Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    588

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_2468 View Post
    Having a look at the connected devices, you can see the duration connected.
    The devices connect and drop off and come back.

    Just to reiterate, if I use another router this drop off doesn't occur and I am able to pick any channel the devices stay on the entire time.
    If another router in the same location and the same configuration, returns normal operation to your network, it would seem the current router is defective.

    After saying that, can we look at just the Google device? It shows full signal strength and only a 65/26 Transmit/receive rates. I can't find the specs but since that number is a testing rate done by the router, are those numbers close to the specs for that device? If you put the device about 10 feet from the router, does it increase?

    What I would probably do for testing is start turning off the other devices on that network and see if any of them have an effect on the Google device speeds. You could also turn them all off and back on one at a time.

    Below is the listing for my devices. Some are outdoor cameras. I am currently on an AXE11000 but ran the AX11000 for about 3 years and they were the same. I don't normally change any of the default settings in the router except the SSID names and keep each network separate.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rxtx rates.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	141.2 KB 
ID:	93310

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    19

    @jzchen
    That other TP-Link in the recent image is one of my neighbors. When I have been testing with my old TP-Link it is on and the 2.4Ghz on the AX11000 is off. When I turn on the 2.4Ghz on the AX11000 my TP-Link is unplugged.
    Also when I use my old TP-Link i have it set to be the WiFi SSID of my 2.4Ghz network

    Yeah I went through the same when I set them up originally. But now that I have separated the WiFi to 2.4Ghz and a dual smart connect on the two 5Ghz bands.
    But for now as long as the SSID is the same, WiFi key is the same and the Authentication method is the same we could change routers entirely and the existing equipment will automatically connect. Some of my smart switches are in water tight containers mounted outside. (The windows near my study so they get good coverage. But would need a ladder to access them)

    I will also try testing with the 20/40mhz setting some more once I have left the router at its current settings for awhile so we can see if it is stable.
    So far 90% of my 2.4Ghz devices have not dropped out that much in the last 8 hours. 3 of my devices still pop on a off the network for whatever reason every few minutes.

    But you can see from the image that the devices access time is different for each
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 10.png  


  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    19

    @Saltgrass,

    Yup, another router directly next to the AX11000 seems to handle the 2.4Ghz with no issues. (obviously they both are not on at the same time doing 2.4Ghz)
    With regards to the Google devices, they were not doing anything at the time of that image. I quickly gave them some music to play and the rates picked up.
    See the attached image.

    The study nest speaker is less than a meter from the router, it is wall mounted above my monitors. The AX11000 is on the desk next to my monitors.
    From what I can see this is as it should be. My cell also does this kind of ramp up.
    If its idle the speed is lower, then if I do a speed test the RX and TX rates ramp up.
    But here, I speak under correction if its not how it actually works.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 12.png  


  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    588

    You cheated on the first attachment, The Google device was on the 2.4 GHz radio. In this attachment Galaxy is on the 5.0 GHz radio.

    If the Google picked up, what did it go to? And again, as far as I know, those speeds are the system testing the connection.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    588

    And one more thing, radio signals usually travel in a plane parallel to the ground, if the antenna are set normally. If you Nest is above the router, it may not be getting a good signal. Perhaps reconfigure your antenna so the device in question is at a 90 degree angle from the way the antenna points or raise the Router to the same level as the Nest.

    I suppose I would also recommend moving the router to a position away from any other transmitters, maybe at least 12 feet.
    Last edited by Saltgrass; 05-31-2022 at 01:26 AM.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    19

    @Saltgrass

    Hehe, Indeed :-)
    The galaxy phone is on 5ghz, but the concept still is the same.
    The speeds of the google speakers sit at about 72 up and down when I am streaming music to them. IT will also stream up music so if the WiFi burps the speaker plays for a very short while afterwards.

    Interestingly enough, CH 10 or 11 when I set it there, my devices are connected for a bit then they all fell off.
    When I set it to CH1 same story, stayed there for perhaps 8 to 12 hours and then all vanished. Reboots dont help - this is either the router or the device.
    Setting it to CH 6 seems to work better.
    But they still fall out of WiFi and then come back?

    Also the google speakers, all 3 of them are playing music then they will kinda fade off (music stops on that speaker -- I can still hear the others playing) and then come back on. This corresponds to the speaker vanishing from the attached devices and then re-appearing again.
    I have had this exact issue on my previous AX11000.
    That one I had the channel selection on auto to try that. When ever we had a power cycle it would set a new channel.
    So you can imagine the frustration when things either never worked or did at times with no real reason. But hey, its the story I have been dealing with for awhile.

    I have now turned off my 2.4Ghz on the AX11000 and turned on my old TP-Link. which btw is sitting almost next to the Asus router.
    The study speaker as well as the other speakers in the bedroom and living room all work fine.
    Surely the Ax11000 cant be this sensitive to what ever channel interference? But yet a cheap as chips old TP-Link works?
    #FacePalm

    Perhaps its time to swap it out for an XT8 the 2 pack one.
    Its in a similar price range so the retailer can replace it with that. Unfortunately it doesnt support VPN Fusion.

    The images I have loaded, you can see the time on the access time column on CH1 1 device online for over 9 hours the others just bounce in and disappear, and then the shorted one was CH1 after 8 hours or so when it was only seeing 2 devices on 2.4Ghz
    last image is CH6 which I configured last night showing some of the items as they were about an hour ago. Only some are missing but also the access time is pretty short as they all keep falling off and reconnecting.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 13.png  

    14.png  

    15.png  


  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    588

    Does the TP-Link show its connection speeds?

    Different routers may have different antenna configurations as far as orientation and internal or external. If you can't move the router from its present location, perhaps shutdown the computer and monitors sitting next to it and see if anything changes. Even such things as microwave ovens and wireless phones using the 2.4 GHz range can affect your environment.

    I think you said this is your second AX11000. Getting one bad device is understandable. Getting two bad ones puts suspicion on your configurations. If you were to get a third one and it had the same problem then more than likely it would be your situation.

    With which retailer are you dealing? If it was a local store, maybe they could test it for you. I try to buy these devices straight from ASUS because I always wonder if other retailers might be selling refurbished versions of the device.

    I can't think of anything else you could do to troubleshoot. Let us know what happens.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    218

    for settings this is what I have that seem different:

    Authentication Method WPA2/WPA3-Personal, when I switch smart connect off this defaults to WPA2 but reverts back for "2.4 / 5 GHz" when smart connect is on.

    Channel bandwidth: 20/40 MHz

    802.11ax / WiFi 6 mode: Enable

    Enable WMM APSD: Enable

    Modulation scheme: Up to MCS 11 (NitroQAM/Nitro1024-QAM)

    Multi-User MIMO: Disable


    EDIT: Roaming assistant: Enable -70 dBm

    I'd honestly sit the old router right on top of the AX11000 after trying these settings, just to make sure things are exactly fair....
    Last edited by jzchen; 05-31-2022 at 06:20 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    627

    2.4 GHz always the the most congested. May be lot of inteference occur within your premises or neighborhood. Even microwave turn on at time will also cause my 2.4GHz to degrade perforamances. Check your 2.4Ghz connection dbm.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    I suggest running an app like NetSpot on your smartphone or on a laptop to see how many other 2.4GHz channels are being seen from your neighborhood. You might be clashing with your neighbor's channel, which will cause performance and stability issues. Test it next to your router that is having the issue, as well as testing it at other ends of your home to see neighboring signals.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •