Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    284

    Pc shuts off and turns back again on when Windows 10 was loading,getting devices read

    Hi pc:

    12900K with NZXT KRAKEN X73

    2x16GB DDR4 KINGSTON DDR4 3600MHZ in GEAR 1

    RTX 3090 Ti Gigabyte Gaming

    Z690 DDR

    SSD 1 TB NVM PCIE

    Seasonic Px 1300W Platinum Prime

    I went from Z490 and 10850K to 12900K and Z690 Elite DDR4. Windows 10 is installed on SSD from 10850K build.When new pc booted i enabled in GEAR 1 XMP ( 3600 mhz ). Then i rebooted to UEFI again without issues.

    Then i reboot pc again and when windows 10 was loading ,pc shutts off ( heard psu click ) and turns back on again. And second time it booted to Windows 10 normally.

    Is my pc fine?

    Why pc shuts off ( OFF heard psu click) and turns back again on first time,when windows 10 was loading ? Pc shuts down and boot itself up. Not typical reboot.

    It happened before Windows 10 boot <%>Getting devices ready.
    But why it shutdown ( i heard a click from psu ) and then reboot itself?comes back automatically


    Windows 10 working now normally no issues , but just asking about that. Thank you so much my friends.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,397

    After changing memory speeds you might get a complete reset with the power clicking off. That's normal.

    However, if it keeps happening I remember you also had an incident with your previous system. A reoccurring problem spanning multiple computers could indicate an issue with the wiring in your home. As I've mentioned previously I would highly recommend having a UPS to help condition the power and provide a battery backup. That would be far preferable to having any of your hardware damaged.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    284

    Yes i know it can turn off, click and reboot after changing memory speed. But i said it happened again,just before windows 10 loaded first time,before Getting devices ready.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    372
    Posts
    17,205

    Hi Ipiotrowski211,

    During the windows 10 install, it's not uncommon for a couple reboots.

    If all is working well now, I wouldn't be too concerned.

    Just so you know, you can upgrade to windows 11 for free.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    284

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Ipiotrowski211,

    During the windows 10 install, it's not uncommon for a couple reboots.

    If all is working well now, I wouldn't be too concerned.

    Just so you know, you can upgrade to windows 11 for free.
    So even if it shutdown once ( i heard psu click ) and reboot on its own?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    372
    Posts
    17,205

    Well, apparently it was normal procedure, I wouldn't stress over it if everything is working ok.

    If you have random shutdowns, then it would be time to investigate.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    129
    Posts
    713

    PSU shouldnt click during software install. If it reboots on its own after PSU shuts down and restarts there is a setting in the BIOS to restart on power failure. May have been a utility problem that was coincidental unless you are running a UPS.

    PSU shutting down isnt normal but several reboots while detecting hardware is normal.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    284

    So why it happened once just before windows loaded? I heard psu click and pc rebooted on its own. I am on windows 10 testing games and no shutdowns.
    Last edited by lpiotrowski211; 05-14-2022 at 02:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •