Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Crosshair VIII Formula BIOS Update Issues

    I have tried updating to the most recent bios update. It works, it is installed, however, first time on reboot, it asks me to boot in to bios, to update settings.
    I choose optimized settings and reboot.

    First error: Please enter setup to recover bios. It also states "When raid configuration was built, ensure to sata configuration to raid mode" ---- I am not using Raid
    Press ok choose optimized settings, with sata achi mode.
    Computer boots up, and I see a blank screen, monitor turns off. Nothing happens.

    I force restart by pressing the power button. New Error message:
    This system has posted in safe mode. Somethings about booting up. I go into settings save.
    This time windows boots up.

    Now if I go to restart my computer, again I get stuck with a blank screen. Which means I have to force restart. Then, go into bios, save settings, even though I change nothing, and it boots up.

    I have tried the last 4-5 bios releases, the only one that doesn't do it is over a year old.

    Does anyone have a solution to this problem?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array J Bish PC Specs
    J Bish PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)64gb KHX3600C18D4
    Graphics Card #1XFX 5600XT
    Graphics Card #2XFX 5600XT
    Sound CardCreative A-E5
    MonitorProArt PA329CV
    Storage #1WD SN850 512gb
    Storage #2WD Black Sata 6gb
    OS Windows 11 (All Current)

    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Have you tried the reset button on the board??

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    10

    dont touch HD's
    you can use Raid after update bios
    copy bios into the USB again
    place on port to update bios and press bios flashback bottom

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    10


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    How so? I mean when I update it the Bios is current, it just takes to boot ups to start up. One time I have to force shutdown, because the screen turns off. I don't have raid setup. So that's weird. So I put the new version of bios in the USB port for Bios, and choose Bios Flashback to force it to install it?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array J Bish PC Specs
    J Bish PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)64gb KHX3600C18D4
    Graphics Card #1XFX 5600XT
    Graphics Card #2XFX 5600XT
    Sound CardCreative A-E5
    MonitorProArt PA329CV
    Storage #1WD SN850 512gb
    Storage #2WD Black Sata 6gb
    OS Windows 11 (All Current)

    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Just curious... How many drives do you have in the system? Have you tried unplugging the I will assume storage drives and seeing if it still does this? Just a thought....

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by J Bish View Post
    Just curious... How many drives do you have in the system? Have you tried unplugging the I will assume storage drives and seeing if it still does this? Just a thought....
    Hmm, I tried flashing the latest, and still does it. I have one main drive and three backup drives. I wonder if one might be malfunctioning?

    This is the image of bootup. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20220515_233921551.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	449.8 KB 
ID:	93085Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20220515_233921551.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	449.8 KB 
ID:	93085

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array J Bish PC Specs
    J Bish PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)64gb KHX3600C18D4
    Graphics Card #1XFX 5600XT
    Graphics Card #2XFX 5600XT
    Sound CardCreative A-E5
    MonitorProArt PA329CV
    Storage #1WD SN850 512gb
    Storage #2WD Black Sata 6gb
    OS Windows 11 (All Current)

    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    If was me Id revert bios to default(bios reset button on motherboard), not over clock anything... Take one stick of ram out... Disconnect all storage/backup drives and start from there... If boots fine with just M2 drive ... reboot and start connecting drives one at a time to diagnose if its drives or bios settings...

    Edit: After looking at images more closely... Id disconnect all the extra things, take it back to 1 drive,1 keyboard, 1 mouse, 0 hubs and 0 usb drives... and then do what I posted above...

    Quote Originally Posted by Psyscope View Post
    Hmm, I tried flashing the latest, and still does it. I have one main drive and three backup drives. I wonder if one might be malfunctioning?

    This is the image of bootup. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20220515_233921551.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	449.8 KB 
ID:	93085Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20220515_233921551.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	449.8 KB 
ID:	93085
    Last edited by J Bish; 05-16-2022 at 03:07 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    This problem started when my Gigabyte SSD died, and I replaced it with a Samsung SSD. I wonder if it has to do with that.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array J Bish PC Specs
    J Bish PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)64gb KHX3600C18D4
    Graphics Card #1XFX 5600XT
    Graphics Card #2XFX 5600XT
    Sound CardCreative A-E5
    MonitorProArt PA329CV
    Storage #1WD SN850 512gb
    Storage #2WD Black Sata 6gb
    OS Windows 11 (All Current)

    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Did you do a clean install or cloned over the drive? May have to start from base system, load/test etc...

    Quote Originally Posted by Psyscope View Post
    This problem started when my Gigabyte SSD died, and I replaced it with a Samsung SSD. I wonder if it has to do with that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •