Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy System takes 2 times to start up from a cold boot. ASUS WS Z390 PRO… Please Help!

    Hello!

    I have a two WS Z390 PRO motherboard.

    System takes 2 times to start up from a cold boot. This confuses me very much, since a RAID controller is used with HDDs ... They turn off immediately after starting.

    I tried to change: 2 processors (i3, i9), 4 types of memory (1 of them includes a QVL list), 2 video cards, 3 power supplies. In various configurations.

    I also changed the motherboard.

    Tried BIOS versions 0701, 0805, 0903

    Tried various BIOS settings. Nothing helped.

    Hey ASUS Engineer - This is a workstation, not for overclocking. And for normal work !!!!


    Question…

    Whoever succeeded with this motherboard to boot the first time after a cold start?
    If so with what memory, processor?
    What are the BIOS settings?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Strix LC II 360 AIO (3x LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplySeasonic - PRIME TX-1000 (80+ Titanium) - New version that doesn't trip from transient spikes
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterRAXE500 — Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream AXE11000 Tri-Band Wi-Fi 6E Router
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 10 LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120 (Includes AIO fans)
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    419

    This usually happens when I turn off the PSU from the switch on the PSU or unplugging it from the wall. Try connecting the essentials only and turn off RAID. Just install the CPU, one Graphics card, memory (don't enable XMP) and use one NVMe (not a SATA). Don't max out the memory. Finally reboot twice because the first time will reboot when turned on for the first time after a hardware change or power loss. Does it still do the same thing.

    Note: default BIOS settings are not fully optimized for Windows. For example the PCIe settings are not optimized.
    Last edited by Jesseinsf; 08-18-2020 at 02:21 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Only the processor, memory and video card were left on the motherboard.

    No other devices.

    CLEAR_CMOS, loading default parameters, removing the battery. Without changes.

    Yes, the problem is only after a unplug power cord.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Strix LC II 360 AIO (3x LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplySeasonic - PRIME TX-1000 (80+ Titanium) - New version that doesn't trip from transient spikes
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterRAXE500 — Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream AXE11000 Tri-Band Wi-Fi 6E Router
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 10 LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120 (Includes AIO fans)
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    419

    Quote Originally Posted by vimana_felix View Post
    Only the processor, memory and video card were left on the motherboard.

    No other devices.

    CLEAR_CMOS, loading default parameters, removing the battery. Without changes.

    Yes, the problem is only after a unplug power cord.
    Thanks for responding. Anyway, The issue you are experiencing is by design and is not a defect. When you unplug it from the power and plug it back in, your motherboard most likely will see it as a power failure when booting up for the first time after plugging the power cable back in, It then reboots and enables a one-time re-assessment and detects any compatibility issues like Memory compatibility issues and other hardware compatibility issues and/or failures. This process takes a few more seconds than a normal power-up. Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Yes, but what about my RAID and HDD?

    Power is reset while the drive is spinning up.
    What are the consequences of this?
    It is logical to assume that this is wrong.

    Secondly, the user manuals do not say anything about such a start mode for the motherboard!
    Is this a special motherboard, with a double start?
    Last edited by vimana_felix; 08-20-2020 at 06:06 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Strix LC II 360 AIO (3x LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplySeasonic - PRIME TX-1000 (80+ Titanium) - New version that doesn't trip from transient spikes
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterRAXE500 — Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream AXE11000 Tri-Band Wi-Fi 6E Router
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 10 LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120 (Includes AIO fans)
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    419

    Quote Originally Posted by vimana_felix View Post
    Yes, but what about my RAID and HDD?

    Power is reset while the drive is spinning up.
    What are the consequences of this?
    It is logical to assume that this is wrong.

    Secondly, the user manuals do not say anything about such a start mode for the motherboard!
    Is this a special motherboard, with a double start?
    • Yes, over time it can damage an HDD
    • No it is not logical to assume this is wrong because Desktop PCs were not designed to have all power disconnected from it when turned off.
    • It would not be in any documentation because (again) Desktop PCs were not designed to have all power disconnected from them when turning them off.
    • Lastly, The motherboard battery lifespan is much shorter when there is no constant power supplied to the motherboard.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I'm sorry to hear that
    Serious flaw that ASUS could have warned buyers about.

    My process involves periodic turning off the power. A workstation is not a server; power outages are natural for it.
    ASUS could take such a flaw into account in future BIOS updates.
    I think it's not a hardware problem.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    185

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    Thanks for responding. Anyway, The issue you are experiencing is by design and is not a defect. When you unplug it from the power and plug it back in, your motherboard most likely will see it as a power failure when booting up for the first time after plugging the power cable back in, It then reboots and enables a one-time re-assessment and detects any compatibility issues like Memory compatibility issues and other hardware compatibility issues and/or failures. This process takes a few more seconds than a normal power-up. Hope this helps.
    I know this is been a long time since this thread was started but I want to elaborate on the situation that I have that is similar to this with one with one additional issue, when I cold boot, the usual power on/off a couple times then CMOS reset then boots to safe mode. I do not think this is normal if you have made changes in the Bios you should not have to load your saved profile each time from a cold boot. Cold boot meaning if I turn off the power supply power switch or unplug it. Other than that this board performs well, warm boot, restart, sleeps/wakes without any CMOS resets. The battery is Duracell at 3.2 volts according to my meter. Power supply is good and using Crucial Ballistics 64Gb kit is the exact model in the QVL list for the Asus ROG strix Z390-E.

    I will have to just try different memory and report back.

    [Solved]
    This is normal behavior and normally most people do not connect their PC to HDMI TV monitor they usually connect to a LCD monitor instead well the behavior was due to the TV HDMI providing power to the motherboard after the motherboard was turned off simulating a power outage when removing the power cord. If I remove the HDMI connector waited a little bit then turned off the power switch of the power supply or pulled the power cord I would have no issues booting to safe mode or resetting of the CMOS.
    Last edited by pcfr33k; 06-05-2022 at 03:13 AM.
    Asus G51JX-A1, Asus G74SX, Asus G750JX-DB71 and IB71
    Clover USB Installer Guide and Github Link for G750JX:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post425912
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post441138
    https://github.com/osxfr33k/Asus-G750JX

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •