Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Asus TUF Z690 Plus Wifi D4 USB Type C Gen 2x2 super slow

    Hey Everyone,

    I got my new system build up.

    12700K, TUF Z690 Plus Wifi D4
    USB Type C Gen 2x2 super slow like unusable at all. I tried different nvme enclosures but still the same issue. updates to the latest firmware and bios one by one release wise. all the drivers are up-to-date from the asus support website, but the problem remains.

    it is already enabled in the bios. I even made on or enabled for every possible tick i can find related in bios but nothing.

    been AsRock user for the longest time and never had a problem

    kindly advise what can be done,


    Thanks

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,439

    Have you tried both of the rear Type C ports? Do you have a case with a front type c and does that behave any different? Tried a different cable?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Have you tried both of the rear Type C ports? Do you have a case with a front type c and does that behave any different? Tried a different cable?
    the 5Gb Type C is working normally unlike the 20Gb one which as slow as 100KB per second every few seconds as pulse. the front ports of the case doesn't have type C but will try to disconnect all header cables and see if that will fix it.

    all the USBs are working properly except for number 5
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-06-08 223822.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.3 KB 
ID:	93407

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by byteburner012 View Post
    the 5Gb Type C is working normally unlike the 20Gb one which as slow as 100KB per second every few seconds as pulse. the front ports of the case doesn't have type C but will try to disconnect all header cables and see if that will fix it.

    all the USBs are working properly except for number 5
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2022-06-08 223822.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.3 KB 
ID:	93407
    removed all front panel headers' cables it didn't solve the issue.

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,439

    If you've tried different enclosures from different brands and different USB-C cables then it may be the board itself. (note that enclosures from the same brand may have some sort of conflict so the different brands part is important). If it's possible to exchange the board with your retailer I would try that first.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    If you've tried different enclosures from different brands and different USB-C cables then it may be the board itself. (note that enclosures from the same brand may have some sort of conflict so the different brands part is important). If it's possible to exchange the board with your retailer I would try that first.

    That's unfortunate, I got the parts of this build from different places on amazon. and some really took long to reach and the hassle free return period passed already. I can still RMA it but it will take really long since I'm overseas. guess I will just live with that.
    with that said, I really doubt it is a hardware issue. because everything else is working perfectly. can i diagnose further ?

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,439

    You said you already have the latest chipset driver from the ASUS support page so that would've been my first recommendation. I suppose you could try reinstalling Windows but that's a lot of work when you presumably just installed it. If by chance this is an old install that you moved to new hardware then that would be a good thing to try.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    It is indeed an installation of windows I just cloned.

    I have some extra Nvmes around, will try to a fresh installation. hopefully it will work. at least I know its not something wrong with Motherboard. but still I'm not ready to reinstall everything just for that. I have a lot of modifications and customizations for certain things to work that I have forgot about. This windows is more than 3 years ago since my previous build.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •