoo,.. it's a long shot, but at this point is indeed my only option.

    I contacted the retail shop I bought the motherboard from and I explained the RMA report, voided warranty,.. they agreed to make an exception to the 30-day return policy,.. they are going to give me a full refund.

    That's vary strange about the solder on backside of motherboard, I agree the photo does look like a funky solder job. I never checked the back of the motherboard after receiving it, but was a new item in a sealed retail box.

    Thanks
    Last edited by Braegnok; 05-12-2022 at 12:33 AM.

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,401

    I believe one of the Youtube tech outlets (LTT?) did a video on modern CMOS replacements and the implication was that removing the battery is the same as a reset/clear from the interface (or a jumper for boards that have them). Apparently most of the important stuff is stored in non-volatile storage these days so battery loss is merely treated as a signal to execute a reset.

    I know this is all academic now and you would have had to dismantle the loop anyway but it's something I've filed away for future troubleshooting. It will make me think twice before going to extra effort to mess with the battery.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6600C32
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus Swift PG32UQX
    Storage #12TB Seagate FireCuda 530 SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate FireCuda 120 SSD
    CPU CoolerEK-Quantum Velocity2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I believe one of the Youtube tech outlets (LTT?) did a video on modern CMOS replacements and the implication was that removing the battery is the same as a reset/clear from the interface (or a jumper for boards that have them). Apparently most of the important stuff is stored in non-volatile storage these days so battery loss is merely treated as a signal to execute a reset.

    I know this is all academic now and you would have had to dismantle the loop anyway but it's something I've filed away for future troubleshooting. It will make me think twice before going to extra effort to mess with the battery.
    Yes,.. I was trying to send signal to execute a reset.

    Pushing the clear CMOS button located on rear IO was not working.

    In ASUS ROG STRIX Z690-I GAMING WIFI owners manual the steps for clearing CMOS,.. shows if steps above do not help, than remove the onboard button cell battery to clear CMOS RTC data,.. finding the button cell battery was a task.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CMOS button.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	245.3 KB 
ID:	93058

    Clearing CMOS still did not resolve start-up issue in my case, as it should have.

    The system was fully stable on the bench, and after swapping out CPU the system would not post, or boot into BIOS.

  9. #9
    Administrator Array MasterC@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    160
    Posts
    2,047

    Try booting without the riser cable, getting that to work with PCIe 4.0 can be finicky.

    BTW, here is the battery - CR2032
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CMOS Batt.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.09 MB 
ID:	93059

  10. #10
    Administrator Array MasterC@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    160
    Posts
    2,047

    If you have questions about service-related issues, you can go here:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?295

    For now, I think it's a little early for that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •