Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-12700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 4000 MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial SSD MX500 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT, Corsair and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    201

    3090 Strix OC White Mobo Light on Cold Start (even though it runs fine)

    Hey, folks.

    I've got one of the very first 3090s (Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition).

    At some point, my mobo at the time (a M12E) started showing persistent white light on first starts (after the system was off for a few hours). Besides the white light (video card issue) persisting, the PC was able to run normally. Restarting the system would make the white light go away.

    I thought that it was perhaps a motherboard issue.

    Then my M12E was fried, and I got a TUF GAMING Z690-PLUS WIFI D4. And you might have guessed it... the white light issue didn't go away. Thus, I believe it is something with the graphics card, or some its setting. I am hoping that someone here could tell me how I can debug this further or what this is about (e.g., if the motherboard could also tell *what* is wrong instead just showing the white light). Maybe even how to fix it.

    The card has had its latest BIOS installed ever since sometime in May 2021. And, true, I haven't attempted to run it with its other VBIOS, but might just do it if no other ideas come up. I've worked with resizable BAR on and off, Gen 3 and Gen 4, with and without a riser cable, and different sets of power cables.

    Thank you!
    Last edited by martine-dee; 06-01-2022 at 07:27 PM.
    Keep exploring, keep innovating, keep creating

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    117
    Posts
    513

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Hey, folks.

    I've got one of the very first 3090s (Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition).

    At some point, my mobo at the time (a M12E) started showing persistent white light on first starts (after the system was off for a few hours). Besides the white light (video card issue) persisting, the PC was able to run normally. Restarting the system would make the white light go away.

    I thought that it was perhaps a motherboard issue.

    Then my M12E was fried, and I got a TUF GAMING Z690-PLUS WIFI D4. And you might have guessed it... the white light issue didn't go away. Thus, I believe it is something with the graphics card, or some its setting. I am hoping that someone here could tell me how I can debug this further or what this is about (e.g., if the motherboard could also tell *what* is wrong instead just showing the white light). Maybe even how to fix it.

    The card has had its latest BIOS installed ever since sometime in May 2021. And, true, I haven't attempted to run it with its other VBIOS, but might just do it if no other ideas come up. I've worked with resizable BAR on and off, Gen 3 and Gen 4, with and without a riser cable, and different sets of power cables.

    Thank you!
    Try switching
    different HDMI connector or cable and if you happened to have a DP cable, try change it too to determine cable connection issue.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-12700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 4000 MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial SSD MX500 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT, Corsair and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    201

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    Try switching
    different HDMI connector or cable and if you happened to have a DP cable, try change it too to determine cable connection issue.
    Well, I am glad that someone chimed in. That moved me to do further testing.

    Tried:
    - Different extender that works around too short connector head space for my PG259QN
    - No extender (poor DP cable)
    - Different DP cable
    - No cable at all attached to an output
    - Different position of the VBIOS switch (the quiet instead of performance), both with the cable and with no cable
    - The other DP connector on the graphics card

    The result is the same. Especially the "no cable" + vbios swap test that still gives the white light stuck lit up on cold boot seems to point to the card itself, not what is attached to it.

    Any further suggestions? For example, something that tells exactly why the motherboard had lit the white light on would help.
    To make sure I mentioned this: the system boots up and operates all the same, but the white light on the motherboard stays on until a reboot. The behavior persisted across two motherboards, and regardless of whether I have DP in or not.

    A wild shoot in the dark is that something expects/demands HDMI connection on cold boot across both motherboards. I've got a matching HDMI cable with PG259QN, and might try that once I found where it is laying around here.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 06-04-2022 at 06:19 PM.
    Keep exploring, keep innovating, keep creating

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    117
    Posts
    513

    Would you try to move BIOS mode swtich on the GPU to quite mode instead of the performanc modem see if it still happend.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-12700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 4000 MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial SSD MX500 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT, Corsair and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    201

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    Would you try to move BIOS mode swtich on the GPU to quite mode instead of the performanc modem see if it still happend.
    Yes, I did that (I mention it above):

    > - Different position of the VBIOS switch (the quiet instead of performance), both with the cable and with no cable

    It didn't change the behavior. Also tried it with no cable in vs. DP cable in.
    Keep exploring, keep innovating, keep creating

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Ribellu PC Specs
    Ribellu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Z690 HERO
    ProcessorI7 12700KF
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2X16Gb 5200Mhz 38/38/38/74
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1T
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 500gb
    CPU CoolerMSI MAG CoreLiquid C240
    CaseThermaltake Commander C31 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Bazilisk V2
    Headset/Speakers Hyper X Cloud Alpha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Yes, I did that (I mention it above):

    > - Different position of the VBIOS switch (the quiet instead of performance), both with the cable and with no cable

    It didn't change the behavior. Also tried it with no cable in vs. DP cable in.
    Out of curiosity because I have already experienced a similar problem with my 3080Ti ASUS Strix OC,

    when you start your PC have you the POST BIOS page (the Asus logo) ? this is when you can access the BIOS using the key DEL

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    117
    Posts
    513

    In that case I would think it the GPU card hardware issue. Please get it RMA.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardSupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    378
    Posts
    17,396

    Hi martine-dee

    Do you have any other pcie slots populated? I came across a thread where if the gpu is running at x8 it will light up white on the motherboard.

    You can check this in the bios.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-12700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 4000 MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial SSD MX500 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT, Corsair and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    201

    Everyone, I first want to thank you for your interest in this thread!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ribellu View Post
    Out of curiosity because I have already experienced a similar problem with my 3080Ti ASUS Strix OC,

    when you start your PC have you the POST BIOS page (the Asus logo) ? this is when you can access the BIOS using the key DEL
    Yes, all is normal. I get the TUF logo now (on M12E that was that red ROG thing, wasn't it? It was something), and if I mash Del it gives me the BIOS menus.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi martine-dee

    Do you have any other pcie slots populated? I came across a thread where if the gpu is running at x8 it will light up white on the motherboard.

    You can check this in the bios.
    Hi. A nice question. I also have a Creative AE-9 (meant for PCIe x1 3.0). On M12E, it was slotted into the PCIEX4, which has separate lanes (shared with SATA drives), which allowed the 3090 to run at PCIe x16 3.0, also identified so with GPU-Z. On the TUF Gaming Z690-Plus WiFi D4, indeed the AE-9 is in PCIEX16(G3), where the other GPU would be. My play is that PCIEX16(G5) has its own lanes and nothing can take them away. What GPU-Z shows for the 3090 is PCIe x16 4.0. The BIOS shows that it's stuck at x16 (I think that is per design), and it's 'Gen4' set explicitly. For that matter, GPU-Z's first tab is identical with and without the white light lit on.

    Especially because there is no difference to GPU-Z, HWiNFO64 or to me save for the white led on, I am inclined to not RMA the 3090. Waiting times are long, and given frequently reported issues with the high-end 30-series, I might get a card with same or even more issues. As long as I don't experience further issues, I am in the favor of keeping it. Fwiw, the RMA for this card is possible until February 2024 or so. It has plenty of time to actually fail until then.

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    In that case I would think it the GPU card hardware issue. Please get it RMA.
    Please, see the paragraph above. ^
    Last edited by martine-dee; 06-05-2022 at 06:20 PM.
    Keep exploring, keep innovating, keep creating

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Ribellu PC Specs
    Ribellu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Z690 HERO
    ProcessorI7 12700KF
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2X16Gb 5200Mhz 38/38/38/74
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1T
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 500gb
    CPU CoolerMSI MAG CoreLiquid C240
    CaseThermaltake Commander C31 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Bazilisk V2
    Headset/Speakers Hyper X Cloud Alpha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    93

    Ok because on my PC I had a problem, I was getting this white led when I tried to put the re size BAR in bios, I disabled the CSM module in the BIOS and every time I had this problem of led, with an update of the Vbios this has been resolved, but it does not seem to be your case here.


    EDIT: however you can see if a Vbios is newer than yours here : https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

    Or ASUS: https://rog.asus.com/fr/graphics-car.../helpdesk_bios
    Last edited by Ribellu; 06-05-2022 at 07:10 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •