Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Undertoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    When we we see a decent bios update so that ddr5 runs in XMP ?

    All I’ve experienced with a hero and an extreme z690 board thus far is annoyance and aggro
    When will Asus release a bios that actually confirms to its advertised qvl listing ?*
    You guys really need to get your act together frankly , it’s damaging your brand *
    I9 12900KS @ 5.7Ghz
    ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090 OC Edition
    ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z690 EXTREME EATX Motherboard
    ASUS ROG PG35VQ @ 200mhz in 3440x1440
    Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB DDR5 CL36 @ 6200mhz
    Samsung 980 EVO Pro M.2 x 3 off
    NZXT Z63 Kraken AIO CPU Cooler
    NZXT H700i + Hue 2 (Pubg Edition) - Heavily modified
    ASUS ROG THOR 1200w PSU
    Corsair M65 RGB Mouse
    Corsair K95 RGB Keyboard

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    713

    ASUS has always been slow on the BIOS updates. If its on the OVL it should work so long as you aren't mixing kits. Even the exact same sku with multiple kits can mess things up as in if you run 4 sticks, buy a 4 stick kit, not two 2 stick kits of the same sku or worse a different sku. The faster memory gets the more picky it has become. Back in the day it really didnt matter. Now its pretty much imperative.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Through process of elimination I've managed to slowly change a number of things to get this particular set of DDR5 to run XMP on the 1304 BIOS on my STRIX Z690 E. It was freezing randomly. At first I thought it might be something in Win 10, but when I experienced a freeze in the BIOS screen, I knew it probably wasn't windows. Things attempted -

    1) Swapping RAM from a kit with Samsung to a Hynix kit. (Sliiighhtt improvement. Still got random freezes.)
    2) Lowering DRAM frequency. (No improvement at all.)
    3) Turned of ASPM in BIOS (Not sure if this helped or not.)
    4) Adjusting DIMM voltage (Slight improvement.)
    5) Many changes to fix what seem like native Windows 10 problems in event viewer. (No improvement. Still freezing randomly.)
    6) Changing BIOS from 1403 to 1304. (Large improvement. Freezes down to 1 a day if left idle for longer periods at this point.)
    7) Turned off C-state in BIOS. (This pushed me past the 24 hour stable mark.)

    The odd thing is that memtest wasn't giving me errors. Aida did for the first RAM kit, which I RMA-ed. The 2nd kit had no errors on Memtest, Aida or OCCT, but it STILL froze the machine up during idle, though... Less frequently. When I started messing with Win 10 and the event viewer and started making small changes there, I was also reading heavily on this forum and OC.net... Many were saying the 1304 BIOS was more stable so I flashed that. Luckily it didn't hang in BIOS during the flashing, that would have probably bricked the board.

    Finally since I noticed it was only happening when left idle or on very low low intensity tasks, I tried turning off global c-states in the BIOS. That seems to have done it. I hope this helps if anyone is experiencing freezes, it could be particular to the RAM or this particular board, but I thought I'd share for posterity.
    Last edited by adrianpavee; 05-02-2022 at 04:09 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array AwenMilano PC Specs
    AwenMilano PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z690 Hero
    ProcessorI7 12700 KF
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 3080 Ti Suprim X
    MonitorAsus XG 279Q
    Storage #1WD Black SN850 2Tb
    Storage #2Team Delta Max 1Tb
    CPU CoolerAsus Ryujin II 360
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700M
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma Overwatch
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar
    Headset Steelseries Artics 7
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    Headset/Speakers Swans Hivi M50W
    OS Windows 11 Education

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertoker View Post
    All I’ve experienced with a hero and an extreme z690 board thus far is annoyance and aggro
    When will Asus release a bios that actually confirms to its advertised qvl listing ?*
    You guys really need to get your act together frankly , it’s damaging your brand *
    hi there, i use z690 hero + g.skill 6000 + 17 12700kf
    have same issue, xmp unstable
    still not sure, about board issue or cpu issue, because some people say maybe cpu have weak imc
    do you try swap ur cpu already?

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    375
    Posts
    17,225

    I personally go by the memory vendors QVL list.

    If you do a search, you can find any major motherboard brand having trouble with DDR5 memory. Being Alderlake is the first generation to support high speed DDR5 memory, I'll agree it could be IMC related.

    You can raise a few voltages to see if it will stabilize.

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    202
    Posts
    2,637

    Quote Originally Posted by Undertoker View Post
    All I’ve experienced with a hero and an extreme z690 board thus far is annoyance and aggro
    When will Asus release a bios that actually confirms to its advertised qvl listing ?*
    You guys really need to get your act together frankly , it’s damaging your brand *


    Hello,

    Overclocking is never guaranteed, DDR5 is no different. Speeds above 6000MT may require manual tuning on some CPU (most often with VCCSA and Memory Controller VDD)

    6400 working on the Apex @ XMP

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TM5-All.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	856.5 KB 
ID:	92922


    6200 on the Extreme (@ 1T)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6200-1T-1.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.54 MB 
ID:	92923
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 05-02-2022 at 04:09 PM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Ribellu PC Specs
    Ribellu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Z690 HERO
    ProcessorI7 12700KF
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2X16Gb 5200Mhz 38/38/38/74
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1T
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 500gb
    CPU CoolerMSI MAG CoreLiquid C240
    CaseThermaltake Commander C31 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Bazilisk V2
    Headset/Speakers Hyper X Cloud Alpha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    90

    Personally since I changed my motherboard and its components, I never had a problem with the XMP profiles, on the other hand I always choose only two DDR sticks and never four, better stability and dual channel.

    And I always choose kits compatible with my MB listed on the ASUS QVL website.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse Razor Deathadder V.2
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Pro 1200Mbps
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    181

    This is depressing news. I just bought the Asus Z690 Hero board and 32Ghz. (2x16) 5600 DDR5 DIMM`s, three days ago. The memory I bought is an exact match on Asus` QVL list. I hope I do not have problems with posting and XMP when I build this new system.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by adrianpavee View Post
    7) Turned off C-state in BIOS. (This pushed me past the 24 hour stable mark.)

    ...

    Finally since I noticed it was only happening when left idle or on very low low intensity tasks, I tried turning off global c-states in the BIOS. That seems to have done it. I hope this helps if anyone is experiencing freezes, it could be particular to the RAM or this particular board, but I thought I'd share for posterity.
    I'm actually experiencing something similar, but it tends to take about 3 days between freezes for me, and it's almost always happening in the wee hours of the morning. But the truly bizarre thing is that this only started happening about 3 weeks ago; prior to that, my system had stayed up and stable for about 2 months. I've ruled out just about everything else on the system, and now it's running with only a mouse & keyboard plugged in, with bare minimum drivers, which meant uninstalling ESET, Acronis, and Dropbox.

    Like you, I suspected everything software first, and I've even gone as far as doing an "in-place upgrade" / reinstall of Windows 11... if this machine still freezes after stripping everything down, I'll give disabling c-states a try. Thanks for the tip!

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by spatula75 View Post
    Like you, I suspected everything software first, and I've even gone as far as doing an "in-place upgrade" / reinstall of Windows 11... if this machine still freezes after stripping everything down, I'll give disabling c-states a try. Thanks for the tip!
    You're welcome, I'm hope that my amateur attempt proves to be the solution for you as well. So far, past the 36 hour mark, heading to 48 hours soon. I'll probably run some stress tests to make sure after, but it's looking promising. Please share if you're successful... Or unsuccessful.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •